We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay to avoid a DUI downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel has a somewhat industrial brick exterior. The front staff were exceptionally welcoming. The room is mediocre but provides the expected basics. The king bed was comfortable. My room overlooked a mountain river. The hotel builders failed to build terraces overlooking it to really enjoy it. There are multiple watering holes and restaurants nearby in this immaculate city. The locals sternly warn visitors about drinking and driving here. The hotel location makes it convenient to be safe and walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rb2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our property, it will be my extreme pleasure to share your comments with our amazing team members. I hope to welcome you back if your travels bring you back to beautiful Golden, Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed at the Golden Hotel several times and really liked it however this last stay we were a little disappointed. We felt they were not up to their usual standards we experienced in the past. Our room was not ready for us until about an hour after check-in time. When we ordered our breakfast they informed me when our food was being served that the waffle maker was broken so I had to order something else. They said if would be fixed by the next day but when we stayed there for one night at the end of our vacation over a week later it was still broken. On the weekends now they only offer a buffet breakfast which listed that they served french toast but they did not have any on the buffet. My niece was so disappointed as that is what she was looking forward to eating. When we asked if they could make it they said no.
I really hope that they can get back to the high standards we enjoyed so much on our previous visits. It really is a very nice hotel and a great place to stay when visiting Golden,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Diane68Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I would like to first take this opportunity to thank you for being a loyal guest to The Golden Hotel, we truly appreciate it. I am however, extremely disappointed that you experienced anything else than stellar service and what you’ve come to expect at our hotel. I have spoken to both our Executive Housekeeper as well as our Guest Relations Manager to insure that each guest room is ready promptly at check-in, as delivering excellence is extremely important to us and I sincerely apologize that we fell short. In regards to the Bridgewater Grill we will always do our best to accommodate guests need and it was unacceptable that the French toast was not available, made for your niece upon request or that the waffle iron was broken during the entire length of your stay. Again please except our sincerest apologies and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the excellent service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The super friendly and helpful front desk staff loaned me an umbrella so I could walk up to the CSM campus in the rain, gave me late check out and provided first aid supplies when I needed them. Listened to a great concert on the patio by the river and had some of the best friend green tomatoes I've ever had. I'll be back and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your five star review of our property, I am so pleased to know that our team provided excellent service to you as we constantly strive to exceed guest expectations. We consider a recommendation one of the highest compliments we could receive and we truly appreciate yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Golden Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Although advertised as non smoking, this is not enforced. Staff opinions about this policy vary so it depends who is on duty as to how well nonsmoking is enforced. Managers not on duty on the evenings when smoking occurs so no enforcement at this time.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are disappointed to know that you experienced an issue regarding our non-smoking policy, as we are a 100% non-smoking property. It is extremely important to us that this policy is being strictly enforced to all guests. Any guest who chooses to ignore this policy will be issued a smoking fee that will go towards the guest room being deep cleaned. This policy does not include our outdoor area, with the exception of our restaurant patio. We sincerely apologize that you experienced any sort of issue regarding smoke. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel if your travels find you in Golden, Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location is perfect for this hotel and the staff is wonderful. The room was large but the decor is rather dated and the bathroom rather small. This is our second stay here and we would definately come back. Highly recommend the restaurant as well. No charge for parking and the free wifi worked perfectly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the award-winning Golden Hotel, we are so pleased you selected to stay with us again. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities including our in-house restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Golden, Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is lovely. I was told that they had recently remodeled the rooms. We had a regular Double room that was not huge, but comfortable. The only thing we did not like about the room itself was the very small vanity/sink. Our room overlooked Washington Street and at times we could hear all the noise from the street. Get a room that overlooks the Bluffs or Clearwater creek, less noise.

We ordered Room Service for Breakfast one morning and it was wonderful! The lounge was great and the drinks were well made.

We were here for a wedding and reception which all went out without a hitch. The reception was a plated dinner with chicken or pork and it was fabulous. The wedding was held outside under the Pergola and it was as pretty as a postcard.

All the Staff; from the wedding planners, to the nice Gentleman that helped us with our luggage, were awesome. I highly recommend this venue to all the future Brides out there.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the Bluffs or Clearwater Creek, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hillbrook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed our property and that you found everything to be just perfect for the wedding. I will definitely share your comments with all our team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great wedding and I just wanted to say hats off to the Golden Hotels staff. Everyone of them was attentive, sensitive to the guest and their special request, several stayed in rooms and raved about the stay. Oh and the food, wonderful and served so well from presentation to selection and taste!

I'd highly recommend them!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review of our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and had a “great wedding”. We are so honored you selected us as the location for your special day. We consider a recommendation one of the highest compliments we could receive, so again thank you very much. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our team members and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,147 reviews
3.4 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#7 of 18 in Golden
409 reviews
14.8 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
38 reviews
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
Price Range: £116 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains and breathtaking Clear Creek. Just 12 miles west of Denver, The Golden Hotel offers guests with upscale amenities, superior service and an impressive list of green initiatives including two Tesla charging stations. The Golden Hotel features over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space as well as their popular in-house restaurant, the Bridgewater Grill with Creekside dining and a lively lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing