We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Gretchen and her daughter couldn't have been nicer. The breakfasts were beyond superb! The attention to small details: beautiful flowers on the deck, hummingbird feeders that kept my 16 year old son intrigued and the hot tub under the stars was wonderful. The Inn is worn but clean and welcoming and ideal for anyone looking for a place to stay outside of Glenwood. It gave us a different persepctive on Glenwood Springs. I can't wait to return with my sister and sit on the deck enjoying the sunshine and beauty that is around you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had two families and one senior in our party, and we all enjoyed the Sunlight Mountain Inn for our own reasons. The hotel is in an amazingly beautiful location, with a variety of hiking opportunities right outside our front door. The staff is very warm and welcoming, and was constantly offering assistance. The breakfast was a great, convenient way to start the day, and you can't beat breakfasting with a flock of hummingbirds. This was our second trip, and I can guarantee it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

It's a nice place. The setting is beautiful and very peaceful. The Inn is nice and breakfast was very good. The Inn needs a little updating though, especially bathrooms. Carpet changing is a must and maybe a paint job. With some work, it could be really perfect, otherwise it is looking a little run down. It's also a little far out from town, but it's worth it to be near the mountains. Overall, though it was a really great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My boyfriend and I are full-time students and we work full-time, and at the end of the day, we just want to get away from the stresses of our normal days. Sunlight Inn provided that for us. There were no tvs or distractions, just simple beauty without any arrogance. We will be going back to Sunlight Inn. It has already been decided!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcooper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This is a B&B that you will want to stay at if you are looking for a hotel off the beaten path, in a quiet location, that will give you sounds of a mountain stream going by your window. We enjoyed our short stay (2 days) at this location. It is close enough to Glenwood Springs to be convenient, but far enough up the 'mountain' to feel like you were going someplace different. We enjoyed the large deck on the back of the hotel that will give you peace and quiet and the ability to listen to the stream while you are looking up the hillside for lovely green vegetation and wildlife. This is a place to go to that will bring some calm back into your busy life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryRebel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Our 13th Anniversary..... Gretchen and Pierre don't seem to be cut out for this. Upon check-in, she barely acknowledged us. Just "what's your name". I watched others check in as well and they got the same treatment.
#1. We were not told it was 11 miles outside of town.
#2. Gretchen and Pierre....Be personable. It's OK to smile and say hello. You help set the tone for your guests day.
#3. Not very knowledgeable when it came to knowing about tourist stuff. (ie) directions, recommendations on eating.
#4. The mouse poop behind our headboard. What else can I say. Not cool!!
#5. Our friends leaky toilet that didn't get fixed. Too loud to sleep. 2nd night our friends turned the water to the toilet off.
#6. Our bed....Wow. These should be replaced every 20 years or so. This had to be the worst bed I have ever slept in.
#7. Having stayed in several B&B's, this was by far the worst. If Gretchen and Pierre had just spoken to their guest's and had a little personality, they could have made this somewhat of a decent stay. By the way...RIB CITY is great. Ask for BOB.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knollstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gddubois, Owner at Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Knollstina,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. All of our materials detail our location and point out that we are at the base of Sunlight Mountain Ski area, 10 miles from downtown Glenwood Springs. We also include information in our confirmation that points out our location with written directions. I'm sorry that you missed that info. We tried to assist you with your weekend plans. We loaned you a cooler and a backpack for your food items and printed info on jeep trails on the Flat tops for you. We gave you several recommendations for restaurants for your dinner. I am sorry if you didn't like any of them. We did check with you at breakfast the first morning of your stay and asked how your room was. None of these items were mentioned until you checked out. We did check behind and under the bed in the room you stayed in. We could find no evidence of mouse droppings, but had the room cleaned from top to botton , just to be sure. Again we are very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. My husband and partner was having major health issues that weekend, so I might not have been as talkative as usual. If you had just let us know you were unhappy, we could have offered you another room or helped you find another hotel more suitable for you. Again, I am sorry and will contact you to discuss privately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I went here for our 1 year anniversary, and it was very sweet :) We enjoyed our time very much! The breakfasts were DELICIOUS, and they have many different areas, inside and out, where you can sit and enjoy the atmosphere. People were friendly. Horesback riding a HUGE PLUS and great :) Great staff and horses. Only things I would change are put a TV in the room, add air conditioning (but location-wise, you don't really NEED air conditioning, we just happened to go on a hot weekend), and wish it was just a bit closer to town, but that also adds to the 'get away from it all' stuff. Will go again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachellovesmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
10.1 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
931 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
648 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,077 reviews
9 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
336 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rio Grande Bed and Breakfast
Rio Grande Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Glenwood Springs
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10252 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4541 (Formerly Sunlight Adventure Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £73 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Rockie Mountains near Glenwood Springs, you'll find us and our quaint and rustic lodge. Here you can enjoy an "off-the-beaten-path" vacation as you are just steps away from the Colorado Outdoors. Numerous activities are close by such as hiking, biking, horseback riding, and a full disc golf course, as well as others just moments away like whitewater rafting, rock climbing, paragliding, ATV Tours, and other outdoor adventures! When you're exhausted from the day, come back and kick off your shoes as you relax watching the sun set behind the green mountainscape from off the deck, and the roar of the creek lulls you to sleep. With incredible natural beauty, numerous family-friendly attractions, and opportunities for adventure around every turn, the Glenwood Springs area is one of the most popular destinations for group getaways in Colorado. The Sunlight Lodge Bed & Breakfast offers a perfect destination for family reunions, youth groups and church retreats. Best of all, everyone in the group can stay under the same roof while enjoying plenty of privacy and personal space. Mother Nature plays an important role too, offering a canopy of stars and symphony of night songs to enhance campfire tales. Forests, mountains, streams deliver the perfect mix of tranquility and activity to reconnect with loved ones. And with endless activities your reunion will cater to everyone's interests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunlight Mountain Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing