We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity in the Foothills”

Mother Cabrini Shrine
Ranked #9 of 56 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Serenity in the Foothills”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I am not a Christian but visited the Shrine out of a sense of attraction. The somewhat European look got me interested. The place was very quiet and serene. There was an unmistakable sense of peace. I felt better afterwards. I visit the place periodically.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfaGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special place and wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I wish i had more time but it was getting late so I couldn't really take in the entire setting. The chapel and shrine closes at 5 PM so be sure to allow enough time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“See What its About”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

You see the statue from 70, worth going and seeing what it's all about. Good history and especially significant if you are Catholic, light a candle, visit the grotto, experience the Holy Water and it's story, and if not Catholic, you might just appreciate the history and the spirituality.

Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exhilerating”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A wonderful memorial to Mother Cabrini. The highlight is a hike up to the statue of Jesus, which includes inscriptions of the "stations of the cross" along the way.

Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Holy Land near the city!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Is a historical holy place - very peaceful - views of the city. Small chapel. Since I go there often it is rather hard to describe because it offers one peace that perhaps was more than one expected.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thalver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mother Cabrini Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing