We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot to stay in town”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the premier hotel in town. Located downtown near several good restaurants and bars. We had suite with outdoor hot tub. Great view of the river. Nice clean hotel centrally located. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLENN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Denver was an awesome find. The hotel has maintained it's charm (tile floors in lobby from 1921, piano built in 1885, real keys for the doors, antiques and quilts in the rooms) but has also added everything you want while traveling (comfy beds and couches, big flat screen TVs, big tubs/showers, plenty of plugs, free WiFi).

Our room (Colorado style) was on the third floor on the corner so we had four floor to ceiling arched windows on two walls overlooking the Colorado river, mountains, and downtown Glenwood Springs. The room was spacious with hardwood floors throughout (tile in bathroom), a large couch, antique chair, coffee table and end tables, and antique dressers in the sitting area and a comfy bed (with headboard and footboard!) in the sleeping area. There was ample space and storage but what I loved most was the quaintness, the old-world touches and charm, and the overall feel of the room. It's comfortable - you just feel relaxed and at home.

All this AND it's super pet-friendly. No extra fees and no restrictions. You can even leave your dog in the room as long as you leave your cell number with the front desk (so they can call if your pet 'misses you').
The front desk staff were wonderful and incredibly friendly and welcoming. The girl who checked me in (unfortunately I don't remember we name) was quite possibly the nicest person I've ever encountered at a hotel.

The hotel is also within walking distance of everything downtown, including restaurants, shops, and the hot spring pools, as well as a number of hiking trails. The Amtrak station is directly across the street if you are traveling by train.

Loved our stay here and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank MyCuppaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you love trains, then this hotel is for you. If not, then you had best have a 'no-chain' penchant with your selection of hotels at which to stay.

Now if you REALLY love trains, such as being an avid train buff, or 'foamer', then ask if Rooms 204 or 304 are available. Those rooms will give you an expansive view of the Union Pacific's Rio Grande line, which has both Union Pacific and BNSF trains operating over such, as well as Amtrak's California Zephyr. As other reviewers of this property have noted, the train station is directly opposite the hotel.

Now my visit was tempered by unfortunate circumstances that by Memorial Day weekend are expected to be resolved. First, the City has been doing road construction in front of the hotel, resulting in its main entrance being closed. This of course engendered confusion to one who was being guided in by way of his auto's Sat/Nav system. In the end, I had to carry my luggage from their 'adjacent of sorts' parking lot through a back alley employee entrance - talk about a 'grand entrance' to a hotel that markets itself as 'boutique'.

Once inside (I personally travel light; 'If you can't carry it - as distinct from wheel it - don't bring it'), I now learned that the Hotel's restaurant and bar were 'closed for renovation'. I just loved that one, for after having driven for the better part of seven hours from Salt Lake City, I like having a 'full-service' hotel at which I can both drink and eat what I want without concerns the first noted can present.- especially in a strange city. The Desk Clerk passed out the 'apology letter' and fortunately there were restaurants available without much of a walk. Adjacent is one named The Pullman, whose 'fusion' cuisine was of no interest. Next to that was Juicy Lucy's that bills themselves as a steakhouse - and at which their steak certainly had resort town prices, but at best could be considered 'good enough'. Wine appeared to simply be a commodity, as most of the focus appeared to be on 'craft' beers. First noted is my beverage of choice; can't think of when I last has one of the other (college, perchance?). After I left Juicy, I then went to The Pullman, and 'had two' at their bar with some very interesting and amiable folk. Wine mediocre, company just great.

OK, enough of the negatives that may well be non issues by the time the reader expects to travel; now the positives. The hotel is both immaculately clean and refurbished, and the furnishings are 'not exactly major chain'. The building is well sound deadened so that if the trains are an impediment, you won't even notice them. If you choose to go to the public hot springs on the other side of the River, such is a convenient walk, and the hotel has towels and bathing wear available. The Downtown Glenwood Springs area is quite compact - everything you want can be had with a walk.

All told, if you seek out 'distinctive' hotel properties, or are any kind of a train buff, your impressions of this property will be more favorable than mine. I simply prefer major brand chain properties where 'the best surprise is no surprise' - and my one night stay at The Hotel Denver simply had too many of such.

Room Tip: Rooms 204 and 304 are 'railfan paradise'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My girlfriend and I just recently stayed in the 'St. James Room' suite at the Hotel Denver. We had a 2 night stay and the whole experience was wonderful. The entire staff was eager and willing to assist us with anything we needed. Roxy had a great attitude from the day I booked my reservation all the way through the trip. Its definitely going to be my #1 hotel choice in Glenwood for future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our first time to Colorado and Glenwood Springs. We chose Hotel Denver because of very good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

We arrived by train and so easy just crossing the road from Amtrak station and being at our hotel. Centre of town so handy to everything. Room we had was large with everything we needed and in a quiet corner of the hotel. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the Hotel Denver.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The service at the front desk was outstanding. Roxie was friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The Denver Room was solid. It wasn't flashy, but comfortable. Everything just worked.

The lobby was great. We played a few board games in it. It's a large indoor room, mimicking a city square. You feel the intimacy of an indoor space combined with the excitement of an outdoor space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Denver. We had a charming room with one very comfortable queen bed. The room and the bathroom were extremely clean and well-kept. The staff could not have been nicer or more professional. We enjoyed reading about the many antiques and historical things found around the hotel (such as the long-ago-used room "message lights", and the beautiful tile floor). This is not a cheap hotel, but one well worth a stay. The location is perfect for train travelers (across the street from the Amtrak station) and for shopping in the quaint shops downtown. The brewpub located off the lobby is a nice place to eat. The onion ring appetizers were delicious.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the river are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesteph22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#10 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £99 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing