We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Elizabeth and company do a great job. The breakfasts were excellent and we're very knowledgeable about gluten allergies. Room was very clean and comfortable. Had a great stay and will definitely return. Close proximity to red rocks amphitheater and numerous restaurants is also a huge plus.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and were looking for a town to stay in that was close to Red Rocks and Golden fit the bill. While I don't necessarily recommend this for concerts (more on that later) we were SO GLAD we stayed at the Dove Inn.

First off Elizabeth is extremely nice/friendly/just a good soul. As we were checking in I realized I needed to move my rental car and she mentioned a spot in front of the house. Well it was gone by the time I got to it, and when I parked a block over she literaly flagged me down to come park closer and even moved a trash can out of the road to make room. I know not a big deal but just an example of the friendliness.

The Inn itself is an old house (maybe victorian?) and we stayed in the Shakespeare room, which had a separate entrance (that turned out to be nice for coming home late from the concert) and private bathroom. It also gave us a little more privacy. We never went upstairs to see the rooms, but I have to imagine a small hallway with 4 or 5 rooms. The common areas were nicely decorated with a big map that had pins of everywhere someone had been (Elizabeth mentioned she WISHES it was her travels...haha). There was fresh cold water, icemaker, cappucino-type machine, and keurig. Also freshly baked cookies and fruit.

Breakfast in the morning was fresh fruit, chicken-apple sausage, and an amazing asparagus/gruyre quiche. I don't say amazing about quiches much, if ever, but this was so good we asked for the recipe afterwards, which Elizabeth quickly obliged. We had planned to go to Higher Grounds coffee spot, but the coffee was fresh and very good here so we didn't need to.

The town of Golden was having a "First Friday" festival where they closed down a couple blocks and had street vendors and lots of food and beer. We hung out there until our concert and it was fun. Looking around Golden provides lots of unique scenery (I think they call it table top mountains?). Makes you feel very secluded and peaceful.

The bad part (which has NOTHING to do with the inn). After an Uber debacle, we ordered a cab and it took almost 90 minutes to get there. Now I get it was a Friday and the call was placed around 6pm, but I feel like it would've been better to plan one of those group vans from Boulder or maybe downtown Denver. Also after the show a couple cabs wouldn't take us back and said they were going to Downtown Denver only. Oh well, we made it on time and managed to catch a first run of cabs back, so live and learn.

Without question we would stay here again. Its convenient to several spots around the Denver Area, and obviously you're getting a great innkeeper to make sure everything runs smoothly.

Room Tip: Shakespeare Room has private entrance, which is nice when coming home late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BareTruth0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

While we've always had great vacations in Colorado, staying at the Dove Inn in Golden adds another dimension. This was our second stay, and fully as enjoyable as our first. The inn itself is unique, but all the special touches provided by Elizabeth make us feel right at home. Golden itself is a very walkable town, with a surprising number of attractions for its size, and it's always convenient to the variety of attractions on Colorado's Front Range. Comfortable sleeping in the cool Colorado nights and waking up to the tasty and varied breakfasts are only two of the many attractions of the Dove Inn. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor "Clear Creek" room for its access to the porch and spacious liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rico567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Dove Inn was fantastic. It is very clean and attractive inside and out. Beautiful flowers line the sidewalks. Our room was great, and the group room was very nice, with places to sit down and read, and/or to drink coffee/eat cookies. Elizabeth has a coffee machine in the group room which almost instantly will serve you one of about 5 or 6 beverages (coffee, tea, hot chocolate). There were fresh baked cookies every day. Elizabeth if VERY friendly and helpful. She helped us find a place in town to eat, and gave us excellent ideas of things to do around Golden. We followed her advice and had a wonderful time there. She is available by phone most, if not all of the time, and helped us with questions and concerns. The meals were tremendous and DELICIOUS. It is a WONDERFUL place to stay. I will definitely stay there again when in the Denver area.

Room Tip: The Columbine room is very small; good if you want to save money. The bathroom is VERY small there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great place to stay in Golden. We stayed over Memorial Day weekend. Elizabeth was a wonderful hostess. We stayed in the Parisian Suite. The bed was comfortable. There were several windows in the room. The room faced the street, but it was not noisy at all. Breakfast was quite tasteful. One morning we had quiche and the other morning was blueberry french toast bakem which was fabulous.

The property is within walking distance of downtown Golden shops and restaurants. It is also within walking distance to Coors Brewery. There is easy access to I-70, Highway 6 and 93.

We looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjgf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Dove Inn. Elizabeth is extremely hospital and you can tell she enjoys what she does and making a stay enjoyable. Breakfast on both days was delicious, generous portions and high quality. Red Rock room was the right size and price. Extremely close to downtown Golden shops, bars, and restaurants. Also within walking distance of Coors Brewery. Thank you for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for a night and we wished we could have stayed longer after seeing it. The house was beautiful, Elizabeth the owner gave us a little tour of the common areas, pointed out things we could use and showed us to our room. She also gave us some history of Golden and told us about local museums and sites we should see. There was a community fridge you could store leftovers in, baked cookies sitting out, snacks and filtered water you could fill up your water bottles with. There were also lots of magazines and movies you could borrow. We stayed in the Serenity suite which was gorgeous. It was very spacious with a king bed, wardrobe, couch and electric fireplace. The room was very clean and even had a little journal you could leave a note in. There were lots of windows you could enjoy the fresh mountain air, there was also a ceiling fan and a small floor fan to drown out noise. The jetted tub was amazing, the water wasn't super hot and bath salts were provided. It also had a separate shower that had an adjustable shower head with shampoo and body wash dispensers. There were also reusable water bottles in the room we could take with us. The bed had a memory foam pad on top of it, which was super soft and comfy. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic! It was creme brulee stuffed french toast with real whipped cream, raspberries and strawberries on top. It was about the best breakfast I've ever had; we almost skipped it so we could sleep in, but it was outstanding. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
0.2 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.2 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#6 of 18 in Golden
406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 711 14th St, Golden, CO 80401-1906
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range: £87 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Golden, Colorado, the Dove Inn Bed & Breakfast is walking distance to the Colorado School of Mines, the Coors Tour, and all the shops, restaurants, museums, and attractions in the downtown area. A hearty breakfast, comfortable guest rooms, and friendly hospitality await you here. Free Wi-Fi, cable TV, DVD players. All rooms have private baths. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing