We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, classic hotel, centrally located....”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I decided after a trip to Denver to take a train ride through the Rockies, which is what lead me to Glenwood Springs and the Hotel Denver. If, like me, you are without a car and taking the train and just plan to go about town its location can't be beat! It is RIGHT across from the train station and super close to most of the best restaurants Glenwood Springs has to offer. Most of the other hotels are a decent walk over a bridge, so being close to town is a huge plus. The staff makes you feel welcome as soon as you walk through the door. There is complementary water available at all times in little bottles at the front desk and granola bars and fruits in the morning. Nice little touches. There is also a brewery adjoining the hotel, nice plus! The room I had was nice, hard wood floors, kind of a rustic look with exposed brick. Now, just a couple of minuses. One, the hotel allows pets, which I do not have an issue with but my room had a door to an adjoining room that had a dog and the dog whimpered incessantly while its owners were out and about and scratched at the door, annoying. You have to keep in mind this is historic hotel, so it has a little more room-room and hallway noise than a modern hotel. All in all I had a great time and really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerroy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace C, Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Rogerroy1974,

THANK YOU for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Denver here

We appreciate all the kind words regarding your stay and are so pleased to hear we hit many high notes with you as you visited Glenwood Springs.
Our location is unbeatable as you mentioned and truly allows you to easily navigate the historic downtown area, the hot springs, and most of the areas attractions.

As you mentioned, we are a pet friendly hotel, but that doesn't mean we want that to negatively impact our other travelers. Immediate resolution to any pet disturbances is very important to us so we encourage our guests to never hesitate to inform of if we need to address a pet related situation.

We also want to remind all of our potential travelers that we reserve our entire eastern wing of the hotel (2nd, 3rd, and 4th floor Denver Rooms) as our "Pet-Free" section of the hotel. We highly encourage anyone with concerns about our pet-friendly policy to inquire about these Denver Room which feature beautiful views out to the eastern canyon, queen or king sized beds, and ample space to enjoy the historic nature of this charming property.

Again, thank you for your feedback!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glenwood Springs.

Warm Regards,
Candace Carnahan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Denver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Loved the hotel and its funky atmosphere. Our room was great, it looked at the Colorado river and the train station. The train did wake me up one night, but then it put me right back to sleep. We did the ski swim package, and loved the hot springs and ski Sunlight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We selected Hotel Denver because it had great reviews and was right across from the Amtrak Station- and we were taking the train in from Denver.

First of all, it's the best place to stay if you are riding the train in. It's just a few steps away.

The hotel is the greatest, clean and comfortable, great prices.

Things I loved:
The connected brewery- great food and even better beer.
The hot springs- and Hotel Denver gives you towels and a bag to go there- and a discounted rate!
The coffee KCups, granola bars, and fresh fruit that the hotel will always offer to you!
and
Everything is a short walk from the hotel. We were there three days and didn't need to drive anywhere to have a good time.

We just booked there again for this weekend coming up. Driving this time and going to Ski at Sunlight. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked 2 rooms (300 & 301) at the end of February for our mom's 90th birthday. The rooms were the perfect combination of antique and modern with comfortable mattresses, beautiful antique furniture, colorful quilts, large windows and happy wall colors. The staff was friendly, informative and accommodating. They noted mom's birthday and made her feel special. We enjoyed the convenience of the on-site brewery, the complimentary beach towels and bottled water and fruit. Proximity to the town's restaurants and shops worked for us. I have stayed now at both the Hotel Colorado and Hotel Denver. Hotel Denver is by far the better historic property.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms upon check-in. We had a peek before we left and they were all very pretty a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrickWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The staff is very friendly and will give you a tour of the room if you are trying to decide which to pick. It is in a great location and the brewery is downstairs to have dinner and a drink. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FunnyFoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent one night at the Hotel Denver & were so happy with the hotel, the staff and our room. We were greeted warmly by the girls at the front desk who instantly make you feel at home. The room was very cozy and comfortable. It had antique furniture, but cheerful with a colorful quilt on the bed and a cute saying painted on the wall and we had a beautiful view of the mountains out our window! The Glenwood Canyon Brewing Co. connected to the hotel was packed the night we were there but they waited on us in the big open sitting area of the hotel. Every employee we encountered was so friendly..great service. The other thing I loved about this hotel was the history every where you turn, just like the town..Great location within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants downtown...can't wait to return and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cekblk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place is awesome, perfect location, great staff and great rooms They really make you feel at home and provide the upmost customer service. I have stayed here 2 with my girlfriend and we are going to continue to come back forever. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#9 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing