We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Caravan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravan Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, CO
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My husband and I recently spent our honeymoon in Glenwood Springs, and stayed at the Caravan Inn for 5 days. We were so very impressed with everything. From the moment we checked in, the staff was extremely helpful and welcoming - they even left a couple of space heaters in our room to ensure the room was just right, temperature-wise. The honeymoon suite was wonderfully cozy and clean. In a nutshell, our honeymoon in Glenwood was wonderful, made more-so by the excellent service we received at the Caravan Inn. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    60
    29
    9
    10
See reviews for
77
48
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Maybe just a little worn in places, all in all the Caravan is a well maintained, clean, and reasonably well appointed hotel that's undervalued at ~$75/night. Service was fine, breakfast was fine, location is convenient to downtown. Definitely recommended.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — a little worn
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scotdlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

We had an extra night to kill in GSpgs and time to check out all the places to stay. For $79, the Caravan was much nicer than the Cedar place just down the street, where we stayed the night before. The Caravan has nearly completed their parking lot renovations, the room was very nice, with fridge, the hot tub was nice, with ripe apples falling off the tree overhead. The breakfast is very basic, but all-in-all this was a very good value. All the staff were very pleasant. Due to the construction boom all over this area, most guests are construction workers, but no one was raucous, and as I was enjoying a Scotch and cigar in the hot tub, I can't complain about their enjoying a beer and smoke on their front steps. The Caravan and Cedar Lodge are both a mile or so south of I-75, where essentially all the other places are, but it's a small area so that's not a huge deal. See "Dining" for my food recs.

  • Liked — Nice, clean, good value
  • Disliked — Mediocre breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

For any of you who like to get even 'okay" customer service, DO NOT stay at the Caravan Inn in Glenwood Springs.

The air conditioner in our room stank horribly of mold and mildew and the entire staff that got involved refused to help. They could not replace it, they would not clean it, and they gave no other options for my family, who suffers from allergies and asthma and may have had a trip to the hospital had the mold blown on us from the a/c all night long!

Even though the front desk girl did tell me she'd grant a discount on the room, upon checkout no one knew of any discount and the manager was mysteriously unavailable. Now, five days later and after several messages, the manager still has not returned our call regarding a discount on their average room with a mold-infested air conditioning unit.

Travelers: be wary of this place! Spend the extra $20 and stay at a better hotel. This place isn't worth half of what they charge.

  • Liked — east to find location
  • Disliked — moldy a/c unit and lack of helpfulness of staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SKS80026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2007

The front desk woman was unwelcoming and not friendly. We didn't know about ongoing construction, so we had to put up with noise from bulldozers. Many windows were boarded up, presumably for renovations, separate from the ongoing construction. The driveway into the motel was ripped up dirt and rocks. Our first impression was of a condemned building. Although the room was clean, the beds were so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep. It seemed like half the occupants were in town for construction jobs, drinking in the parking lot, and playing loud music. The best part of our stay was the swimming pool and hot tub. We were looking for a good deal and learned our lesson about getting what you pay for.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2007

Great motel close to everything and value priced. They lady at the front desk was particularly helpful in pointing out local attractions and restaurants. Would recommend it to anyone and would gladly stay there again!!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Pool closed for renovations...oh well.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tecton61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We come to Glenwood usually once or twice a year and have noticed a marked increase in the lodging prices near the downtown area. A friend recommended this facility as an alternative to the higher priced hotels & lodges near the Hot Springs pool. We stayed two nights and would probably not stay there again for the following reasons.
1. The people who stay here are mostly blue collar workers on the job (cement workers, contractors, pavers, landscaper labor) or bikers en-route to somewhere else.
2. It is kinda creepy when groups of people all hang out close to the pool and parking lot and room access areas drinking beer and just being plain roudy!
3. You have to drive several miles to get to the tourist area - most of the other facilities are close enough to walk to the downtown restaurants and attractions (Even West Glenwood has its own restaurants & entertainment areas).
4. While I have to admit that the rooms are nice and clean ..... they are outdated with old furniture, matresses, bathroom fixtures and really need new carpets & paint.
To sum it up ...... If you are just passing through for the night, save a few bucks and stay here but if it is a vacation stay you seek .... pay the few extra bucks and stay closer to the downtown area!

  • Liked — Price was $20 per night less than anywhere else in the area
  • Disliked — Old facility with outdated furnishings far away from attractions & restaurants
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here if you are just passing thru and need a place to sleep.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Geocaching Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
804 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
866 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan Inn

Property: Caravan Inn
Address: 1826 Grand Ave, Hwy 82, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravan Inn is nestled in the beautiful Colorado Rockies providing you with an amazing scenery the moment you step outside of your room. Conveniently located in Glenwood Springs just 1 mile from the world's largest hot springs pool, the natural vapor caves at the Yampah Spa, and the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. All accommodations come with a deluxe continental breakfast, in room refrigerators, and complimentary wireless internet access. Cool off in our outdoor pool(seasonal) or relax in the outdoor hot tub after you've experienced some of the many activities offered in Glenwood Springs. When making reservations inquire about our various activity packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caravan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing