We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“A romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed there in December 2008 for 3 nights (we are 25 yrs old). We got a "Denver Room" and it was quite spacious and comfortable. We had a nice view of the river and there was a train station right outside but we never heard it and it never woke me up during the night. I have the service a 3 but only because the woman at the front desk was not very friendly but otherwise the hotel was nice and quiet. It is also a short walk to the hot springs and is close to a lot of restaurants. The bar that is connected to the hotel brews it's own beer and it was a nice little spot to eat and drink after the hot springs! The hotel also offers room service from that bar during business hours. The TV in the room was nice, premium channels, the wifi connection was strong. The showers are standard- nothing too fancy. Beds are comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay there again. They also offered a deal with hotel stay and ski pass to sunlight and hot springs pass- i would definately take advantage of that again. For some reason they had troubles getting us our ski passes so they gave us an extra pass for the hot springs.. which was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellocolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    207
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
202
439
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

We were travelling between Denver and Salt Lake City and stayed here as a stopover. The hotel room was a little cramped - but adequate - and was good for an overnight stopover. The lady on reception however was quite rude and agressive - I'd hate to have any problems dealing with her! Nothing really in Glenwood Springs - wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Vile receptionist
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

This hotel is so charming! We loved the antique furnitures in the hallways and we even found a 2 volume History of the World book published in the late 1800s! The room maintained that historic feeling, but had the internet connection and the flat screen TV. Staff was friendly and proximity to the BrewPub was very convenient.

Only negatives were that
1) The shower pressure was terrible and hot water ran out pretty fast, and
2) The heater was really loud!

  • Liked — Historic feeling
  • Disliked — Water pressure in shower
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

We live in Colorado Springs and decided to take an in state vacation to see the leaves change in our pretty mountains. We stayed in Aspen first, then drove to Glenwood Springs. We liked the Hotel Denver, great central location and no real train, car or water noise at night. (even in the front rooms of the hotel) The next location we were destined for was Vail. After we checked out, drove and checked in, we were thinking where we would go to eat. That is when my husband realized he left his good shoes at the Hotel Denver. We called ASAP and spoke to the front desk. They connected us to a recording for the lost and found. We felt we tried but we would never see the shoes again. After our nice stay in Vail and our return home, the shoes were not on our mind, but a few days later there they were on our doorstep!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank BDU50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our daughter's 5th b-day weekend. We have stayed here before, and the location itself is worth the price. Although the rooms are smaller, they are comfortable and have all that one needs. It's a historic hotel which is neat and the proximity to downtown Glenwood is a plus. Whenever we're in Glenwood we tend to eat dinner at the Italian Underground, however, since we were there on a Friday night during "tourist season" there was quite a wait. (They don't take reservations.) So, we decided to try somewhere new . . . just a few storefronts up was another italian restaurant called Florindo's. It was delicious, we will definitely return. The next morning we had breakfast at The Daily Bread, which is a must when in Glenwood. Afterwards we went to the Hotsprings where I was very disappointed in the $47.75 cost for my husband, 5 year old and myself to swim. The Hotel Denver does need to update their info. in their rooms . . . The binder quoted the Springs as being $14.25 per person when, in fact, it was $18.25 for adults. They did, however, allow us to borrow big fluffy towels even after checking out, since the hotsprings charges for towel use. The Brewery in the hotel has good beer & food (my husband is a professional brewer so he's a good judge when it comes to this). My favorite is the Raspberry Wheat, especially on a hot summer day. Yes, rooms are pricey here but you get a little piece of Glenwood history and an unbeatable location.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

While the hotel probably was making the adjustment from winter to spring tourism season during my visit, there is very little to praise about Hotel Denver. The staff were incompetent and strangely brusque. The rooms are very expensive for what you get. I also could do without the Ralph Waldo Emerson epigraphs on the corridor and room walls. The brewery/pub attached to the hotel is fantastic, but there is no need to stay at the hotel in order to enjoy the pub.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moab,utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

my husband and i visited for our anniversary trip. we stayed 2 nights. both nights were wonderful. the front desk personnel were helpful especially Jennifer. we are going to try and stay there every year for our anniversary. we loved how it was close to everything especially the bridge going over the train tracks,river, and highway.

  • Liked — the historic feel the hotel gives and the train being across the street
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank athena7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Property: Hotel Denver
Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing