We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Every room reeks of cigarette smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Golden
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas
13
Reviewed 26 December 2005

I've never stayed somewhere so terrible that I've been prompted to write an online review, but people need to be warned about The Candlewood Suites in Lakewood, Colorado.

The entire hotel--even non-smoking rooms--stinks like an ashtray. I can not stress how terrible the odor was. The beds smell especially bad, and at first I thought it was just the sheets, so I requested new linens and changed them, but as I was putting on the fitted sheet (that's right--I changed the sheets because housekeeping only comes once a week) I realized the smell was not coming from the linens, but from the matress itself--and the couch--and the chair--and the carpet--and then I found the real problem, the smell was coming from the fan which blew smoky air constantly into our room (you can not turn it off). We smelled so badly by the time we checked out, we packed our clothes in garbage bags so the car wouldn't smell, and washed them as soon as we got home. They smelled like we had slept in a bar. The place looks nice from the outside, but even a smoker would hate the smell in this hotel. Don't stay, no matter how cheap the rate is. It's not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dmitry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauloFaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Refugee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.8 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#7 of 18 in Golden
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
5.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Address: 895 Tabor St, Golden, CO 80401-4796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Golden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Denver-Lakewood, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. This setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 1 mile from the Denver Federal Center, 3 miles from Historic Downtown Golden, 10 miles from Downtown Denver and only 1 hour away from the nearest ski resort. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 For 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood Hotel Golden
Candlewood Suites Golden
Candlewood Golden
Golden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing