We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe anything that you hear from reservations”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't believe anything that you hear from reservations”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I called in and was promised a room with hardwood floors, a view of the mountains, wifi Internet access, and a welcome packet of trails and activities. They delivered none of their promises. Instead, overpaying for a dumpy motel room. Do you sit around and laugh when you say those things? Needless to say, won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingbum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solpin, General Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
On behalf of the entire reservations team at Hotel Denver I would like to implicitly and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment you experienced on your last visit to Glenwood Springs. We do our very best to reply to all inquiries and try ardently to fulfill all requests from our esteemed guests. The staff here is highly skilled to provide over the top service all day every day and to impress our guests with their service level, their attitude for helpfulness and their sincere desire to make every stay a favorably memorable one. If we fell short in your expectations, I again apologize.
It is my sincere wish that the balance of your summer is safe and enjoyable.
Thank You - Scott D. Olpin - General Manager - Hotel Denver; Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    210
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
202
445
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stood at the Hotel Denver during my vacation. My room was large and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful when I asked for good restaurants in the area. My favorite part was the in house brewpub. Way above average food to go with great microbrews all for a very reasonable price. Will definitely stay at Hotel Denver on my next trip to Glenwood Springs!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romejohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The staff at the front desk is friendly and they actually offer help and even anticipate needs. The rooms have character and are pleasant and spotless. You can walk everywhere so there's no need to be saddled with a car. We stayed two extra days and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmspatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Rustic meets modern: hardwood floors and antique furniture meets flatscreen tv. Also got a discount rate to the Glenwood Hot Springs ($1 off ticket price, but still worth it) which we drove to, but easily could've walked. The hotel gave us towels to take because "the towels at the springs aren't very good..." Excellent restaurant - Glenwood Canyon Brew Pub

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

A group of 10 friends (4 couples, 2 singles) stayed here in mid May, primarily to relax, enjoy nearby hot springs, and food and drink. Hot springs across the tracks and I70 (6-7 minute walk) was surprisingly good with temperatures comparable to Japanese onsen. Hotel provided towels. Wifi connection tho free, virtually useless from rooms, although good in the main lobby. Hotel doesn't have restaurant per se, though attached to a bar/restaurant. Found lots of good food nearby, excellent sandwiches at Porters couple of doors away. Room itself was small, basic, with nice view of mountains; especially enjoyed watching mile long freight trains chug through the train station right across the street. Friendly helpful staff. Glenwood Springs a real town, unlike say Veil, with more Disneyland artificial feel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsandsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Denver. The service was outstanding, and we enjoyed our room and the hotel's proximity to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask ahead for the best view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebedowah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We are so happy with our decision to avoid the stark and sterile feeling name brand generic hotels. We were thrilled with our choice of Hotel Denver. Cost was absolutely reasonable. Historic downtown location surrounded by unique local shops and restaurants. Although the hotel is completely modern & updated, the hotel has maintained the feel and look of its' rich history with original brick walls, many of the original doors and incredible, countless antiques. We highly recommend the attached Brew Pub Bar and Restaurant. They brew their own tasty beer creations and the food is delicious. We also want to say thank you to a wonderful staff who were so friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandalane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Property: Hotel Denver
Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing