We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not the best but not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First things first, Amy was GREAT!!! I travel a lot and my younger brother started traveling with me in the last year and half, and Amy is one of the only guest agents he has ever talked about with a smile on his face. That's saying a lot. He thought she was one of the kindness front desk agent he can remember that was really nice... Well, we arrive very early in Denver. We normally don't have trouble with checking in early if the hotel is not sold out. Well, we were dropped off super early and she was more than kine to check us in early. I also enjoyed David who checked us in another time we stayed there just a few days prior. We used our points to stay this time, and I have to say overall though one problem may have arose, it was resolve as only I know that a IHG property will. To make sure that the guest is satisfied. Thank you all again for good customer service. Rooms are o.k. Bathrooms are nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evangelist S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Evangelist S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and being an IHG Rewards Club Member. I am very pleased that you found our hotel staff, particularly our front desk, to be nice and accommodating. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The day we arrived, there was a problem with the boiler room. Repairs took longer than expected and we had no hot water. Then, a pipe broke and did some water damage. The staff tried to do all they could to make the situation tolerable. I especially commend the General Manager, Jacquelyn, for going out of her way to make things right. Guests need to remember that some things can't be helped. Everything else was great! Clean room, plenty of space, and the staff is very helpful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoosterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

RoosterTexas, I remember you well and thank you for your very kind comments! We strive daily to go out of our way to make things right for all of our guests. I'm thrilled to hear that you were impressed with your clean and spacious room. We can't wait to see you again, and promise to continue providing the same helpful and friendly service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Staff has been so friendly and helpful. Property is quite and clean. Smoke free. The room has all the latest appliances. Nice work area/ eating area. I have no complaints. I like it so well I'll be back next and will stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Rick, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the staff. They focus on making every guests' stay extraordinary! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the great amenities in the suites! Most of all, I'm thrilled to hear that you will stay with us again! We look forward to serving you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this location.
Overall, it was a pleasant and comfortable stay.
Aaron at the desk was very nice.
I'll start with the few "minuses:"
--small lobby area, but it was fine as it was not busy when I checked in.
--only one packet of coffee per stay and no shampoo or conditioner.
--the carpeting was a bit 'grimy.'
---the 3rd floor hallway smelled horribly of smoke, but there was no smoke odor in my room.
--uncomfortable pillows
Now the "pluses:"
Nice staff
Good location
Great lighting over desk area
Full kitchen is awesome with nice dishes supplied
Plenty of outlets
Nice leather desk chair and easy chair in room
Comfortable bed
Good water pressure ... plenty of hot water
Bathroom was large with huge mirror
Nice living room area in room
Nice decor in hotel entryway
I would stay here again!
: -)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you Eulalia_3 for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to let us know your thoughts. Please note that we will be replacing our corridor carpet at some point this year...it is in the making. And although there is not much we can about our lobby size, we will be renovating it this year to at least make is more contemporary and comfortable. We are also trying to figure out ways to eliminate the smoke smell in the hallways on 3rd floor...while I know we will not necessarily eliminate the smoking rooms, we will at least do our best to make it a bit more pleasant while walking the halls. I love that you will return again and that you do appreciate the great amenities and an awesome staff we have. We look forward to your return and hope by then all these "minuses" will be more "pluses".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We needed a place close to family for the holidays and Candlewood suites was great! The staff was very courteous and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. Having the kitchenette area was a huge plus for us as we were here for nearly a week. Free laundry and affordable prices in their food and pantry area were great pluses! This will become our 'go-to' place when in CO visiting family!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Candlewood Suites Denver West! Your feedback is very important to us. We are so happy to hear that our hotel will be your "go-to" hotel in Colorado! Many guests like yourself enjoy the amenities and staff you mentioned, and we're thrilled that they met your needs! We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in Colorado!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We got to Colorado a day early, so we needed a place to stay before we could check into our condo at Keystone. We picked this hotel because it only cost 10,000 rewards points.

We had a nice suite on the second floor, no smells in the hall, or room as other have complained. Very comfortable queen sized bed, A nice kitchen and bathroom. Very clean.

They offer free use of washing machines and dryers on the first floor(bring your own soap). No breakfast so bring your own to cook or eat out.

We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hello IHG Rewards member! We so appreciate that you chose our hotel to use your reward points, and we're happy to hear your bed was comfortable and your room was very clean. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make certain every guest room is spotless! Next time you are on your way to your condo, we will be here to welcome you back!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very enjoyable night. First impressions weren't the best with the small front desk area. But reception was friendly. There was a slight smoke order in the 3rd floor hallway but none in our room. I'm guessing rooms were recently decorated. Smart decor with Ikea like cabinets in kitchen. Perfect setup for travelers who bring snacks, coolers, leftover meals. Large refrigerator, microwave, ans 2 cup coffee pot. Comfortable bed. Good location with Dennys just down the street for breakfast. Candlewood would be my choice in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood Suit... D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you so much for your response! I'm so sorry to hear your first impression of our hotel was not the best. Our lobby is small, but we are going to renovate it next year so we hope you'll return to see it! The rooms were all recently remodeled, and we whole hardheartedly agree that our hotel is the perfect place for travelers. Please return soon to your hotel of choice in Denver!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.8 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#7 of 18 in Golden
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
5.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Address: 895 Tabor St, Golden, CO 80401-4796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Golden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Denver-Lakewood, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. This setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 1 mile from the Denver Federal Center, 3 miles from Historic Downtown Golden, 10 miles from Downtown Denver and only 1 hour away from the nearest ski resort. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 For 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood Hotel Golden
Candlewood Suites Golden
Candlewood Golden
Golden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing