We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We typically stay at the hotel when traveling to Glenwood. Staff are amazing and friendly. Service is great and they are also pet friendly. Great location in Glenwood near shops, hot springs pool across the highway. Everything is close by including multiple eateries.

This hotel is 100 years old and the rich history is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the staff are amazing, they are helpful and knowledgeable. I loved the on site restaurant and brewery, they had great beers and good food. There are many great restaurants only a few steps away as well as ice cream and a liquor store. The hot springs pool and spas are less then a half mile walk. My only complaint is the rooms could use some updating. I understand for some people the age of the hotel is part of it's charm but I couldn't get over the feeling that I was staying at my grandma's house. However, despite the small and outdated rooms, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a view costs a little more but might be worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ekulznerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I love the history this hotel evokes. The rooms are elegant but simple and comfortable. Beds are very good. I like that the windows open for fresh air. Rooms facing side streets are quieter than ones facing the train station but both got quiet at night. Service is very friendly. Liked the walk to the hot springs. Visits there are not free but good for all day.

Room Tip: Some rooms are internal and do not have outdoor window views. I would not like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

July 8 overnight. Received a warm reception when we checked in. In fact, all the staff was so nice. The hotel is on a corner with the parking lot diagonally across from it. Since we were driving Charlotte, our yellow 1930 Model A Ford, we were given a special parking spot. The hotel's history may go back a ways, but the spacious rooms have been renovated and furnished with antique furniture. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable. Keurig coffee in the room! Mmmm. From our room, which faced the front of the hotel, we could see the river with occasional rafters; the old Colorado Hotel; the colorful mountains; the lifts going up to the amusement park. Eateries of all types are close by. No breakfast served in the hotel, so we ate in a café a block away. Part of the enjoyment of staying at The Hotel Denver is being able to walk around, to the shops. Old hotels are fun to stay in; old pictures and written history.

Room Tip: Front-facing rooms have a view of the mountains and part of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ModelAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and 2 kids stayed over last weekend. From the original reservation to the "over stayed granted" late checkout we had an excellent time. The room was spacious enough for my wife and I, two 11 year old kids and a great dane of 175 pounds. The reception desk offered waters and apples, discounted tickets to the Hot Springs (an easy 5 minute walk), discounted tickets to the Adventure Park, excellent advise on tickets and dinning. Extremely dog friendly. We had an emergency phone call and over stayed the checkout time and was granted a late checkout. They had someone waiting to check in and still accommodated us. Highly recommend and will stay there again. We were going to stay at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs and had a more enjoyable stay at the Hotel Denver for a fraction of the room cost.

By the way, there isn't a hotel directly connected to the Hot Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tlcroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Denver's top notch employees' sensitivity and care drenched us in oh so "happy" feelings July 4 as well as July 13. From our first walk to the desk after a drive of many hours, throughout the stay responding to our needs, and upon checkout - rewards of old fashioned charm and memories were ours for keeps. Uniquely decorated and spotlessly clean rooms (of which we've stayed in several) dot hallways. Conveniently located, smack-dab in the midst of inviting dining and shops, there's very little to complain about. So, if you aren't a "dog person" just ask for assistance because at Hotel Denver everyone plays
nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is loaded with charm, employs an excellent staff and has a unique decor loaded with great antiques. The room was spacious and clean. I was really satisfied until it was time to retire. The bed was lumpy and soft and the pillows were miserable. Tossed and turned for hours. What a shame. I wanted to love, love this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are riding Amtrak, whose station is across the street, call and check status. Our train was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smurfnmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candace C, Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you "smurfnmoms" for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to The Hotel Denver!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff, sleeping rooms, ambiance, and charm!
Our goal is to always provide a top-notch experience in a truly unique environment.

We are sad to hear our bed and pillows didn't meet your expectations.
Please contact me directly so that I can determine the room you were in and evaluate the bed for improvement. A restful night is an important part of your visit and we want to do all we can to ensure that. Keep in mind that our Front Desk is always happy to assist in any way and if you do not find your accommodations fully satisfying, we will work hard to change that.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and become your home away from home in Glenwood Springs!

At your service,
Candace Carnahan
Assistant General Manager
The Hotel Denver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £99 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing