We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding, venue and service all were stellar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
“Wedding, venue and service all were stellar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great wedding and I just wanted to say hats off to the Golden Hotels staff. Everyone of them was attentive, sensitive to the guest and their special request, several stayed in rooms and raved about the stay. Oh and the food, wonderful and served so well from presentation to selection and taste!

I'd highly recommend them!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your amazing 5 star review of our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and had a “great wedding”. We are so honored you selected us as the location for your special day. We consider a recommendation one of the highest compliments we could receive, so again thank you very much. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our team members and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    124
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
164
159
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, right off of Washington Ave and walking distance to shops, local breweries and restaurants. The room we had was huge, like they combined two rooms into one. The large double sink area outside the tiny bathroom left little room for improvement. The two small changes that would make it better is to move the fixed soap/lotion dispenser between the two sinks and install a towel bar for each sink. The bathroom is tiny (like midtown New York City sized) so watch where you step.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chritty_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review; we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate guest feedback and take it into consideration as we are always striving to improve guest satisfaction. Thank you again, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

3 of us shared large suite for one night July 28 concert night. Nice large room with living room area. Beds were comfortable. We had end room- quiet. Hotel staff were friendly and gave tips for getting to Red Rocks Concert early for parking.
Only draw back- they knew 3people would be in room and we only had 2wash cloths- too late and last one in shower at midnight to get another! Maid made up sofa bed but springs were uncomfortable . We would stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screensave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the hotel as well as our team and our location. We are however, disappointed that there was an inconvenience with how many wash cloths were in the room. Our front desk staff is available 24 hours a day and are always more than willing to accommodate any additional items needed in your guest room.. We were also disappointed to learn that you found our sofa beds uncomfortable as they are brand new as of this year with the completion of our guest room renovations. We take all of our guest comments very seriously and will look into a way to make our brand new sleeper sofas more comfortable.


We hope that you would consider staying with us again if your future travels bring you back to the area or for another concert at Red Rocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We choose to stay in Golden because it was very close to the Ampitheater. We fell in love with the little town of Golden and especially with the Golden Hotel. Graciella at the front desk couldn't be more gracious! All of the front desk were courteous and gracious. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and made several excellent recommendations. The rooms were very clean, large and comfy and quiet! Love the view of the creek and all of the folks tubing on a hot day. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore and enjoy the Golden Hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of our property. We are absolutely thrilled your enjoyed stay. We appreciate your kind words; and it will be my absolute pleasure to share your comments with the entire team. Thank you again – we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We chose to stay here because it is close to Red Rocks Amphitheater and we needed somewhere to crash after the concert. We'll definitely return because the service is superb. We were greeted by two lovely desk attendants and a charming lobby with a wooden staircase and rock fireplace. Our room was decorated with a perfect combination of rustic mountain masculine and soft luxurious comfort. The view of the river and mountain was perfect. We had plenty of towels, and appreciated the toiletry dispersers and other environmentally conscious touches. The shower head was low, but the pressure was good. An in-room mini-fridge and microwave was an appropriate amenity I've come to expect at this class of hotel. The location is perfect to enjoy this charming mountain town. We will find a reason to return so that we can further enjoy this lovely location.

Room Tip: A view of the river or the butte is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeKB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your amazing review of our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, as we pride ourselves providing exceptional customer service and exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights on business. Would recommend. Only negative comment is that the rooms are a bit noisy - as if we had our window open - you could hear outside noise that loud and clear during the night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our location, service and the Bridgewater Grill. We appreciate you letting us know about the noise in your guest room, we will definitely look into it, and see how we can eliminate this from happening in the future. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We got married on June 28, 2014 at The Golden Hotel. Our reception took place in the Golden Vista room which is at the front facing Washington Street. It was BEAUTIFUL!!!! We are so happy we chose this location. Ashleigh did a fantastic job coordinating everything for us prior to the wedding and the day of. The room rental includes basic linen colors (we did a black/white wedding so it was all included), champagne toast, cake cutting, a dance floor, and a suit that evening. We actually checked-in at 3pm (between the ceremony and reception) so we had a place to hang out between the church ceremony, pictures, and before the reception began.

I made all the decorations for the tables and was able to drop them off the Tuesday before the wedding. I met with Ashleigh and described how I wanted things set up. She took notes they stored everything in their office. It was great to be able to drop it off early (one less thing to worry about). The day of the wedding, Ashleigh and the staff set everything up. They did a phenomenal job!!!! It was everything we wanted it to be and more. I am a control freak so it was difficult to let go of setting up the room. Ashleigh assured me it would be great and it was!!!! The room was absolutely beautiful. We did black table cloths and napkins, with white chair covers and black sashes. It was so elegant and everyone said what a great job they did setting it up. We were able to fit 7 tables of 10 tops, the bar, and the dance floor. We also did a candy bar in the back and that was also set up wonderfully.

Everyone's food came out timely and hot. We served Chicken Saltimbocca, Filet, and a vegetarian dish and every single person said their meal was fantastic. We also did open bar with well liquor, wine, and beer. For 60 people it was about $1500.00 and so worth it. The hotel staff accommodated all the children with special meals, and other guests that had special requests. They were all so friendly and the service was fantastic. I even had nervous/upset stomach at the beginning of the reception and Ashleigh did everything she could to make sure I felt okay. I really appreciated that. The staff communicated constantly throughout the evening. Dish changes (salad, to dinner, to cake) went very well. No one waited for their meals and everyone received what they ordered. They even accommodated allergies and special requests.

When we got up to our room that evening, the top tier to our cake, champagne, and some other small touches were waiting for us (compliments of the hotel). The suit was beautiful, quiet, and was included with the room rental. We went out in downtown Golden after the reception for a bit but it was so nice to walk back to the hotel (it was close so no drinking and driving). I also stayed there Friday evening and that room (two beds) was fantastic. I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice these rooms were.

Brad and I were so incredibly pleased with the service, communication, and pleasant experience from/at the Golden Hotel and with Ashleigh and the staff. We LOVED that we chose here for the reception. It was also great taking pictures in downtown Golden and along Clear Creek. It was worth every penny and we will definitely be returning.

Thank you Ashleigh and Golden Hotel staff!!! Fantastic job!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely. Rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini-fridges. There are also fresh bak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessrk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your amazing 5 star review of our property. We are positively thrilled you enjoyed your special day; it was our extreme pleasure to be a part of it. We couldn’t be happier to read your kind words; I will personally share them with our entire team, including Ashleigh. Again, thank you so much for selecting us for your wedding reception and congratulations! Looking forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401-1104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Featuring over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space, an in-house restaurant and lounge with creekside dining, this solar powered hotel offers guest amenities such as five star bedding and plush robes, flat panel televisions with HD programing and complimentary high speed internet access. 12 miles west of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing