We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Clean Family Fun in a Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Pros: Staff, Quiet Rooms, Breakfast and Hot Springs Pool passes
The staff is top-notch. From the time of booking through the entire stay, they were very friendly and helpful. Checking our bike for secure storage was easy and fast.
Our room had a sliding glass door leading to a little grassy area. Even though it was a "walkout basement" type of area, it had a great garden-like view. It had great modern finishes and handy drying racks for swimwear. It was SO quiet that it seemed like we were the only family in the hotel!
The beds were great, with nice little reading lights built into the headboards. The linens were very inviting.
The pool was well-utilized, but being such a huge area, it did not feel crowded. The Sport Shop is convenient for last-minute items and has a great slection of swimwear and pool accessories.
Onsite parking was free and plentiful, with an access card to keep it limited to hotel guests only.

Cons: Reservation system, Fridge, Check-In
The online reservation system was a little confusing.I had to phone the hotel to complete my reservation.
Our mini fridge was not very cold and seemed a little unstable. An ice machine was located down the hall, so it was not a huge issue for us.
Check-in: 4PM seemed late for check-in. We arrived at 2pm, registered, and got pool passes, but had to wait in line again when we returned. An express check-in system would be appreciated.

Overall, it was a great stay in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: The "1st" floor is actually garden level (although the inside carpeted stairs are easy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoamingGnomette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a good hotel whether or not you plan to go to the hot springs pool in Glenwood. The rooms are good sized, clean and quiet. The breakfast is served down at the pool; this could be a bit of a walk in bad weather but in the summer it is a pleasant stroll. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge in Glenwood Springs, CO for one night in September. We stayed in a king room for $139. We had a small balcony overlooking a side street and the mountains. The room seemed clean and had nice furnishings. Our door locked did not work when we first arrived but maintenance fixed the door within 30 minutes. The maintenance guy was very friendly. After that everything worked fine. The flat screen TV was clear and a good size. Our king bed was very saggy on both sides. If I did not sleep in the middle, I would not sleep that night. Included in the price was entrance to the hot springs on the day of arrival and the next day. We enjoyed the pool for 2 hours on the first day. Breakfast was included in the price as well and it was fantastic. Breakfast was served at the hot spring pool and included omelets, hash browns, bacon, sausage, pan cakes, burritos, lots of fruit, homemade pastries, Irish oatmeal, milk, coffee, juices and lots more. It was very tasty. The lodge was run like a luxury hotel they just need to change out the mattress in my room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

First off a shout out/kudos to Ms Bailey who helped us this week. I had 2 reservations and Bailey helped fix that. She was so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor (Room 425) that looked out to the pool. The room - wonderful, beautifully decorated. A balcony with 2 wrought iron chairs and a little table And a fold up drying rack for your towels/swimsuits. Not only was there a sliding glass door to the balcony but also a screened door so you can keep the glass door opened if you want to. The beds were soooooo comfortable. Loved the room. Ample parking (3 different areas) however one is "covered parking" with only about 12 or 15 spots that were all taken but that ok...the weird thing with all of the parking areas...very little lighting so I would not have felt comfortable leaving my car in the covered parking anyhow. We parked across the street and could see our car from our room. You get a free breakfast every morning over at the pool in the Grill. Yummy food....scrambled eggs with hashbrowns, pancakes, oatmeal, cereal, scones and pastries. Everyone was very friendly at the Lodge and always willing to answer questions. Besides free breakfasts you also get free passes to the pool which we were in Glenwood for. We have already made our next reservation for October...cant wait!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the pool which is nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawaii888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The one night we spent at Glenwood Hot Springs was squeezed in between two nights in Manitou Springs and 2 nights in Vail. I had made the reservations the night before and requested a quiet room at the end of the hallway. My request was honored and we had a spacious room designed for handicapped guests. I only spent my limited time in the 104 degree pool. The view from the pool of the mountains was spectacular. The next morning we walked a block up the street which led us to a well-maintained trail over the highway and along the Colorado River. The walk was one of the most beautiful paths I have travelled...and I've been on many walking trails. This is a must-do for any overnight guest.

Room Tip: The rooms designed for handicapped guests are spacious and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
layala10, Lodge Manager at Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of our property on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you were able to squeeze us in amongst your travels across Colorado. It’s so nice to learn you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful trails here in Western Colorado. We sincerely hope you are able to plan another visit in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Loretta A. Ayala
Glenwood Hot Springs, Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our original plans called for only a few hours in Glenwood Springs, but as we read more about the town, and especially the hot springs, we extended our trip by a day to allow for extra time, including an overnight stay at Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge (“GHSL”). We were delighted with the decision to spend more time in Glenwood Springs and with our choice of accommodation.
There were two adults and one teenager in our party.

We arrived early in the afternoon (before check-in time, unfortunately our room was not ready, but the front desk kindly took our bags into a storage area so that we did not have to lug them around). Returning to the hotel later in the afternoon, check in was simple and the front desk staff were welcoming and polite, the room was well appointed and clean, and the room location was exactly where we had requested—on an upper floor facing the pools.

The unlimited passes to the pools for everyone in our party, towels at the pools, and breakfast that came with the room rate made GHSL a winner for us. There are many options for accommodation in Glenwood Springs, and many of them are cheaper than the rates here, however when you factor in the cost of the hot springs admission, towel rental, parking, and breakfast, staying at the Lodge can be a much more economical proposition than it may seem at first. The Lodge itself features a basic front desk area, not many common areas or features. The décor is tasteful but simple, and what art there is is themed around the Hot Springs or the town. There is ample parking in several lots, though there may be a short walk to and from one of the parking lots. Our room had a view of the pools across the street and mountains in the background.

The location is ideal, pretty much adjacent to the center of the historic town district, giving you walking access to several in-town attractions, shopping, and restaurants. Access to I-70 is also convenient, and within 2-3 miles there are several larger stores (e.g., Walmart, Safeway) if you need grocery or household items.

The room was a double queen, both size and décor were adequate for the lodge segment and for the rate, and it was clean and comfortable. Lighting in the room was ok but not great. The free wifi worked without a hitch. The refrigerator and microwave were convenient, respectively, for keeping drinks and perishables cold and heating popcorn and small food items. Our room included an iron and ironing board, but we did not use them during our stay. Towels and linens were clean and adequately supplied, and amenities are in line with what you'd expect in the price range (discounted for the pool passes)--primarily soaps and shampoo.

The free breakfast is served across the road in the café adjacent to the springs. In summer, this is fine. However, in winter, it could be a chilly walk to breakfast! The food choices were quite a bit better than what you’d find at the free breakfast offered by many of the national chains’ value segments. Breakfast included made-to-order omelets and pancakes, as well as several choices of breakfast cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Flavor was quite variable—the omelets were just ok, which some of the simpler items were better. Presentation was basic, which is fine given that it is free, but you wouldn’t want to pay to eat here. The breakfast buffet and dining area were clean but the décor felt a bit dated.

We were able to enjoy the springs on both days of our stay and found the water and overall experience very relaxing, especially after driving for much of the morning of the first day. That said, the hot springs are more commercial in scale and offer nothing like the service and atmosphere that you will find at a traditional Japanese onsen. However, for the U.S., this was a very nice and very relaxing experience. The locker room facilities are not deluxe, but they are spacious, well laid out, and fairly clean. Locker rental is 50 cents, so take some extra coins!

Checking out was just as simple as checking in, and again the service was polite and personable.

Disabled access is pretty good within the lodge itself, including the main entrance and the front desk as well as the elevators. There is covered disabled parking, but it is limited. Access to the some of the parking lots is via stairs, and the most direct pathway to the pools also includes several sets of stairs.

As above, there are cheaper properties in town, and if you just want basic accommodation, you can easily do better pricewise. You can also find places with more service and more deluxe accommodation. In fact, no single factor--value, service, design, food, etc.--is a category winner at GHSL. Rather, it is the whole experience, which for us turned out to be much greater than the sum of the parts and which made our stay so enjoyable. If you have at least a few hours to spend in the pools and can take advantage of the free breakfast, you may be able to unlock the value of the somewhat higher rate. The springs are the main attraction, so that will make--or break--the decision. In summary, you can find both cheaper and nicer properties, however what is offered is comfortable and convenient and hard to beat if a more relaxed time is your objective.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, despite that higher price, and each of us mentioned what a great time we had during our two days. We are already looking forward to our next trip, and plan to stay at the GHSL again.

Hope this helps. Good luck and safe travels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mm_jpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our room was very clean & nicely decorated, staff was very nice also. Lots of places to charge phones, cameras, computers...Nice big flat screen TV & refrigerator. There was a useful clothes drying rack on the balcony which was handy for drying bathing suits. They offer a very good breakfast, which was a very nice improvement! The gripes I have are: the mattress closest to the balcony was a bit saggy & not very comfortable to sleep on. I don't think the other mattress was as bad. The drapes were difficult to open & close as was the screen door since it was not on the track that it should have been sliding on. Followed the instructions for the room safe, but it did not work. So for those reasons I don't think it was quite worth what we paid. That being said we do love it there & yes we will go & stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanMary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
723 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge

Address: 415 E 6th Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £121 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge completed a multi-million dollar renovation at the end of 2011, transforming 107 guestrooms into one of the top hotels in the Roaring Fork Valley. Enjoy the world's largest hot springs pool and Colorado's premier mineral springs resort. Guestroom rates include unlimited access to the hot springs pool and daily full hot breakfast. The lodge offers complimentary wi-fi internet access and secure gated parking. Our award winning Spa of the Rockies boasts a full service menu of facial and body treatments, massages, manicures and pedicures. The Poolside Grill, Athletic Club, and Sports Shop are additional amenities for our guests to enjoy. This history filled site was revered by the Ute Indians as a sacred place of healing. Today, guests from around the world visit Glenwood's favorite place for fun and healing! Come visit us at Colorado's premier mineral springs resort.This year, Glenwood Hot Springs celebrates 125 years! To mark this milestone occasion, the resort will be hosting a variety of events and activities throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hot Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Hot Springs
Hot Springs Lodge Glenwood Springs Co
Hot Springs Lodge And Pool
Hot Springs Hotel And Pool
Hot Springs Pool Glenwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing