We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a great price”
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
Ranked #105 of 151 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have been going here for many years and I have never been disappointed. I am looking forward to going after the remodel is complete. The service is fast, the prices great and the food very good. I always get the same thing, I should venture out and try something different sometime!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, too. Don't be deterred by the remodel!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The map has been corrected here on tripadvisor, which is good.

We took family from Ohio here for breakfast. Great breakfast, very inexpensive. Coffee is a little on the not great side, but OJ is good. Our favorite is the vegetarian skillet smothered in hot green chile. Fantastic breakfast!

Don't be deterred by the remodel - it is separate from the rest of the eatery.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Tex/Mex food reasonable price,w/always good friendly service.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Old Golden Rd. has a good Mex/Tex flavor Restaurant to please the palette.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiningoutChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Best (and least expensive) mexican food in the Golden area.”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

As of 8.9.11, this is shown incorrectly on the map as being near the railroad museum. It is not - it is on South Golden Road, east of King Soopers by about .5 mile. We have been going here for 5 or so years since they did the remodel (and before they did the remodel on La Carreta #1, which is now El Dorado, also shown incorrectly on the map). We still really enjoy going, and enjoy their food. Take out is a nice option as well. We think their crispy Colorado style rellenos are fantastic, as well as their cheese enchiladas (we think the cheese version is better than the chicken or beef). We also think they have the best Colorado style (with pork) green chile in Denver Metro - better even than Santiagos and Brewery Bar. Their house margaritas aren't the best, but all of the food is good. We also really enjoy the fish tacos - made with seared catfish. For this visit, we went with my mother in law. We all enjoyed our meals, and the price is always right. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carreta also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing