We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and western experience!!”
Review of C Lazy U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C Lazy U Ranch
Ranked #1 of 4 Granby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The C Lazy U Ranch is a truly western experience of the highest quality!!! The staff, grounds, dining, and animals are awesome. The western landscape of the ranch encompasses 8000+ acres with 360 degree vistas. Everything is spectacular about this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Allen_Paty,

We thank you for taking the time to share a little about your recent C Lazy U stay, and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Our team strives to make every guest’s stay an exceptional experience, and we couldn’t be happier that we succeeded on your visit. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

David Craig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went as a family of 4 for a summer riding adventure. This ranch is beautiful. The accommodations were okay. The atmosphere is very country-club like so, if this is not your style, do not spend a week here. "Members" are greeted and catered to much better than a guests (as we were) for the week.

The riding program was good. If you have never mounted a horse, consider doing so before arriving. The instruction for beginners will not make you comfortable if you are at all nervous. Horses were great and well taken care of. Trails - gorgeous!

Food/dining room:
Children are not allowed to eat dinner with you in the dining room.
You eat family style with other adult guests. If you do not like talking to strangers/new acquaintances, this is not the place for you! You get a seat where there is room at a table when you arrive for the scheduled dinner meal. It's like a wedding without seating arrangements; you don't know where you will end up.

You are served the entree (protein) in a pre-cut portion "family style" by the server, then the tray is removed from the table. The side dishes were left on the serving platter on your table. If you desire additional meat or fish, you have to ask a server to bring the tray back. Most of the food was tasty, but being in the food industry, I clearly see the shortcuts they made on the meals they served us. Acceptable in most dining rooms, but not from this ranch that claims to have top-quality food and food-service.

Children's program - GREAT! My kids loved it. But again - you are separated from your children most of the day. If this is not your thing, don't book here.

Spa - unique and relaxing.

Pool - in the middle of dining area outside. It would be nicer if it was more private/cozy off to the side and away from the boot "mud".

Room - spacious, but our cabin had two mouse traps in them. One under the bed and one in the closet. I would have preferred to not see this.

Please beware - You will get a sales pitch! One night, dinner was not in the dining room, but in an owner's residence where this all took place. This was not a free trip - I did not expect a mandatory "seminar". We saw the owner again at the end of the week where he told us to go to Trip Advisor and write a glowing review. I couldn't believe THAT!

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, this probably isn't the place to go at all, but book a space near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JNCCAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear JNCCAP,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. You address some compelling topics in your review, and I'd like to address each.

While the Ranch does have an important membership component, we put great care into maintaining the delicate balance of providing exceptional service for both guests and members. Our members have a great degree of familiarity with the ranch, and I firmly believe that they only add to the warm and welcoming atmosphere that our employees already strive to provide.

I believe that our riding program is where the ranch excels, and I am glad you enjoyed the experience. We have multiple instruction levels for a wide variety of riding abilities, and our Head Wrangler has just received Lifetime Achievement recognition from the Colorado Hotel & Lodging Association for his 50 years of service at the C Lazy U.

We do indeed offer different children and adult meal periods for most - but not all - of the nights during a weekly summer stay. We’ve received great feedback on our family-style dining model, as it allows children to eat, then go right outside to enjoy playtime and activities with other children and counselors. Meanwhile, adults can enjoy a relaxing, more luxurious meal in the company of other adults. As a result of this dining concept, we've found that many families bond so well, they return year after year to reconnect with the great friends they've made in past years, as well as make new acquaintances.

Our family-style dining offers generous, high-quality portions, and seconds and thirds are always welcomed and available. We are proud of our Chef’s innovative creations, and in the summer of 2014, expect to continue our focus on offering farm-to-table dining, comprised of fresh and healthy locally-produced meats, vegetables and herbs.

The healthy and clean presentation of ranch facilities is a top priority at C Lazy U. The Patio House is a central meeting and greeting point, and should always look sharp. We power-wash its pool deck, and many other areas of the ranch, each morning. Life on a ranch is blessed by the favorable attributes of Mother Nature, which from time to time can also produce the unwanted animal guest. We have a significant and successful professional pest control program to ensure our accommodations are always safely and cleanly presented. Mousetraps are very rarely used.

The long-term dedication of our guests has allowed us to operate as a family-owned guest ranch for 95 years. Once a week in the summer months, one of our ranch owners graciously opens his home for a pre-dinner cocktail party for all the adult guests of the ranch. The intent of this event is purely to thank our guests for their enduring support of C Lazy U. There has never been a formal or informal presentation about ranch membership, and this is not the intent of this event.

We are grateful for all feedback, positive or negative. I appreciate that you have shared your experience, and I am certain that through your comments we’ll have the opportunity to improve. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

David Craig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family decided to meet at the C Lazy U Ranch this year making it the first Christmas that we did not meet at our home. Our son had commented that this year we would be guaranteed a white Christmas. Of course, he was right. We took the Home James shuttle from Denver airport to avoid any driving issues. After arriving late in the afternoon on Dec. 23, we were welcomed by the courteous and helpful staff. We stayed in the Roundup cabin which was convenient and spacious. Very pleased with the bed comfort and linens were of very high quality. Frankly the bed was heavenly making it hard to get up. I suggest using the humidifier in the closet especially if burning a fire. The Lodge has an amazing common room on the main floor which was always stocked with goodies and hot chocolate. Meals were served upstairs. The food was amazing, delicious and plenty of it. The staff is amazing, very friendly and accommodating. Ranch activities that we enjoyed were horseback riding, sledding, sleighing, tubing and skeet shooting. Christmas Eve was a winter wonderland with a steady snow most of the day which added to the festive mood. That evening, after another wonderful meal, we were thrilled to have Mr. and Mrs. Claus arrive in their sleigh. If closing, the attention to detail is amazing. We could not have asked for more. Truly a magical Christmas stay.

Room Tip: It is helpful staying in a cabin near the Lodge since sidewalks and road can be snowy. Also, the Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear honestd,

Thank you for your kind review of C Lazy U. We’re so happy to have given you a magical Christmas vacation, complete with snow! Thank you for spending this important family holiday with us. We hope your family will return again very soon!

David Craig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The ranch is a fun and warm place to visit even in the cold December days. The activities including cross country skiing, ice skating, snow shoeing and horse back riding are superb. The food, accommodations and the staff are very helpful and friendly. No one knows how to say no to any request.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Jim K,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your holiday stay at the Ranch. We’re so happy you were able to enjoy all the wonderful cold weather activities C Lazy U has to offer. Thank you for continuing to stay with us - we very much look forward to your next visit!

David Craig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a fabulous trip our family had at this dude ranch. It was a great Thanks Giving week. From the horseback riding on the un accountable trails with epic views, to the nightly dinner. everything was perfect. The staff was helpful and extremely friendly, lodging was so comfortable and cozy. We loved our in room fireplace. This is the best family Vacation with or without kids! We came with our 24yr old daughter and her boyfriend and our son who is 18. We all had an absolute blast!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosntmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Rosntmy,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review, and are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay at C Lazy U! Our team aims to make every stay a superior one, especially when we know you’re sharing your holiday with us. We truly enjoyed having you and your family, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

David Craig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

C Lazy U is truly a slice of heaven on earth. The ranch is absolutely beautiful! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The accommodations are very nice- family cabins, nice bedding, fireplace in room, etc. What we love most about the ranch is the kids program….the kids are paired with counselors and other kids their age. The day is filled with all kinds of kid-focused activities while the adults are able to experience activities on their own- horseback riding, spa, fly fishing, hiking, lounging by the pool. Of course there are plenty of options for things to do as a family as well- It truly is like camp for the entire family! Breakfast is served every morning and an opportunity for families to catch up with each other and discuss activities for the day. Adults and kids typically enjoy dinner separately but at the conclusion of dinner there is always a family activity planned (talent show, campfire, carnival, etc). The food at the ranch is excellent- local cuisine, authentic chuck wagon breakfast and the adult dinner is gourmet with suggested wine pairings- we ate and drank like kings! The horseback riding is outstanding- they are careful to pair you with a horse at your skill level and put you with a group of riders at your level as well. You typically ride the same horse each day. My daughter has ridden the same horse (Chester) at every visit and truly thinks it is her horse. WE LOVE C LAZY U. We have been two summers and one winter (holiday is a magical experience) and plan to go back again this summer. It is a beautiful place, an amazing experience and we have made some wonderful friendships with the staff and other guests. It is pricey but well worth it...wish it were 1/2 the price so we could go twice every year :)!

Also, the owners of C Lazy U show a real interest in preserving the land AND ensuring the guests have a great experience. They joined us for dinner on several evenings- always very friendly and mingle with everyone. It is easy to see why C Lazy U has so many repeat guests- the ownership, management team and staff do a great job of making it feel like "home away from home".

Room Tip: There are several different room/cabin types to choose from at different price points and different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Amber G,

Thank you for taking the time to share so many details from your C Lazy U vacation. We are thrilled that you and your family have made the Ranch an annual vacation destination. We strive to ensure C Lazy U's accommodations, dining, children’s program and activities always provide a special experience for families, and are happy we were successful! We look forward to your visit next summer; in the meantime, we’ll be sure to give Chester a hug for your daughter!

David Craig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

When your kids tell you that you're too old to go horseback riding at a Dude Ranch, don't listen to them. This was one of the best vacations ever. The staff, food, lodging and activities were outstanding. 18,000 acres of the most beautiful scenery imaginable. A different riding trail each day, gourmet dining and the friendliest and most knowledgeable staff on Earth. My only regret was in leaving.

Room Tip: Our cabin was the farthest from the Lodge. It was great....peaceful, remote and the walk helped eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Rob S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the C Lazy U after your family's recent visit. I'm very happy to hear you didn't let your kids talk you out of taking full advantage of all the activities the Ranch has to offer – and that you enjoyed everything you experienced, from the riding and dining, to the service our team provided. We sincerely hope to have your family back for another visit soon.

David Craig,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
6.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
10.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
16.9 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
8.7 mi away
Base Camp One by Alpine Resort
8.8 mi away
Kicking Horse Lodges
Kicking Horse Lodges
#9 of 9 in Granby
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C Lazy U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Lazy U Ranch

Address: 3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Granby
Price Range: £205 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919 The C Lazy U luxury guest ranch has been celebrated around the world for its rich history, rustic elegance, legendary cuisine and signature 5-Spur Service. There is something for everyone. Kids enjoy adventure & discovery while adults do everything they want, or nothing at all. Corporations & groups enjoy this all inclusive ranch as a simple and secluded retreat destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c Lazy u Ranch Hotel Granby
C Lazy U Ranch Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing