We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Canyon State Park

Golden Gate Canyon State Park
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area is particularly good for snowshoers.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The weather was cold and windy when we visited the park while on a drive around Colorado to see fall colors .. however, it was absolutely beautiful.
The welcome center is full of things to explore and the fish pond was a hit with my kids. We drove around the perimeter on Mountain Base Road and stumbled upon one of the most beautiful overlooks we've found so far.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    54
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful and accessible park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lots of miles of hiking trails, both easy and intermediate. A nice visitor center that features both nature and history. And not far from a very fun town in Golden, which features four craft breweries and several good restaurants.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice campground.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were in G.G.C.S.P just a week ago. We were greeted by a volunteer at the Reverend's Ridge Visitor Center who was very knowledgeable about the area; what to see, where to go, the best times to go there, etc. We drove 1 day to Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park. This is quite a tiresome drive as you are going along mountain roads, so may not be the best place to use as a base to the National park. The campground was only 1/4-1/3 full during the week. Weekends get very full. There are nice hiking trails-challenging for those of us who don't live at those elevations! Spacious sites, tent pads, bathroom/shower/dish-washing/laundry building. Showers are $1.00, in quarters, for 4 min.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pmhb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Burro Loop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This 4.5 mile hike is a good workout if done clockwise, but you want to go early in the day during the summer before it gets too warm. I highly recommend a hiking stick for the steep sections. It's one of those uphill both ways kinds of trails, but goes through a variety of eco zones. There is an optional 1.4 mile round trip side trail to Windy Peak.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hulanaturediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful park with lots to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We've never camped at this state park, but we've been here dozens of times hiking and really love it. The hiking is all challenging, there really aren't any easy trails, I would rate most moderate to difficult for your average hiker. The fall is the prettiest time of year; the park is full of aspens and turns gold in September and October; Frasier Meadow is the classic fall hike, but you'll have trouble parking at the trailhead on a weekend.

We usually take our dog here in summer, because a lot of parks don't have water for our dog to cool off; Golden Gate Canyon has plenty, in addition to fishing ponds and rivers, the three best places with water to take your dog are: campgrounds near the rock quarry, the Forgotten Valley, and Dudes Fishing Hole. There are hikes to backcountry shelters where you can sit and have lunch. The trails go through beautiful remote forests, and you may not see anyone else for hours if you're there on a weekday.

The main visitor center has an awesome pond with big fish, for a quarter you can buy food and watch them all come for a treat. And we don't fish but it seems really popular, there are a number of stocked ponds. A nice drive through the park will take you through picnic areas, check with the ranger station to see if there's a fire ban (if not, there are grills if you like that kind of thing).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoPetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Golden Gate Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing