We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, smaller room”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a nice time at the Hotel Denver. The staff is very nice; the hotel allows pets; and there is a brewpub next door! What more could you want? The only con -- since it is an older hotel -- is that the room we stayed in was small, including the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April C, Owner at Hotel Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Ninety-eight years of The Hotel Denver has resulted in fifteen or more different room sizes. Some are small, some larger, but each is very unique. Hint: request my favorite rooms which are 301 and 304 (larger), 300 and 212 (smaller). We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Victorian beauty but fully renovated with period furniture and great service. It has access to the pool that claims to be the largest in the world pool of natural hot springs. If you purchase your pool access tickets from the hotel, you get a discount and towels from the hotel, so you don't have to pay additional for towels at the pool. The experience, especially in the winter, is surreal: you have this huge body of steaming water (two pools, one cooler than the other) and walkways all around covered with snow and pool attendants with hats and gloves and boots, sprinkling salt on the walkways...

TIP: Ask for the Penthouse Suite, it's gorgeous and has its own outdoor area which makes it very convenient for sipping some libation and thinking about Doc Holiday -- he spent some time in Glenwood springs and actually died next door. He was burred in the common cemetery - where people who did not have anybody were going, paid for by the City. The cemetery is still there, but they don't know which is his grave, it all got mixed up at some point of time. There is a memorial monument to Doc Holiday.

And don't forget to have dinner in the Italian underground, located in the lower floor of the oldest building in Glenwood Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for the Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We always stay at the Hotel Denver when we come to Glenwood Springs. It's convenient if we drive up or take the train. The station is right across from the hotel so that's convenient and you can see the hot springs pool from the hotel. The location is great because you can walk to go eat and shops are close by. All the rooms are great but we prefer to get and interior room. They are tucked down a hall and are really quiet. Beautiful stain glass covered the window so you don't realize you room may be facing a window. Very romantic, old hotel. When going to the pool, stop at the front desk as they provide you with a huge, lush towel and bag to carry it to the pool.

Room Tip: Pick an inside or interior room for extra quiet. We have had a room facing the train station and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great place to stay. Perfect location and friendly/helpful staff. Our room was spacious, clean and the decor was very nice.The Brewery attached to the hotel was also a favorite! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candir476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were traveling by Amtrak so this is a perfect location to stay in Glenwood Springs if traveling by train. You simply take your luggage up the stairs in the station; wheel the luggage across the street; and check in. We were able to check in at noon (and they had let us know in advance by email if a room was available we would be able to do so - if not, they'd be most willing to hold our luggage and call us by cell once a room was ready.).

The rooms are charming - we had a nice view of the Glenwood area. The beds were comfortable. The hotel has a door to the brewery restaurant next door - Glenwood Canyon Brewing Company. We had dinner and lunch there and both were excellent.

From this location it is about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the hot springs pool area - basically cross the street; walk over the pedestrian bridge over the Colorado River; and you're at the hot springs pool area.

In the morning, they have a light breakfast - meaning fresh fruit, granola bars; coffee/tea service. There is free bottled water any time you want it during your visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Great find!! It is very unique, and a great location. The room was incredibly clean, and the furnishings were quite nice. The in-house restaurant has been a favorite of ours for quite some time. The lady at the front desk, Anna, was cheerful and courteous! We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSM2013x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I spent 5 nights here and was blown away! The hotel has beautiful charm yet while in the room, I was not bothered by other guests noises like most historic hotels. My room was so spacious with unique and modern furniture and decor. I loved the view of the Colorado river and mountains. The staff was always smiling and friendly. The offer free laundry detergent and bounce which is great. They also offer a "green" program if you stay extended, I recieved $5 per night towards the brewpub next door when I opted out of room housekeeping. I can't wait to return to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the river have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
914 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £93 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing