We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Decision ”

Sassafras American Eatery
Ranked #23 of 168 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Description: Full Service Breakfast and Lunch Restaurant. Specializing in from Scratch Southern cooking. We offer amazing Milkshakes, Mimosas and Bloody Mary's. Come on in and see us. Welcome Home!
Restaurant details
Description: Full Service Breakfast and Lunch Restaurant. Specializing in from Scratch Southern cooking. We offer amazing Milkshakes, Mimosas and Bloody Mary's. Come on in and see us. Welcome Home!
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We were going to pop in and check out the shoppe out front. Spoke with one of the nicest people who was giving us tips on when to come by for brunch and took us for a tour of the dining room. Ended up loving the patio so we decided to hang out for a drink and snack. The food was just amazing. Make sure you get the boudin balls! The shoppe had all different flavors and the same gentlemen let us sample all the different flavors and gave us recipe tips. All around the best places we have stopped so far in Golden. We didn't catch the gentleman's name but he made the whole experience at Sassafras. Food and drinks were all just delicious, makes me miss Louisiana.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Sassafras American Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you so much for leaving us the excellent review! We will see you again soon, I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Huge portions! The beignets are fantastic. Order the deep fried eggs with buffalo hash! So yummy. One entree for two is plenty especially if you want beignets too

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank csrockclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Sassafras American Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank yo so much, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

I.Love.Breakfast.
With very little breakfast options in Golden, we tried Sassafras. Their breakfast menu is a combined with lunch which we found a little strange. The French toast and biscuits with gravy were very average. The eggs were very buttery. The coffee is a dark roast so be prepared if you prefer medium.
I would dare to try Sassafras for lunch on a return visit, but I will skip it as a breakfast option.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank pcarlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We did the quick order in the cafe/store beside the restaurant. The staff there was super friendly, especially to my little girls, and let them explore all the items in the store that you could buy. Then the steaming hot beignets came out.. THESE WERE FREAKIN DELICIOUS! I ordered 2 orders and so glad I did! Even tho they were freakin' hot, these were heaven! Can't wait to try the restaurant next door!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greekipina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia G, Owner at Sassafras American Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We can't wait for you to try the restaurant either! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Got there about 9:30 on a Saturday morning & had about a 30 minute wait. Well worth it though. The deep South Benedict with spinach & pulled pork along with jalapeno cornbread was awesome. My wife had the Eggs Sardou (poached) with grits, creamed spinach topped with Cajun cheese sauce. Had some mimosas (orange, cranberry & grapefruit) the menage a trois mix was really good.
Suggest going early & go hungry. Great southern/Cajun menu!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sassafras American Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Sassafras American Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing