We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service with Spectacular Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C Lazy U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C Lazy U Ranch
Ranked #1 of 4 Granby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service with Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent 4 fabulous nights to celebrate a family members 60th birthday. The staff are amazing. Every meal was delicious. During my stay, I enjoyed the zip line, fly fishing, spa services, horse back riding, hiking, nightly entertainment - 2 nights were live bands, line dancing lessons, carnival, and a quick dip in the heated pool. So much fun shared with friends. Our room was not one of the "nicest" as mentioned in other reviews, but I can't say it made any difference because we were never in our rooms except to sleep. The price may appear expensive, but so much is included and the attentive staff is the best I have ever experienced. A private birthday tea was arranged and it was delightful, beautiful tables set with flowers, china tea cups and scones with jam and clotted cream - wish I had one now!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Donna T,

Thank you for reviewing your recent C Lazy U experience; we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am pleased to hear that the 60th birthday celebration was a success! By the sound of it, you and your party were able to take advantage of a large number of activities in just four days! We’re in the process of renovating our entire portfolio of cabins over the course of the next few years, in a phased approach (the process is currently about 85% complete). Those that have not received complete renovations continue to receive modest upgrades to ensure they remain current and fresh, (new carpet, bath fixtures, for example.) We work diligently to price our cabins fairly and to provide accurate descriptions during the renovation process. Thanks again for your feedback; I hope you’ll return to C lazy U again soon - we are open all four seasons, and offer a variety of great and ever-changing activities throughout the year!

David Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    3
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
122
13
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October for a wedding. The property is very nice and large and can accommodate a variety of activities which is really nice. We were here for a wedding where the cost per room was the same regardless of if you were in a beautiful, large room with a stunning view or if your room was more like a Motel 6 room. Ours unfortunately was the latter and we had many issues with it including uncontrollable heat where we couldn't sleep. When you're paying $500/night, you hope you have a fireplace and heat that isn't on full blast all the time. We had to complain on many instances, but finally for the second night, the manager - who was great - was able to move us into the house that the bride occupied for the first night. after seeing the house and the other rooms on the property, we were stunned that ours would cost the same. The difference was night and day.

The food was also pretty disappointing. We read amazing reviews about the food, but there really was nothing special about this. Again, when you're spending so much money, you hope the food is of a certain quality..

The concept at this ranch is fantastic, but overall execution was subpar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelsnob12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Travelsnob12,

Thank you for taking time to forward your feedback subsequent to your recent visit to the C Lazy U Ranch. I can certainly understand your frustration as it relates to your room assignment. The ranch completely renovates two cabins per year and often more. We've made excellent progress to date and currently the ranch is about 85% fully renovated. I should also report that we continue to do other improvements for rooms that have not yet been renovated – for example, we installed new carpet in four additional cabins this spring. There is no excuse for heat problems or other functionality issues and I can assure you that twice a year we conduct extensive preventative maintenance and housekeeping work.

When selling rooms we are diligent and honest in our descriptions and when a wedding party books the entire ranch we offer an average rate that includes lodging, all meals, ranch activities and a rate that represents a discount for the entire ranch, all room types represented. (The rate approximation you quoted in your review was likely for two guests.) I can understand in this scenario how you might be surprised when visiting one of our newly renovated rooms.

I regret that our food and beverage experience failed to impress. We typically have very favorable feedback and our Chef generates a new menu every season incorporating local farm to table elements, generous portions where seconds are always welcome and innovative offerings that fuse cutting edge trends in an authentic western ranch atmosphere.

We recognize that we are not always perfect and I can assure that we'll learn and improve from your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your insight.

David Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The C Lazy U Ranch is a truly western experience of the highest quality!!! The staff, grounds, dining, and animals are awesome. The western landscape of the ranch encompasses 8000+ acres with 360 degree vistas. Everything is spectacular about this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen_Paty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Allen_Paty,

We thank you for taking the time to share a little about your recent C Lazy U stay, and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Our team strives to make every guest’s stay an exceptional experience, and we couldn’t be happier that we succeeded on your visit. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

David Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went as a family of 4 for a summer riding adventure. This ranch is beautiful. The accommodations were okay. The atmosphere is very country-club like so, if this is not your style, do not spend a week here. "Members" are greeted and catered to much better than a guests (as we were) for the week.

The riding program was good. If you have never mounted a horse, consider doing so before arriving. The instruction for beginners will not make you comfortable if you are at all nervous. Horses were great and well taken care of. Trails - gorgeous!

Food/dining room:
Children are not allowed to eat dinner with you in the dining room.
You eat family style with other adult guests. If you do not like talking to strangers/new acquaintances, this is not the place for you! You get a seat where there is room at a table when you arrive for the scheduled dinner meal. It's like a wedding without seating arrangements; you don't know where you will end up.

You are served the entree (protein) in a pre-cut portion "family style" by the server, then the tray is removed from the table. The side dishes were left on the serving platter on your table. If you desire additional meat or fish, you have to ask a server to bring the tray back. Most of the food was tasty, but being in the food industry, I clearly see the shortcuts they made on the meals they served us. Acceptable in most dining rooms, but not from this ranch that claims to have top-quality food and food-service.

Children's program - GREAT! My kids loved it. But again - you are separated from your children most of the day. If this is not your thing, don't book here.

Spa - unique and relaxing.

Pool - in the middle of dining area outside. It would be nicer if it was more private/cozy off to the side and away from the boot "mud".

Room - spacious, but our cabin had two mouse traps in them. One under the bed and one in the closet. I would have preferred to not see this.

Please beware - You will get a sales pitch! One night, dinner was not in the dining room, but in an owner's residence where this all took place. This was not a free trip - I did not expect a mandatory "seminar". We saw the owner again at the end of the week where he told us to go to Trip Advisor and write a glowing review. I couldn't believe THAT!

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, this probably isn't the place to go at all, but book a space near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JNCCAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear JNCCAP,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. You address some compelling topics in your review, and I'd like to address each.

While the Ranch does have an important membership component, we put great care into maintaining the delicate balance of providing exceptional service for both guests and members. Our members have a great degree of familiarity with the ranch, and I firmly believe that they only add to the warm and welcoming atmosphere that our employees already strive to provide.

I believe that our riding program is where the ranch excels, and I am glad you enjoyed the experience. We have multiple instruction levels for a wide variety of riding abilities, and our Head Wrangler has just received Lifetime Achievement recognition from the Colorado Hotel & Lodging Association for his 50 years of service at the C Lazy U.

We do indeed offer different children and adult meal periods for most - but not all - of the nights during a weekly summer stay. We’ve received great feedback on our family-style dining model, as it allows children to eat, then go right outside to enjoy playtime and activities with other children and counselors. Meanwhile, adults can enjoy a relaxing, more luxurious meal in the company of other adults. As a result of this dining concept, we've found that many families bond so well, they return year after year to reconnect with the great friends they've made in past years, as well as make new acquaintances.

Our family-style dining offers generous, high-quality portions, and seconds and thirds are always welcomed and available. We are proud of our Chef’s innovative creations, and in the summer of 2014, expect to continue our focus on offering farm-to-table dining, comprised of fresh and healthy locally-produced meats, vegetables and herbs.

The healthy and clean presentation of ranch facilities is a top priority at C Lazy U. The Patio House is a central meeting and greeting point, and should always look sharp. We power-wash its pool deck, and many other areas of the ranch, each morning. Life on a ranch is blessed by the favorable attributes of Mother Nature, which from time to time can also produce the unwanted animal guest. We have a significant and successful professional pest control program to ensure our accommodations are always safely and cleanly presented. Mousetraps are very rarely used.

The long-term dedication of our guests has allowed us to operate as a family-owned guest ranch for 95 years. Once a week in the summer months, one of our ranch owners graciously opens his home for a pre-dinner cocktail party for all the adult guests of the ranch. The intent of this event is purely to thank our guests for their enduring support of C Lazy U. There has never been a formal or informal presentation about ranch membership, and this is not the intent of this event.

We are grateful for all feedback, positive or negative. I appreciate that you have shared your experience, and I am certain that through your comments we’ll have the opportunity to improve. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

David Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family decided to meet at the C Lazy U Ranch this year making it the first Christmas that we did not meet at our home. Our son had commented that this year we would be guaranteed a white Christmas. Of course, he was right. We took the Home James shuttle from Denver airport to avoid any driving issues. After arriving late in the afternoon on Dec. 23, we were welcomed by the courteous and helpful staff. We stayed in the Roundup cabin which was convenient and spacious. Very pleased with the bed comfort and linens were of very high quality. Frankly the bed was heavenly making it hard to get up. I suggest using the humidifier in the closet especially if burning a fire. The Lodge has an amazing common room on the main floor which was always stocked with goodies and hot chocolate. Meals were served upstairs. The food was amazing, delicious and plenty of it. The staff is amazing, very friendly and accommodating. Ranch activities that we enjoyed were horseback riding, sledding, sleighing, tubing and skeet shooting. Christmas Eve was a winter wonderland with a steady snow most of the day which added to the festive mood. That evening, after another wonderful meal, we were thrilled to have Mr. and Mrs. Claus arrive in their sleigh. If closing, the attention to detail is amazing. We could not have asked for more. Truly a magical Christmas stay.

Room Tip: It is helpful staying in a cabin near the Lodge since sidewalks and road can be snowy. Also, the Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear honestd,

Thank you for your kind review of C Lazy U. We’re so happy to have given you a magical Christmas vacation, complete with snow! Thank you for spending this important family holiday with us. We hope your family will return again very soon!

David Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The ranch is a fun and warm place to visit even in the cold December days. The activities including cross country skiing, ice skating, snow shoeing and horse back riding are superb. The food, accommodations and the staff are very helpful and friendly. No one knows how to say no to any request.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jim K,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your holiday stay at the Ranch. We’re so happy you were able to enjoy all the wonderful cold weather activities C Lazy U has to offer. Thank you for continuing to stay with us - we very much look forward to your next visit!

David Craig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a fabulous trip our family had at this dude ranch. It was a great Thanks Giving week. From the horseback riding on the un accountable trails with epic views, to the nightly dinner. everything was perfect. The staff was helpful and extremely friendly, lodging was so comfortable and cozy. We loved our in room fireplace. This is the best family Vacation with or without kids! We came with our 24yr old daughter and her boyfriend and our son who is 18. We all had an absolute blast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosntmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Lazy_U_Ranch, General Manager at C Lazy U Ranch, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Rosntmy,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review, and are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay at C Lazy U! Our team aims to make every stay a superior one, especially when we know you’re sharing your holiday with us. We truly enjoyed having you and your family, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

David Craig,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
10.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
17.2 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ute Trail Motel
Ute Trail Motel
#2 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
11.1 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C Lazy U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Lazy U Ranch

Property: C Lazy U Ranch
Address: 3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919 The C Lazy U luxury guest ranch has been celebrated around the world for its rich history, rustic elegance, legendary cuisine and signature 5-Spur Service. There is something for everyone. Kids enjoy adventure & discovery while adults do everything they want, or nothing at all. Corporations & groups enjoy this all inclusive ranch as a simple and secluded retreat destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c Lazy u Ranch Hotel Granby
C Lazy U Ranch Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing