We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nicely located...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hotel is nicely located...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

..but the restaurant is over priced -- the food is common, the service is sophomoric -- I felt like I was at a summer camp with trainee cooks and servers. Noisy, very little ambience, but ample prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieChiliBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    124
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
164
159
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Streamwood, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel is located in an excellent location and was exceptional in every way! The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room offered many additional amenities like a refrigerator, lighted makeup mirror and fluffy robes. It was very clean and we received exceptional service from the staff. We had an excellent view of the creek.
We ate dinner in the Bridgewater Grill and loved our meals. The service was fantastic too! Plenty of underground parking. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegoldenhotel, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It was our pleasure to deliver the exceptional service you deserve. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, stayed three nights. The staff was absolutely outstanding. Our room was quiet and large and location was excellent for walking around Golden, restaurants, etc. The bathroom was a little small though. We would definately stay here again and would recommend this hotel. Free wifi, free large parking lot and great cookies available.

Not a problem for us, but if you have a creekside room expect some noise during the day as lots of activity in the creek on the weekend, weather permitting of course. We experienced some noise in the hall late in the evening but staff immediately took care of the issue, and I do mean immediately! Oh yes, and a very quiet air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel overall is great. I was there the 1st week of August 2012. There were 14 people in my group. We had traveled on motorcycles from Indiana and Texas. The check in went smoothly. The rooms were great. But the best part was the bartender Danny. He knew we were on motorcycles and he recommended better roads to our destinations. He also recommended places to eat. He was friendly and great serving us at the bar. He alone would make us return to this hotel. But don't get me wrong, the hotel was great. We had dinner there one night and the food was excellent. Great location for walking to near by entertainment and resturants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had plans to do several things in the Golden area and selected The Golden Hotel for its location and atmosphere. It did not disappoint. The hotel is located in the downtown area of Golden within walking distance to great activities, shopping, and restaurants. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet with extremely comfortable beds. If we could redo the trip. we would spend more than just one night at The Golden Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timeout4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

So in July of 2012 we stopped here at 3am on our way in from Omaha after having no luck finding a room elsewhere and this this hotel did not have any rooms available but the place was gorgeous. Stunning and very well decorated in lobby. Did not see rooms as they were all booked. The woman at the front desk was so kind and called other local hotel for us to see if they had avail, which they did not so she gave us directions back towards Denver and some recommendations on exits to take etc to find a hotel for the remaniner of the early morning. Anyway this hotel was very very quiet and seemed to be a wonderful place to stay. Hope to have the opportunity to stay here when we return to the area , if for nothing else than the fabulous customer service to a non-guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dspeklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, a Doubletree in Denver, the Boulderado in Boulder, and the Golden in Golden. Of the four the Golden had the best service, best room, and best value. Also we really enjoyed the town. We were there for their First Fridays event. They created a festival atmosphere. While we were there we drove up Lookout Mtn., visited the Buffalo Bill museum, went gold mining outside Cenral City, had great pizza in Idaho Springs, went to Colorado railroad museum, and even was able to go to a Dale Chihully art glass exhibit....all during the two night part of our trip at the Golden in Golden. We will be back again. Nice Hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dhouse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Featuring over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space, an in-house restaurant and lounge with creekside dining, this solar powered hotel offers guest amenities such as five star bedding and plush robes, flat panel televisions with HD programing and complimentary high speed internet access. 12 miles west of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing