We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”

Snow Mountain Ranch
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Granby
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five thousand acre ranch offering trails for cross-country skiers and snowshoers.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again...”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Snow Mountain Ranch July 2nd through the 4th. When we arrived we were sent to an already occupied cabin. We went back and it took them a really long time to figure out which cabin to put us in. There were 6 adults and four children in our group. The cabin blankets were so dirty and smelly we had to put them outside. The picnic bench was unusable, really old, broken, and kept giving the kids splinters. The only large burner on the stove was broken so we could only cook one of anything at a time in a small pan. The toaster was full of melted plastic, the screens were off two of the windows, basically, the place was far from luxurious. Since our stove was broken we decided to eat at the buffet ($14.00 per person!!!!) It was horrible, I guess if you come with a large group they let you eat free but since we only had ten people we had to pay. Not worth it by a long shot! Totally gross and out of almost everything anyway. When I tried to find a worker no one spoke any english so I gave up. The next day we went horse back riding, (33.00 per person). They saddled my brothers horse incorrectly and five minutes into the ride him and his four year old daughter fell off the horse. Seriously! They offered to give them directions to the hospital but were completely causal about the whole thing. Exact words, "Sometimes this happens folks!" I did send the YMCA an email about our stay, they called me the same day and were very apologetic and said they would get back to me...never happened. Can't say I'm surprised. I did receive an email from the ranch offering a refund for the ride! If you have kids I would definitely recommend going somewhere else. Safety is clearly not there number one goal. This place is a rip off! Never going back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loads of Activities”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We took our troop of 12 year old girl scouts here for a week. Our package included lodging, meals and activities. We did zip line, high ropes course, team building, archery, canoeing, rock climbing, horseback riding and some other off site activities. The property is great. There is so much for kids (and active adults) to do. When we didn't have planned group activities there was also an indoor pool, a roller rink, tennis courts, mini golf, hiking, fishing, and an arts & craft barn. If you can't find something to do on this property then you there is something wrong with you.

The YMCA owns the property and has, I believe, like 5,000 acres. There are a couple of old buildings, like a home and barn that are about 80 years old that you can explore also.

Waterfall is a nice hike that will take you about 1 1/2 hours up and back with time to explore the falls. It is a fairly easy hike and worth it.

The food was pretty good. It is cafeteria style and available during specific hours at meal time. Plenty of choices for all three meals. Some of the breakfast choices included eggs, pancakes, waffles, french toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, biscuits & gray, sausage. Coffee, tea and a couple of juice choices were available. Lunch offerings were sandwichs, a couple of hot items (pasta, grilled cheese, chicken, burgers, hot dogs), salad, vegetables, fruit, and P.B & J. Dinner was similar to lunch choices but included some better entrees. They even had tilapia one night. Beverages were milk, water, juice and soda. Oh yes, dessert too. Cake, cookies, brownies. I was pretty impressed with the food given the volume of people they serve at each meal.

There is a gift shop and snack shop in the main building. Lots of nice souvenirs to choose from and chips, soda, candy, sandwichs are available in the snack shop.

We stayed in Silver Sage Lodge which was conveniently located near the dining hall. The rooms were okay. Two sets of bunk beds and a queen. Bathroom in the room with tub and a single sink. There is no A/C which can mean a little warm but we are on the third floor and just left the windows open. Unfortunately, the sun would rise and wake us up nice and early. No, dresser or anywhere to put clothes away other then one small rack with about 8 hangers. So, we lived out of our suitcases because with 4 to a room it was a little tight. But, other than that, the rooms were okay. They do have quiet hours from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. and most people were pretty respectful of that. There is a common area with a fireplace, some books, board games and puzzles. Nice area to hang out in the evening if you just wanted to relax.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlayinHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to go skiing at valued price (if you have coupons or deals)”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had a great time skiing @ the new Granby Ski Mountain Resort. Their latte is not over price like other ski resorts. I just wished they will honor the coupon deals for the most days in March 2013 because majority of the month of March 2013 are blocked.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank glms2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great XC ski trails”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Faily oriented nordic center. Reasonable rates for day passes. Short trek from lodge into the woods (gets you out of the wind quickly) great views, plenty of snow and well groomed trails for both Skate and Classic skiing. Comfortable lodge

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place for families with kids”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for one week--six adults and four kids in a 4BR cabin and it was a bit tight. Rooms were small. That said, the kids had a blast--did lots of activities and attended the day camp for three days. Roller skating was a highlight, as was canoeing, climbing wall, and horseback riding. We had a black bear encounter right outside our cabin, and that was both exciting and alarming, He came by two or three times to check our garbage.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KLWHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snow Mountain Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing