We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & location, good internet, fair amenities. Dogs welcome.”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I travel, a lot, like over 50% of the time. That being said, I know quite a bit about quite a few hotels. The location is excellent, right in what could be considered downtown. Internet access is above average, suitable for business use even though I've repeatedly had some wifi issues. Linens are average, the bed is below average but similar to surrounding hotels. My dog (pittbull) loves it there and the gals at the front desk think he's great too.

Room Tip: If train noise is a problem, make sure to let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisStebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had an excellent stay at this place for two nights. The location is fantastic as it is next to some great dinner spots (Pullman, Juicy Lucy's, and Riviera) and over a pedestrian walk to the hot springs. We stayed in the Cupola room, which worked out well for the three of us. The desk was immense and would serve well as a work space. Internet seemed solid as well.

The staff at the front desk were awesome. We got a warm reception from Mackela (sp?) and she went out of her way to make us feel at home. She even took the time to discuss the local attractions as well. We worked with two other women as well and they were great too.

This is an older mountain hotel, so don't expect modern decor. While still in theme, this place delivered. Wood floors, art work, furniture, etc.

Only two minor suggestions from our stay: the bed in the main room of the Cupola needs to be a king as there is plenty of room for it. Rooms need a safe for smaller valuables (cameras, iPads, jewelry, etc).

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ProfessorX69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

WE love staying here. It is always an aesthetic pleasure. The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable. The beds are heavenly, with down blankets in between two top sheets, and a quilt to top it all off. The whole hotel is furnished with lovely antiques. You can walk through the hotel lobby to a great brewpub/restaurant, and the best restaurants are within a half block.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms have an interior view, or are above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary locke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

fantastic service. cannot say enough good things about the staff. Hotel was very nice and worth the cost.while the hotel is old it has been redone in very modern fashion. only downside was very slow WiFi.

Room Tip: not all rooms have windows to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The hotel is charming and in a very good location. You can walk to Yampah caves, the hot pools and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and well appointed. The staff, without fail, is very sweet and helpful. You simply cannot go wrong choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAGeorgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I think as far as selection of places to stay in Glenwood Springs, Hotel Denver is the best Choice. Everyone at the hotel was extremly friendly and accommodated us in every way possible. Loved their Hot Springs passes, cheaper all day option vs. purchasing them at the Springs. Great walking location for all the local resturants and the Amtrack stop. If I have an another opportunity to visit this area, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. My only issue was the quilts vs. having other betting options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I've stayed at the Hotel Denver three times over the past two months. The staff is always very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The rooms have so much character and are clean and comfortable. I visited the hot springs, for which I was able to purchase a discounted ticket at the hotel and also got a bag with water and a fluffy towel. Also a bonus for the area, when traveling from the east to Glenwood Springs, the drive alng I-70 is amazing! Definitely a must-stay when visiting the Glenwood Springs area!

Room Tip: Denver room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KBE602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £99 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing