We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silk Pincushion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
22
13
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
13
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housebed and breakfastb blavender roomwonderful hostswithin walking distancequeen bedfresh fruitdennisdollsdowntownaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed by myself in the Green Room for 3 nights. The location is great and Judy and Dennis are incredibly warm and welcoming. The highlight for my stay at the Silk Pincushion was breakfast every morning with Judy, Dennis and the other B & B guests. Judy is a fantastic cook making something new most mornings.....gingerbread pancakes, sausage & cheddar mini biscuits, fresh berries, scrambled eggs with homemade potatoes with ham. Great food and great conversation around the table every morning. I would happily stay here again. Beats a hotel any day.

Room Tip: The Green room does not face the main street, so it seemed to be a bit quieter if noise from passing cars in the morning is an issue.
Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay tremendously. The proprietors are warm wonderful people, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the delicious breakfast each morning. It is in walking distance to most everything in Golden. We would highly recommend this gem to anyone looking for a bed and breakfast in this area

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The host and hostess are wonderful at this B&B and provide great Victorian style rooms with modern bathrooms. The setting in Golden makes for an easy walk, just a few short blocks, to restaurants, bistros, coffee shops, the town's art and history museums. There were many annual and monthly events to attend in Golden--Buffalo Bill Days, live bands, car shows, and more-- during my three week stay. The hostess and host, Judy and Dennis, provide early morning coffee, delicious breakfast, and insider tips on what to do without being overbearing or biased in their advice. Beautiful spot that I'll return to when visiting family in Golden.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Lavender and Green rooms and both are nicely furnished with very comfortable beds and private baths. The former is a tad bit bigger and my first choice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Silk Pincushion has 3 smallish rooms, nicely appointed with great attention to detail. Our room was very clean and we appreciated that the windows opened to enjoy the night air. Unfortunately, the streets were a bit noisy our nights due to the holiday weekend. There is a sweet, funny cat that roams downstairs but is not allowed in the rooms. WiFi is available but service is spotty. Judy and Dennis are friendly and accommodating. Judy has an embroidery studio next door and offers classes if you are interested. All in all, quite nice.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

A real family atmosphere prevails at this cozy, clean, comfortable B & B a couple blocks off the main drag in lovely Golden, Colorado. It's nicely furnished with antiques, decorated with family photos and run like a well-oiled machine by a native Goldenite. It's small enough that all the guests can get to know each other around a big dining table. When we were there the breakfast fare included loads of seasonal fruit, a delicious frittata, and biscuits with cooked Granny Smith apples. The Pincushion is nicely separated from the busier part of old-town Golden, but is within an easy walk of a big Safeway grocery store and a decent walk of the Colorado School of Mines.
We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noriboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews