We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Hank, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Sunlight Mountain Inn and its (new) owners are delightful! Definitly a place to come back to. I'm sure it gets busy when the skiing season starts, but I enjoyed the peace and quiet and the friendly owners. Kaje ispoiled me with home-made cookies and a great breakfast. They have done a lot of work on the place, modernizing it without losing its historic flavor. Yes, there were a few glitches, they are still getting things into proper working order. But it was great anyway and it's going to get even better!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed at Sunlight Mountain Inn during the summer so it was very quiet and peaceful as we were the only guests that night. The Sunlight Mountain Inn seemed a bit far away to us at first but we just kept going until the end of the road and it was worth it. The lodge has a rustic feel with a mountain decor. The rooms are clean and simple and tastefully decorated. There is a common tv lounge area, games to play, books to read, and a pool table. The new owners are working on adding a few updates to the lodge. The breakfast made by the owner was wonderful as she prepared a very tasty meal with great variety of items. The scones were delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarboriG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City and Paris France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The new innkeepers are an amazing, super down to earth young couple who were so helpful in every way and so sweet and they are why I gave the place a 3, otherwise I would have given it a 2.. The place itself needs a facelift.. It's ollllllldddd, I mean so old that they have carpets in the bathrooms. Carpets in front of the toilets and wall to wall in the entire small room. The carpet us gray and old and looks dirty.. And we are talking decor from the 1960's or 70's.. Which would be fine if the place just had a little bit of a facelift.. I'm talking all around upgrade as the view is otherworldly, this place has so much potential if they would tear up the carpets, expand the rooms and paint the place..

But the innkeepers are so cool and generous and sweet so they are actually worth the trip.. Hopefully they will do a facelift of the place and take the 60 year old carpets up, maybe give the place some fresh paint, new linens and sheets and some modern furnishings and they will really have a sweet place..

Oh and also if they could take the confederate flag off of the bar, which was a little scary as a guest having a drink there. I asked them about this confederate flag and they told me they were from the South and that was all.. It's a little offensive especially as people of all ethnic backgrounds should feel comfortable and not uncomfortable...I suppose if you are coming there for a ski trip and you don't have lots of money, then you could stay here, but the place really needs a facelift and a good paint job, linen change and overall upgrade.. Good luck to the new owners who are so great that hopefully they will take care and upgrade the place...

Room Tip: Find out when they will upgrade the place and then book a room.. Or bring your own linens and a fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xai111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Sunlight Mt. Inn's staff, Clayton & Kaje Ryon & Paul Copeland gave impeccable service and helpful advice on our first vacation in Colorado. It was an experience that I will never forget and owe so much thanks to those three for introducing us to the skiing/snowboarding instructors, bartenders, and fun locals. Definitely returning to Sunlight Mountain Inn in the summer for vacation and in the winter for more boarding trips. THANK YOU new management!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateohmylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My kids just learning to ski = 5 and 9 years = loved the place and people. New owners Kaje and Clayton are most accommodating and made us feel very welcome!

Room Tip: If you have a dog - one of the best places in Colorado for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mebeling23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We received a gift certificate for this B&B. We decided to use it to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Kaje made us feel special and welcome from the minute we walked in the door. Our room was very rustic, very clean and just an adorable place to spend the weekend. Since we were not familiar with the area, Clayton took time to give us suggestions as to what activities and sightseeing opportunities we may enjoy. We will be planning another trip to Sunlight Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was just a fantastic place to stay in Glenwood Springs. We love that it was a little bit outside of town, tucked away in the mountains with wonderful fresh air and beautiful scenery. The owner and her helpers were just wonderful! Thanks for the great breakfast every morning too! We were very relaxed and enjoyed sleeping with our windows open every night to the sound of the roaring river next to the Inn. The 3 best nights of sleep I've had in a long time! And the loads and loads of hummingbirds swarming around were the cherry on top! I've never seen so many hummingbirds together at once.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the ski areas are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
10.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
9.0 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10252 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4541 (Formerly Sunlight Adventure Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Rockie Mountains near Glenwood Springs, you'll find us and our quaint and rustic lodge. Here you can enjoy an "off-the-beaten-path" vacation as you are just steps away from the Colorado Outdoors. Numerous activities are close by such as hiking, biking, horseback riding, and a full disc golf course, as well as others just moments away like whitewater rafting, rock climbing, paragliding, ATV Tours, and other outdoor adventures! When you're exhausted from the day, come back and kick off your shoes as you relax watching the sun set behind the green mountainscape from off the deck, and the roar of the creek lulls you to sleep. With incredible natural beauty, numerous family-friendly attractions, and opportunities for adventure around every turn, the Glenwood Springs area is one of the most popular destinations for group getaways in Colorado. The Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast offers a perfect destination for family reunions, youth groups and church retreats. Best of all, everyone in the group can stay under the same roof while enjoying plenty of privacy and personal space. Mother Nature plays an important role too, offering a canopy of stars and symphony of night songs to enhance campfire tales. Forests, mountains, streams deliver the perfect mix of tranquility and activity to reconnect with loved ones. And with endless activities your reunion will cater to everyone's interests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunlight Mountain Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing