We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inns still consistently great for value & comfort & friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hampton Inns still consistently great for value & comfort & friendliness”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This trip was with my college-bound teenage son. We were attending an all-day event at the Colorado School of Mines. Arrived to a very attentive and friendly young man at the front desk. Fresh coffee & fruit (apples) available all day - fresh baked cookies during our evening walk through the lobby. Hotel is nothing to look at from the outside and situated a couple of miles from the center/downtown Golden. Inside, hotel is clean, comfortable and a great value for the money. Furniture in room was all new.

I travel a lot for business and quite frankly, dollar for dollar -- the Hampton Inn chain is the most consistently good experience in terms of hotel stays. I have stayed in good Westin hotels and bad Westin hotels, excellent Four Season's and poor Four Season's hotels, good Hyatt's and bad Hyatt hotels -- I have never stayed in a bad Hampton Inn -- this year alone, Denver, Golden, Sarasota, FL, and North Platte Nebraska.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaynewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Golden. We really strive to make your stay here as if you were in our home and glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We thoroughly enjoy baking fresh cookies for our guest at night. Everyone loves the smell of fresh baked cookies as they walk in from a long day.

With all your travel we know you have several options, so we thank you for staying with us and hope to continue to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    204
    87
    44
    24
See reviews for
260
164
32
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

From check-in to check-out, the staff members seemed to sincerely care about our comfort. Our rooms were not cleaned on a holiday and we were not charged for that day. I've had my hotel rooms overlooked by the cleaning staff at other hotels but I've NEVER been compensated so generously -- the most I've ever received was a halfhearted 'Sorry.' The exercise room was the best I've seen and the breakfast was outstanding as well. Thank you for a super stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for your response. We are glad that you really enjoyed your service and want to again apologize for the oversight in not cleaning your room. It was the holiday and we had given the staff the day off to be with their family but forgot to inform you of that. Due to our oversight that is why we made sure you were completely satisified and did not make you pay for your room.

We strive to achieve the greatest customer service and we appreciate that you notice how the staff makes sure to make you feel as part of our family. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We have stayed in several hotel/motels in the Golden and Denver area over the last few months and this was the best! Service was fantastic, rooms were very nice, quiet location, not the greatest for walking to dinner options, but overall....fantastic and well worth the cost. They also had a wonderful continental breakfast...not the usual junk, but real fruit, homemade omelets, the works.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorcyclemama400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Dear traveler from Montrose,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn/ Golden for your lodging needs. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with the staff. Providing excellent service and a clean, comfortable room is our goal. I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Solid Hampton Inn, have stayed here a few times with no issues. Quiet enough to sleep with the window open which is a welcome change.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Dear traveler from Manhattan Beach,

Thank you for the positive rating and feedback. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed consistent good service for multiple stays! Our goal is to make sure that you leave 100% satisfied. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is a nice hotel close to I-70. Clean, quiet, comfortable. My teenage son forgot his cell phone charger in the room. We did not realize this until the next day. When we called the hotel, not only had they found and saved it, they were going to FedEX it to our home address. Obviously, excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Dear family with teenagers,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. I will share your positive feedback with the team. You would be surprised at how many guests leave their cell phones behind; we keep the shipping companies in business! We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

First of all, this Hampton Inn is not in the town of Golden, but about 2 miles outside in an outdoor mall. It's a strange location- it shares a parking lot with Home Depot, Kohl's, Petco and a few other businesses. The interior of the hotel is very nice and the rooms are updated, with comfortable bed, couch, and large desk. It's true that the bathrooms are constructed in an awkward way. The door is massive and you literally have to stand back next to the toilet to close it once you are in the bathroom. not a deal breaker for me, but something to note.
One thing that we noticed is that the walls and ceilings are VERY thin. Granted, we had some inconsiderate people who let their children run up and down the hallway at 7am so it's no wonder we didn't sleep, but even talking from other rooms or people walking on the floors above were elevated. My suggestion would be to request a room on the top floor so at least you dont have someone above you.
Also, the breakfast was pretty good compared to what I see at other hotels. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you aren't looking for walking distance to anything and aren't expecting a quiet relaxing trip. It's definitely good for an economical place to stay while you explore the area though

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time that you took to make us aware of the challenges that you faced during your stay. We know that noisy guests can really make your experience undesirable. Yes, the construction of the bathrooms and the door can be a bit tricky, but we do make up for it in amenities and service. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I'll start with the problems so I can close with the good news. First, the hotel is hard to find. The map that you get from the website is either wrong or confusing. I would suggest calling the front desk and getting clear instructions. We booked the room with the jacuzzi because we went snowboarding and wanted to relax in the hot tub afterwards. The first time we used the thing, a slightly rusty-colored water came out and after draining we noticed an odd sediment or deposit. Perhaps it hasn't been used for a while (second time we used it, this didn't happen). Overall, the extra $20/night for the jacuzzi was not worth it. The bathroom door hits the toilet so you have to be a contortionist to get in, wedge yourself next to the toilet so you can close the door (and try doing that in the middle of the night). Last but not least, the rooms cable service had not been upgraded, so several channels didn't work.

On the plus side, as usual Hampton Inn (and, in general, Hilton family hotels) made good on the promise to provide an incredibly comfortable bed. Great sheets, super-mattress. The room and the hotel was generally clean, delivered good service, and provided a decent free breakfast.

I'd come back here again, but would forgo the hot tub in the room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinker_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamgolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, 6 May 2010
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I definitely want to apologize for the challenges you experienced. As you realize we did just underwent an extensive renovation. Overall the hotel has had a major overhaul and we are very happy with the results.

As for the direction, I will look into correcting this issue. I will also look into why the jacuzzi had the rust colored water coming out of it. This should definitely not occur. And the bathroom is an issue we have experienced after the renovation with several of our rooms. We are in the process of looking into fixing this problem.

As for the cable, we are in the middle of also upgrading our system. With our 37" flat panel televisions, we want to bring our guest the ultimate experience. in High Definition so this will be finished by the end of next week.

I hope to have you come back to our hotel and let us show you a totally different experience. Please contact me if there is anything else I can do for you.

Edmond Martinez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Denver West/Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
2.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,012 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
2.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West Federal Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Property: Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Address: 17150 W Colfax Ave, Golden, CO 80401-4841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Golden
#3 Business Hotel in Golden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Hampton Inn Golden
Golden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing