We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great until.....”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is loaded with charm, employs an excellent staff and has a unique decor loaded with great antiques. The room was spacious and clean. I was really satisfied until it was time to retire. The bed was lumpy and soft and the pillows were miserable. Tossed and turned for hours. What a shame. I wanted to love, love this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are riding Amtrak, whose station is across the street, call and check status. Our train was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smurfnmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace C, Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you "smurfnmoms" for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to The Hotel Denver!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff, sleeping rooms, ambiance, and charm!
Our goal is to always provide a top-notch experience in a truly unique environment.

We are sad to hear our bed and pillows didn't meet your expectations.
Please contact me directly so that I can determine the room you were in and evaluate the bed for improvement. A restful night is an important part of your visit and we want to do all we can to ensure that. Keep in mind that our Front Desk is always happy to assist in any way and if you do not find your accommodations fully satisfying, we will work hard to change that.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and become your home away from home in Glenwood Springs!

At your service,
Candace Carnahan
Assistant General Manager
The Hotel Denver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Found this hotel earlier in the day . Used Trip Advisor advice to help us decide . Was very interested in the Colorado but it reviewed poorly . Really glad we stayed at the Denver . The staff is wonderful and the hotel clean , bright and pleasant . Our room was remodeled and had hard wood floors ( I don't think it was laminate) . I wish more hotels would go the hard wood floor route since it just feels cleaner ( and is cleaner ) without carpet. It was a large room that was quite bright and airy. Antiques mixed with reproductions really worked in the room.
Love the dog friendliness of Colorado hotels ! Wish we would have brought our dog .
I would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank starsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed many times at the Hotel Denver and each and every time the staff goes above and beyond to make us feel like we are returning family, as well as providing excellent service. The rooms are very nicely appointed making it feel like you are in a picture perfect western Colorado town and not just another hotel. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. We have stayed in the Penthouse (private deck and hot tub), the Cupola ( 2 story spacious and beautiful views) as well as several other rooms. They are with walking distance to most local places of interest. I can't imagine visiting Glenwood Springs and NOT staying there. See you again and Thanks again! David and Rochelle S.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We found this place through Trip Advisor two years ago and were supremely satisfied with our stay. It is dog-friendly, romantic and quaint. In the heart of downtown with easy access to the River Trail and Hot Springs Pool, you couldn't ask for a better location. Charming decor with antiques everywhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank laurieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Both parents and kids appreciated the simple pleasure of easy and friendly registration, great ambiance and convenience, tasty attached restaurant, helpful local recommendations (particularly the Revue Show) and flexible arrangements in the library to offset habitually tardy Amtrak. Wholly recommended without reservation

Room Tip: We splurged in the cupola room, but all are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregorashFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were very impressed with Hotel Denver. The antiques throughout the hotel were beautiful and the rooms were unique. Everything was very clean and well kept. We will definitely be staying here again in the future!

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms with two bathrooms...this is very helpful when traveling with family. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is the perfect choice. Vintage hotel, sparkling clean, antiques in the rooms, and top it off, this is a staff that cares. And the guests were just as friendly. Everyone spoke in the elevators, waiting for elevator, just sitting around in the lobby. The room was very large and nicely shaped, not the typical long narrow rooms of most hotels. The king bed was excellent, the rooms were quiet, even though it was a very family friendly hotel (the 4th of July). The lobby was so welcoming I took a book down and sat comfortably and read. We were unable to bring our dog but she would have been right at home. Many people had dogs and they were all well behaved, no barking. We would come back and bring our dog too. You will not regret a stay here.

Room Tip: we got the last room for the night, and it was 3rd floor King with no view and we loved every bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,077 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing