We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Place to Stay”
Review of Plaza Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Inn Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 21 October 2008

My husband and I went up on our 25th anniversary by train. We had to contact the hotel and there was a little wait for their shuttle. We got to the hotel which is in an older section of town, so the Ramada is not going to be brand new. The desk clerks were very nice and had us checked in quite fast. The lobby is nice, has a great fireplace to just sit back and enjoy. The room we had was large. It had a king size bed, a desk, dresser, tv and a refrigerator. The A/C worked, but would not freeze you out. The room did have a slight stale smell but once the a/c was turned on, it removed the smell. The location is probably the best thing about the hotel. It is a short walk to the Hot Springs Pool and restaurants. We ate at the Village Inn, never again, found hair in the food. We also had dinner at Dos Hombres, very good and Juicy Lucys, very good, but pricey. We got our room on price line for 80.00, so I do think we got what we paid for, compared to the prices of hotel rooms up there. I was okay with everything and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GypseRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

952 - 958 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

I would like to recommend the Ramada Inn in Glenwood Springs, Co. as an excellant place to stay. Their staff gives the BEST customer service! Each and every one that I had contact with was outstanding, and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. In this day and age, we well know that far too often, customer service is put on the back burner. Not with this staff. They are an excellant example of how to take care of the customer and have them want to come back. And I will, as well as recommend them to my friends who might be visiting the beautiful town of Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bOOkem59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Room smelled stale (possibly used as a room for smokers, before). It was in disrepair in the bathroom. (toilet and shower).
There was a small cockroach on the sink area, coming out of the crack on the side, then going back in it. The neighbor (in the next room was very noisy-slamming the door constantly). There was a person in the hotel with a small, very yippy (barking) dog. A child staying there ran up and down the hallways quite a lot. I (we) wouldn't stay here again--also, the breakfast was not continental or free. The breakfast waitress was in a really bad mood and was impatient with us when we ordered, giving us bad service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sweetpealt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2007

This unfortunate Ramada suffers from 1 great defect - no attention to detail. A partial list follows:
1) While other hotels whisked their guests away from the train upon arrival, Ramada guests waited 15 minues.
2) The room smelled - maybe because of the fireplace, but it was ugly.
3) An interior door was badly, obviously broken.
4) One of the sink faucets was loose.
5) The drain in the bathtub couldn't be closed for a bath.
6) The breakfast service was glacial. The wait staff acted like they had never seen the inside of a restaurant before. Coffee came 20 min after sitting in two consecutive mornings. Food was mediocre.
7) The elevators were incredibly slow.

And on and on and on. Poor value for money.

The upside? Wireless worked well (probably outsourced).

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EugeneBurdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2007

The Ramada Inn, Glenwood Springs is near, I-70, convenient to restaurants and quiet. The staff was super nice. The room was clean, provided wireless internet, a refrigerator, microwave and is dog friendly (with a $10 fee.) We asked for a non-smoking room and it was provided. However, it reeks of cigarette smoke. If you are allergic, this can be an issue. This is not the staff issue, just the facility.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HueyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights after taking the California Zephyr up from Denver. Read the reviews and was a bit worried but everything turned out okay. Courteous staff, comfortable rooms - we had 2 rooms with an inner adjoining door - and decent food. The Mexican place next door has great margaritas!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This place is in disrepair. New management is needed badly ! Our room had mouldy caulking around the faucets. The hot water tap came on cold and vice-versa....our three-year-old almost burned herself due to this. The air was stale, the carpets were buckling, the pool looked cheesy and the staff seem demoralized as well. Free breakfast ? - NOT !
To top things off, we paid 100 bucks for this dump. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank westyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Spr...
#17 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Spruce Motel
Silver Spruce Motel
#19 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenwood Springs Inn
Glenwood Springs Inn
#15 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn Hotel

Address: 124 W 6th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2912 (Formerly Ramada Glenwood Springs)
Region: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Blocks to historic downtown Glenwood Springs and on-site restaurant. Your mountain getaway begins at our Ramada Inn and Suites. Our pet-friendly Glenwood Springs hotel near Aspen is nestled in the foothills of the Rockies off Interstate 70 with easy access to the Denver area. Relax in rustic comfort in your hotel room or stretch out in one of our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Ramada
Ramada Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing