We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute room, central location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Unlike many hotels, we didn't hear any of the other guests through the walls, and only occasional noise from below, even though tthis is nearly the center of town. 10 minute walk to the hot springs, with lots of neat views along the way. Also neat to see the amtrak stopped at the station across the street. Good selection of channels on tv as well. Bathroom/shower was slightly dated, compared to the rest of room. but sparkled.

thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaksecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Denver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our family of five spent three nights at the Hotel Denver last week. We took the California Zephyr to Glenwood Springs, and it stops right across the street from the Hotel. It's in a great location amidst the Glenwood Springs shops and restaurants, and only a three to five minute walk across the Colorado River to the Hot Springs. The Hotel even provides large, cushy bath towels to take to the Hot Springs. We spent two nights in their deluxe room, the Cupola, and one night in a more standard room. The rooms are well appointed and extremely clean. But the best part of this hotel is the staff--all of whom were extremely pleasant and accomodating, especially when our return train was delayed for five hours. My best stay in Glenwood Springs to date.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saltrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stay here every year on our annual motorcycle trip. We will continue to stay at the hotel Denver. The staff, scott manager was awesome! The rooms are clean, comfortable and the hotel is within walking distance from the hot springs.
The only bad experience was the female bartender in the brew pub Sunday night, black glasses with sour puss on her face. Very nasty and sarcastic. We won't return to the brew pub . Instead of brew pub go to an excellent resturant around the corner called the The Grand, the burger, fish and steaks were out of this world. The chef Chris is the best.
We will return to the hotel denver!

Room Tip: Ask Scott, manager at the front desk, he is very helpful, just ask.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very helpful and friendly hotel and restaurant staff. We were running late for rafting so hotel staff called and made sure they held for us. Rooms were good size. Only issue was you cannot see Colorado river from room. Restaurant food was good quality, tasty and good price value. We were seven and they had no problems serving us in the lobby were we set up our own mini- restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ombevorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We booked at the last minute after Amtrak stopped service for 2 days and we were stranded. They gave us a very good price! The lobby is very comfortable and fresh fruit and water is available. The rooms were homey with quilts and antique furniture. The train station is right across the street but we never heard any noise in our room. It's right in the action of downtown Glenwood Springs and we enjoyed walking around and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2labbyluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

After camping for a week with our two kids and a dog, we stayed at the Hotel Denver. This was our first hotel stay with our dog and the front desk staff was so helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to accomodate us and our pet. Nice having air-conditioning after spending so much time in the heat. Great location, being connected to the brew pub. Great beer and atmosphere, not so great food. Easy to get to the hot springs and Rio Grande bike path.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205, two queen beds, overlooking the river and Amtrak station. Very spacious. Amp...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonmelbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Denver the evening after the Triple Bypass bike ride on July 9th. It really was lovely, well done all around. Staff were friendly, genuine, efficient. Our room (a "standard" room) was delightful. The view was quite good - out over the river and train station. My concerns about train noise proved unfounded - we did hear a couple of trains, but the noise wasn't a problem at all. I had passed through Glenwood Springs at times over the years and thought we'd want to stay at the Hotel Colorado there, but the reviews on this website warned against it, and we surely made the right choice. They have a really good touch at the Hotel Denver. The location was terrific, and the restaurants nearby recommended by the staff proved to be excellent.

When checking out I noticed a manager sort of guy at the desk (Sunday morning), and asked him if he was the manager whose name I'd seen on the literature, and he said yes. It fit - he was intelligent, friendly, efficient, and working away at the desk on a Sunday morning.

Lovely place, with some soul. You bet we'll go back if we get a chance.

Room Tip: We reviewed the choices, and the
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capraadmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing