We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We got to Colorado a day early, so we needed a place to stay before we could check into our condo at Keystone. We picked this hotel because it only cost 10,000 rewards points.

We had a nice suite on the second floor, no smells in the hall, or room as other have complained. Very comfortable queen sized bed, A nice kitchen and bathroom. Very clean.

They offer free use of washing machines and dryers on the first floor(bring your own soap). No breakfast so bring your own to cook or eat out.

We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hello IHG Rewards member! We so appreciate that you chose our hotel to use your reward points, and we're happy to hear your bed was comfortable and your room was very clean. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make certain every guest room is spotless! Next time you are on your way to your condo, we will be here to welcome you back!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very enjoyable night. First impressions weren't the best with the small front desk area. But reception was friendly. There was a slight smoke order in the 3rd floor hallway but none in our room. I'm guessing rooms were recently decorated. Smart decor with Ikea like cabinets in kitchen. Perfect setup for travelers who bring snacks, coolers, leftover meals. Large refrigerator, microwave, ans 2 cup coffee pot. Comfortable bed. Good location with Dennys just down the street for breakfast. Candlewood would be my choice in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for your response! I'm so sorry to hear your first impression of our hotel was not the best. Our lobby is small, but we are going to renovate it next year so we hope you'll return to see it! The rooms were all recently remodeled, and we whole hardheartedly agree that our hotel is the perfect place for travelers. Please return soon to your hotel of choice in Denver!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

They are a very friendly hotel from the moment you walk in. I wasn't so sure about staying in a hotel with a kitchen, but wow it was so comfortable and clean. There was a odor in the hall but you have to remember there are others who are cooking in there kitchens and yes odors do linger. The room we stayed didn't have a odor and was clean and well stocked. The beds were so comfortable I must say one of the nicest we have been to. The staff was so helpful with any questions we had. There is a laundry and you can use it free which I had to look twice to make sure I was reading it right. They have a honor store with many things you can make instead of going out. I would recommend this hotel and will stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pansey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Candlewood Suites Denver West! We are thrilled to hear that you you were very surprised that we are so friendly and that your room was comfortable and clean! The entire staff at our hotel works very hard to make certain you have an outstanding experience with us. I do apologize for the cooking odors from other rooms, but know that we make every effort to eliminate them. We're happy to hear you liked the free laundry and Candlewood Cupboard, which we agree is so convenient! Please come and see us again!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My fiance and I are three weeks into a month long stay at the Candlewood Suites in Golden, Co.
We recently accepted new permanent jobs in the Golden/Denver area and moved here from Michigan. We needed somewhere apartment like to stay while we looked for permanent housing. This location was exactly what we needed. So far, the experience has been completely satisfactory.

I see that there are a few lackluster reviews posted here, and I would like to address those. You should know what you are signing up for with the Candlewood Suites. This hotel chain does not advertise itself as a luxury hotel. It is designed perfectly for temporary housing and was set up like a tiny apartment.

There is no room service or continental breakfast. The housekeeping services are offered weekly, or more often as needed/requested by guests. The rooms have a kitchen with full sized fridge with freezer, small stove, microwave, sink, toaster and is fully stocked with basic cleaning supplies, dishes, silverware, and other useful kitchen basics. There is a large workspace, comfortable beds, comfortable heating/cooling with thermostat in room.

The free wireless internet worked great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The common areas and rooms were clean. The hotel grounds (parking lot, patio) were also clean and safe. The location was convenient driving to US6 and I70, restaurants, downtown golden, downtown denver, shopping in Lakewood (which is very close to the hotel).

I highly recommend the Candelwood Suites if you are looking for temporary housing, and are interested in staying somewhere you can live comfortably, and take care of your own cooking.

Room Tip: Only one elevator on one side of the building. It was not a problem for us, since we are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Brittany C,

What an awesome review!! I love how you expressed what the 'Candlewood Culture' is truly all about. Yes, we are an extended stay hotel and we tend to cater more towards guests that will be with us long term, or that enjoy the independence of having their own little apartment. We really appreciate your feedback and how well you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to say such nice things and to inform others of what a great hotel we have here. Hope you have a great holiday season and we hope the rest of your stay was just as enjoyable.

Kindest Regards,

Candlewood Suites Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Roomy, Many Free Amenities. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again and suggest it to anyone looking for extended stay or just one night. Great location. I especially like that I get a frig, dishes, and microwave; and get a nice workable desk and chair instead of just a bed. The little store in the Hotel and free washer & dryers made it very convenient and saved trips out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Don B.,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We really love that you took advantage of all the great amenities we have to offer! Hope you enjoy your holidays and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kindest Regards,

Candlewood Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I booked a reservation and then went to the hotel the day before so see what the rooms were like. I could smell smoke in the hotel, because they allow smoking in some of the rooms. I said that I would not accept a smoking room. They checked my reservation in the computer, made a note, and guaranteed I would NOT have a smoking room.

The next day I check out of my previous hotel, a very nice place where I was getting a discount for an extended stay. I arrived at Candlewood at 3:45, 45 minutes after the allowable check-in time. They told me that I was NOT guaranteed a non-smoking room and that they had sold out of non-smoking rooms.

So I lost my discount at the previous hotel and was on the street, because THESE PEOPLE CANNOT NOT GUARANTEE NON-SMOKING ROOMS.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear scott s,

Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review. Please know that we take what you have to say to heart. I know that you may have been verbally confirmed a nonsmoking room, though please note that upon making the reservation, you had originally booked a Standard Room. This is also defined as a 'Non-preference' Room Type. At the hotel level, we should never be guaranteeing a room type, so for that I sincerely apologize as we typically only offer requests. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, we were unable to honor your request for a nonsmoking room. I hope you can give us another chance in the future to make this right! Thank you and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a lower priced chain that provides a bit less service. But my room was clean, and the staff was nice. I especially like that I get a frig, dishes, and microwave; and get a nice workable desk and chair instead of just a bed. I would stay here for a week or two very easily if I were in town for an extended stay. I have lived in hotels for weeks before, and I wouldn't mind this one.
If you want a "regular" hotel, pay the extra couple bucks and go to one. This chain doesn't staff up, so they don't charge you for the extra staff you don't need on an extended or business trip.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank BreakfastOutAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear BreakfastOutMI,
Thank you so much for the kind review. We really appreciate your feedback and your understanding of what the Candlewood Culture is truly about. We hope to see you again in the future. Happy Holidays!

The Candlewood Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Denver West/Federal Center
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West Federal Center
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Address: 895 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401-4796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Golden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Denver-Lakewood, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. This setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 1 mile from the Denver Federal Center, 3 miles from Historic Downtown Golden, 10 miles from Downtown Denver and only 1 hour away from the nearest ski resort. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 For 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood Hotel Golden
Candlewood Suites Golden
Candlewood Golden
Golden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing