We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and clean luxury hotel but needs new mattress” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
525 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean luxury hotel but needs new mattress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge in Glenwood Springs, CO for one night in September. We stayed in a king room for $139. We had a small balcony overlooking a side street and the mountains. The room seemed clean and had nice furnishings. Our door locked did not work when we first arrived but maintenance fixed the door within 30 minutes. The maintenance guy was very friendly. After that everything worked fine. The flat screen TV was clear and a good size. Our king bed was very saggy on both sides. If I did not sleep in the middle, I would not sleep that night. Included in the price was entrance to the hot springs on the day of arrival and the next day. We enjoyed the pool for 2 hours on the first day. Breakfast was included in the price as well and it was fantastic. Breakfast was served at the hot spring pool and included omelets, hash browns, bacon, sausage, pan cakes, burritos, lots of fruit, homemade pastries, Irish oatmeal, milk, coffee, juices and lots more. It was very tasty. The lodge was run like a luxury hotel they just need to change out the mattress in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    270
    92
    45
    29
See reviews for
431
363
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

First off a shout out/kudos to Ms Bailey who helped us this week. I had 2 reservations and Bailey helped fix that. She was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor (Room 425) that looked out to the pool. The room - wonderful, beautifully decorated. A balcony with 2 wrought iron chairs and a little table And a fold up drying rack for your towels/swimsuits. Not only was there a sliding glass door to the balcony but also a screened door so you can keep the glass door opened if you want to. The beds were soooooo comfortable. Loved the room. Ample parking (3 different areas) however one is "covered parking" with only about 12 or 15 spots that were all taken but that ok...the weird thing with all of the parking areas...very little lighting so I would not have felt comfortable leaving my car in the covered parking anyhow. We parked across the street and could see our car from our room. You get a free breakfast every morning over at the pool in the Grill. Yummy food....scrambled eggs with hashbrowns, pancakes, oatmeal, cereal, scones and pastries. Everyone was very friendly at the Lodge and always willing to answer questions. Besides free breakfasts you also get free passes to the pool which we were in Glenwood for. We have already made our next reservation for October...cant wait!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the pool which is nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaii888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The one night we spent at Glenwood Hot Springs was squeezed in between two nights in Manitou Springs and 2 nights in Vail. I had made the reservations the night before and requested a quiet room at the end of the hallway. My request was honored and we had a spacious room designed for handicapped guests. I only spent my limited time in the 104 degree pool. The view from the pool of the mountains was spectacular. The next morning we walked a block up the street which led us to a well-maintained trail over the highway and along the Colorado River. The walk was one of the most beautiful paths I have travelled...and I've been on many walking trails. This is a must-do for any overnight guest.

Room Tip: The rooms designed for handicapped guests are spacious and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layala10, Lodge Manager at Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you were able to squeeze us in amongst your travels across Colorado. It’s so nice to learn you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful trails here in Western Colorado. We sincerely hope you are able to plan another visit in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Loretta A. Ayala
Glenwood Hot Springs, Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our original plans called for only a few hours in Glenwood Springs, but as we read more about the town, and especially the hot springs, we extended our trip by a day to allow for extra time, including an overnight stay at Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge (“GHSL”). We were delighted with the decision to spend more time in Glenwood Springs and with our choice of accommodation.
There were two adults and one teenager in our party.

We arrived early in the afternoon (before check-in time, unfortunately our room was not ready, but the front desk kindly took our bags into a storage area so that we did not have to lug them around). Returning to the hotel later in the afternoon, check in was simple and the front desk staff were welcoming and polite, the room was well appointed and clean, and the room location was exactly where we had requested—on an upper floor facing the pools.

The unlimited passes to the pools for everyone in our party, towels at the pools, and breakfast that came with the room rate made GHSL a winner for us. There are many options for accommodation in Glenwood Springs, and many of them are cheaper than the rates here, however when you factor in the cost of the hot springs admission, towel rental, parking, and breakfast, staying at the Lodge can be a much more economical proposition than it may seem at first. The Lodge itself features a basic front desk area, not many common areas or features. The décor is tasteful but simple, and what art there is is themed around the Hot Springs or the town. There is ample parking in several lots, though there may be a short walk to and from one of the parking lots. Our room had a view of the pools across the street and mountains in the background.

The location is ideal, pretty much adjacent to the center of the historic town district, giving you walking access to several in-town attractions, shopping, and restaurants. Access to I-70 is also convenient, and within 2-3 miles there are several larger stores (e.g., Walmart, Safeway) if you need grocery or household items.

The room was a double queen, both size and décor were adequate for the lodge segment and for the rate, and it was clean and comfortable. Lighting in the room was ok but not great. The free wifi worked without a hitch. The refrigerator and microwave were convenient, respectively, for keeping drinks and perishables cold and heating popcorn and small food items. Our room included an iron and ironing board, but we did not use them during our stay. Towels and linens were clean and adequately supplied, and amenities are in line with what you'd expect in the price range (discounted for the pool passes)--primarily soaps and shampoo.

The free breakfast is served across the road in the café adjacent to the springs. In summer, this is fine. However, in winter, it could be a chilly walk to breakfast! The food choices were quite a bit better than what you’d find at the free breakfast offered by many of the national chains’ value segments. Breakfast included made-to-order omelets and pancakes, as well as several choices of breakfast cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Flavor was quite variable—the omelets were just ok, which some of the simpler items were better. Presentation was basic, which is fine given that it is free, but you wouldn’t want to pay to eat here. The breakfast buffet and dining area were clean but the décor felt a bit dated.

We were able to enjoy the springs on both days of our stay and found the water and overall experience very relaxing, especially after driving for much of the morning of the first day. That said, the hot springs are more commercial in scale and offer nothing like the service and atmosphere that you will find at a traditional Japanese onsen. However, for the U.S., this was a very nice and very relaxing experience. The locker room facilities are not deluxe, but they are spacious, well laid out, and fairly clean. Locker rental is 50 cents, so take some extra coins!

Checking out was just as simple as checking in, and again the service was polite and personable.

Disabled access is pretty good within the lodge itself, including the main entrance and the front desk as well as the elevators. There is covered disabled parking, but it is limited. Access to the some of the parking lots is via stairs, and the most direct pathway to the pools also includes several sets of stairs.

As above, there are cheaper properties in town, and if you just want basic accommodation, you can easily do better pricewise. You can also find places with more service and more deluxe accommodation. In fact, no single factor--value, service, design, food, etc.--is a category winner at GHSL. Rather, it is the whole experience, which for us turned out to be much greater than the sum of the parts and which made our stay so enjoyable. If you have at least a few hours to spend in the pools and can take advantage of the free breakfast, you may be able to unlock the value of the somewhat higher rate. The springs are the main attraction, so that will make--or break--the decision. In summary, you can find both cheaper and nicer properties, however what is offered is comfortable and convenient and hard to beat if a more relaxed time is your objective.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, despite that higher price, and each of us mentioned what a great time we had during our two days. We are already looking forward to our next trip, and plan to stay at the GHSL again.

Hope this helps. Good luck and safe travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mm_jpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crest Hill, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our room was very clean & nicely decorated, staff was very nice also. Lots of places to charge phones, cameras, computers...Nice big flat screen TV & refrigerator. There was a useful clothes drying rack on the balcony which was handy for drying bathing suits. They offer a very good breakfast, which was a very nice improvement! The gripes I have are: the mattress closest to the balcony was a bit saggy & not very comfortable to sleep on. I don't think the other mattress was as bad. The drapes were difficult to open & close as was the screen door since it was not on the track that it should have been sliding on. Followed the instructions for the room safe, but it did not work. So for those reasons I don't think it was quite worth what we paid. That being said we do love it there & yes we will go & stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanMary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I and two teenaged children stayed at the Glenwood Springs Resort on August 14 and 15. We had a room with two queen beds. It was decently appointed, but was quite cramped. There was no significant extra room between the between the beds the TV and desk. There was no place for our 4 carry on size wheelie bags. We were on top of each other. It was our smallest room during our two week trip and also our most expensive.

The service was mechanical, bureaucratic, and legalistic. I felt no sense of true hospitality. When we showed up at 3:10PM, I was immediately asked to fill out an almost full page multi-paragraph fine print legal document and asked to pay before being told I wouldn’t be assigned a room until 4 (apparently pursuant to a written policy). A buffet style breakfast including omelet’s cooked to order was included. It was pretty good, but not a deluxe breakfast. The problem was that on one of two mornings we had to wait almost a half hour just to get into the dining room and get seated. It is frustrating to stand in a long line when you have already paid for breakfast and thus do not realistically have the option of skipping the line and using one of the many nice looking breakfast places nearby instead.

The hot springs pool was great and not to be missed. You do not need to stay at the hotel to use it, however. It is almost a block long with mountain views on all sides and includes a sizable therapy pool at roughly 104 degrees F. Unfortunately, they tell you use of the pool is included in your hotel package, but did not bring home to us the variety of additional charges. It may well have been said somewhere. You may want to scour the materials for this information before booking. For instance, if you want bubbles in the therapy pool, you have to feed quarters into a machine. Use of the water slides is also extra, significantly extra.

For many, I would not recommend this hotel. There are nice looking hotels a couple of blocks down 6th. You can stay there and pay the daily fee of $17.75 to use the pool. For us the 4 daily admissions and the 4 breakfasts every day made staying here not as expensive as it might be to some others. Do your own calculations. For many, however, I think there may be better options. This place reminded me of mass market cruises or Disney World. It appeared to me to be strictly business. In my view, you should not expect the true hospitality you get in other parts of western Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CletusMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was the last leg of a long trip we took from Denver > Mount Rushmore > Yellowstone > Tetons. The staff was so nice and friendly. Our room with a King Size bed was so comfortable, we didn't want to leave. The hot spring is incredibly relaxing, though, there were a lot of kids splashing and playing in the cooler pool. The hot pool seemed to be more for adults, so we hung out in there most of the time. I'd totally recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was a corner room that faced the road. It was quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonGlisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layala10, Lodge Manager at Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
We are so delighted to have been a destination amongst your travels across our great western states. It’s especially nice to know you had such a relaxing stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your patronage.
Warmest Regards,
Loretta A. Ayala
Glenwood Hot Springs, Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#11 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge

Property: Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge
Address: 415 E 6th Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge completed a multi-million dollar renovation at the end of 2011, transforming 107 guestrooms into one of the top hotels in the Roaring Fork Valley. Enjoy the world's largest hot springs pool and Colorado's premier mineral springs resort. Guestroom rates include unlimited access to the hot springs pool and daily full hot breakfast. The lodge offers complimentary wi-fi internet access and secure gated parking. Our award winning Spa of the Rockies boasts a full service menu of facial and body treatments, massages, manicures and pedicures. The Poolside Grill, Athletic Club, and Sports Shop are additional amenities for our guests to enjoy. This history filled site was revered by the Ute Indians as a sacred place of healing. Today, guests from around the world visit Glenwood's favorite place for fun and healing! Come visit us at Colorado's premier mineral springs resort.This year, Glenwood Hot Springs celebrates 125 years! To mark this milestone occasion, the resort will be hosting a variety of events and activities throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hot Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hot Springs Lodge Glenwood Springs Co
Glenwood Springs Hot Springs
Hot Springs Lodge And Pool
Hot Springs Hotel And Pool
Hot Springs Pool Glenwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing