We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Nature Center”

Lookout Mountain Nature Center
Ranked #15 of 62 things to do in Golden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Connect with nature at this 110-acre park. Inside experience exhibits that depict migrating birds and reveal secrets of the ponderosa pine forest. Visit the Discovery Corner and Observation Room. Outside stroll trails winding through forest and meadow, picnic beneath towering pine trees or join a naturalist-guided program.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a very interesting and informative center about the nature around that area. It had very nice displays, and they were very realistic and educational. It was very clean and emphasized recycling and taking care of the earth. Nice quotes on the walls.

Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutMtnNC, Interpretive Media Specialist at Lookout Mountain Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for visiting us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time spent inside of our exhibit hall. We hope you visit us again soon. There are great trails near the visitor center that also focus on sustainability including our natural environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is nice and 'personal'....the whole area is pleasant, the Nature Center is green (interesting to learn about), and the exhibits are nice and informative. Not a huge place, but found the whole area 'restful'. Check out the wildlife photos from their tree-cam.

Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutMtnNC, Interpretive Media Specialist at Lookout Mountain Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for visiting us at Lookout Mountain Nature Center. We're glad you enjoyed your time as you visited our exhibits and beautiful outdoors. We're very proud of our "green" nature center with its incorporation of many local, reused, recycled, low-impact, and healthier materials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was neat to be with someone who could tell us about the town below, but no breath taking sights like I expected.

Thank Kaitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutMountainNC, Interpretive Media Specialist at Lookout Mountain Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your visit to Lookout Mountain Nature Center. We're glad one of our visitor center volunteers or staff was able to discuss our beautiful surroundings with you. Some days lend themselves to the views better than others. We also recommend visiting the Buffalo Bill Museum & Grave, near Lookout Mountain Nature Center.

The Museum Observation Deck offers unparalleled views of the Rocky Mountain Front Range and the Great Plains. This area is open to the public free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I loved the photos displayed on a big screen television near the entrance. These were taken using a motion sensor camera, and they featured mountain lions, elk, mule deer, fox, coyote, etc.
They also had displays of mountain lion feet and other useful information about the wildlife and terrain.
I hiked the Lookout Mountain trail and enjoyed it!

Thank Ohio_traveler_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutMountainNC, Interpretive Media Specialist at Lookout Mountain Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your visit and your review of Lookout Mountain Nature Center. Next time you're in the area, we recommend attending one of our free, public programs. Sometimes they are offered right at Lookout Mountain Nature Center while others are offered at Jefferson County Open Space Parks. Wildlife tends to be a very popular topic for these programs. All ages are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Took my Dad here to show him around since I had been there before. we loved the display of the animals in the area and the video monitor showing the wildlife in the area coaught on the wildlife cameras set up.

1  Thank armychick1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookoutMountainNC, Customer Service Representative at Lookout Mountain Nature Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lookout Mountain Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing