We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanging Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Hanging Lake Inn on March 2, 2014. The rate was very reasonable and the rooms were immaculate. Very spacious and everything we could need. Of all the motels we stayed at this vacation, Hanging Lake was the best. We received a good welcome with some useful information we needed about the next step of our travels. We enjoyed setting on the front porch drinking our beer and wine viewing the beautiful scene across the way. Mike was very good about sending back the camera I had left behind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    94
    25
    7
    12
See reviews for
110
209
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and it did not disappoint. Nothing fancy here just a very, very clean hotel room with everything one needs for one night or a few nights. The sheets, comforter, towels and shower curtain are sparkiling white. The bathroom was spotless and our king room had two sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. A small fridge and microware were appreciated. We did not have breakfast because we are pretty health conscious and other reviewers said it was high on carbs and fats but we would definitely stay here again. A great value!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a charming hotel right off the highway in west Glenwood. I have stayed in other hotels similarly priced hotels in Glenwood, and the Hanging Lake Inn surpasses all others. The service when checking in was excellent, and the rooms were fresh and very clean. I appreciated that 11am check out time and the continental breakfast. The beds were comfortable, wifi was included, and the owners were eager to make our stay pleasant. I recently spent 10 days at a Hilton hotel. These rooms were cleaner and more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We had a two night stay at the Hanging Lake Inn. Our king room was recently renovated and as advertised 'squeaky clean'. The room included a small fridge and a microwave oven which allowed us to eat in and relax. The bed was soft, snuggly and comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. This was a great value place to stay and we would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackiejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you are traveling with your pet, read no further. This lovely motel is not for you as they do not accept pets in their rooms. We tried this place based on the review that started out saying "This place is adorable." It really was. Important to my husband and I is a firm mattress with a pillow top for comfort; a comforter instead of a blanket and spread; good TV reception with plenty of channels; lots of hot water in the shower with a strong shower spray and good coffee in the morning. This motel has all of those attributes, although the coffee you could make in the room was not good at all. However, it was fifty steps to the breakfast room and that coffee did the trick. Now, for $55.00 a night, you shouldn't expect a fancy, or even a comparable to Comfort Inn breakfast and you don't get it. You do get what I call a decent "starter breakfast" which is a cup of coffee and a small cake donut. Since my husband brings these items to me as I'm trying to get the fog out and get going, it's just right. Since there is a refrigerator and a microwave in your room, you can make your own breakfast or just drive less than a mile down the road to get one! The refrigerator even has a separate freezer so frozen foods stay frozen and refrigerated foods don't become frozen! The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is spacious with a big countertop, and has a fan, light, and heat lamp that you can turn on or off as you wish (I hate it when the fan automatically comes on with the light). The receptionist was delightful. The room was spotless. The heating system provided plenty of control to keep the temperature exactly as desired. Outside of each room are two comfortable lounge chairs with a small table between them and an ashtray, for those who must burn one. We've stayed at a number of hotels/motels/vacation rentals in Glenwood Springs and this is the best. This will be our number one motel from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms six and seven have one wall against the laundry/vending area, which was perfect for us as we n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakfire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park city UT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent three nights here recently while skiing Vail. Initially we chose this hotel because it was impossible to find a place in Value for under $500/night on short notice. It turned out this place was one of the best values I've had, certainly in a hotel near skiing.

The hotel is locally owned and managed by the owners, and believe me it shows. The attention to detail is outstanding. The rooms have all been carefully renovated and while the the facility may look like a typical roadside motel on the outside (although it is very well maintained), the rooms inside are done in the more modern, tasteful style you'd find in a hotel 5 times this price.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the linens are much higher-end than one would expect from a hotel in this price range. The wi-fi was very fast. The room itself was very large, with plenty of room to spread out gear and clothing. The bathroom was also very large with a good sized vanity and plenty of hot water. There was a second vanity outside the bathroom, along with a microwave and a small fridge.

One of the strongest points of this hotel was its overall location. It is right on I-70 and it is only a 40 min drive to Vail and a similar drive to Aspen. Initially I was disappointed that we couldn't stay right in Vail. However, that feeling quickly evaporated and I was more than happy to stay here and save $450/night by doing the commute to Vail, which was quick and easy. Being equidistant between Vail and Aspen makes this an excellent base for either.

Overall I give this hotel very high marks and am planning on staying here again next week when we return to Vail.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place is adorable! Clean, friendly, competitive rates and excellent service. And the beds are extremely comfortable. The front desk service was excellent considering we showed up at 2 am. Bathrooms are huge and the wifi is free! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dangerwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Property: Hanging Lake Inn
Address: 51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hanging Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing