We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for seniors”
Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanging Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for seniors”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

While traveling through CO, we were most fortunate to have found this Inn through tripadvisor. The usual chains were very expensive in this area because this is ski country. This little, privately owned inn has so much going for it! Firstly, you are greeted by a very warm, friendly lady. Secondly, this is a completely renovated motel-style accommodation so you pull your car up right in front of your room. (A real plus for seniors). And thirdly, the place is immaculate with the most comfortable pillowtop bed you could ask for with wonderful down comforters on top. Just book through their website to get the best price, which is truly a bargain for all this Inn has to offer. They also served a real nice continental breakfast. You won't regret staying here. We hated to leave this morning!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor on the end and it was very quiet. We did not hear any other guests or tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    96
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
112
217
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I am pretty much a cheap-skate when it comes to hotels. I have been burned before though by cheaping out and winding up with a grooooooosssss room. This time was not the case! The place was kept in very good condition and was very clean.
The hotel staff was very friendly and informative. They had coffee and little store bought pastries every morning. This is a plus because the room was already cheap and I was not expecting extras They have a fridge in the room which was great because you can save a lot of money on vacation by having snacks in the room.
You should know that they don't allow dogs. I have read angry reviews where people showed up with a dog and were turned away. I don't know why you would take your dog to a place without double-checking, but that is just me.
We stayed in this hotel in the off-season (fall). We went to Aspen and toured around Glenwood. You have to drive a short distance to get to the "downtown" Glenwood and then you have to find parking. In the off-season, that is not a big deal. Aspen is about 45 minutes away but so worth it.

Room Tip: It was nice to be able to drive right up to the door and walk in. Therefore, I prefered the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissColoradoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I Love these smaller family run inns. We have 1 more night here and already do not want to leave. Best nights sleep last night in a month or better.

Stay here and not just save money, but enjoy the serenity of this wonderful inn.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TABERNASH
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to rest. Comfy beds, friendly staff. Perfect location. Even a light cont breakfast in the am. Nothing can y just cereal, toast, coffee,milk and juice. But enough to start the day.
We will def return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtntopmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a great bargain in Glenwood. Hanging Lake Inn is a family owned hotel a little west of the downtown area but not inconvenient at all. Our room was very spacious including the bathroom which for some reason is usually the smallest area in a hotel room. We even had double sinks, one inside the bathroom and one just outside in an area which included a refrigerator and micro wave. The room was virtually spotless and just recently updated. Each room has its own entry and patrons park just outside the door making the transfer of luggage very easy. At the end of the day you can sit on the front porch and take in views of the mountains across the valley. The owner, Mike, was very accommodating. This was the second time we stayed here and will not be the last. We highly recommend Hanging Lake Inn.

Room Tip: Just ask the manager to see a room prior to registering. They are more than happy to show you where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a two-night weekend visit to Glenwood Springs. The price was reasonable and room was clean and spacious. The location is decent given the fast, direct access to the locations we wanted to visit in the downtown area. The only complaint at all is the complimentary "breakfast" that was included was not kept in good order. The first morning we arrived to the small breakfast area about we had to search for items as they were mostly stowed away during the advertised time. The second morning there was nothing available when we arrived and no sign that more was going to be put out. We'll likely stay here again due to the positives; however, it's too bad the Inn doesn't appear to take their morning offerings too seriously.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Inexpensive but very clean, inside and out. Management is very accomodating and friendly. Slightly out of town (about a mile West) but beautiful mountain views and very quiet. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
848 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
890 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Property: Hanging Lake Inn
Address: 51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanging Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing