We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best family vacation ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Drowsy Water Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drowsy Water Ranch
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We had the greatest vacation at Drowsy Water Ranch. The Fosha family is incredible. The best part of the week was that parents get a vacation too! Our children (ages 13, 11, and 6) loved it. They are already asking if we can return next year. Every single day was wonderful. The food is delicious! (Thanks to Calvin, an incredible chef). The wranglers are knowledgeable, fun, entertaining and organized. Our family is not experienced riders but we were by the end of the week.
We usually take vacations to Disney, but this experience surpasses Disney in many ways. Even our kids said "We would choose Drowsy water over Disney!" Cannot wait to return to Drowsy water next summer!
The Roach Family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

traveled a long way from Italy to experience a cowboy week, and I found the most beautiful spot in the world.
The Fosha family and all the staff is great! they make all efforts to make you live the experience at its best!.
A place to go back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberto8014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This will be a memorable vacation! It is a dude ranch for beginning riders and experienced riders too in beautiful Colorado. It'samazing how much you will enjoy yourselves with no tv, no newspapers, just meeting lots of new people who are all there to have a wonderful, relaxing time, just as you are.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The service was beyond excellent. Hard working staff and ranch owners.
Loved the cabin, it was right next to the creek. Clean and just right size.
The location was perfect for wanting to be in the true Colorado Rocky Mountains.
The service, the smiles and fun that the staff created for us.
It was a trip with my granddaughter and she said it all: I never want to leave the Ranch!!!
No TV was a dream come true also. Was good for kids to be kids and play!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grammy44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Those are the exact words from my family. Including husband who was skeptical of "a week on a ranch"?? We have been home for over a week now and a day doesn't go by where the kids ask to go back. The horse riding was amazing (the instruction very easy to understand, even for the kids), the horses were well trained but not robots. We went white water rafting, had three great meals a day, met and spent time with great families, and did things we swore we wouldn't do. Like square dancing! It was so much fun. The Fosha family does an amazing job of making you feel like family. My skeptical husband was begging for the all day rides not to end and wanted to stay another week. A truly relaxing vacation (no cell or internet coverage) and a place we will definitely visit again. Thank you Ken, Randi Sue, Ryan, Justin and Gretta (Peyton too) for a vacation we will never forget. Did I forget to mention the staff? Amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaDuchene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

. Went to the Ranch 29 years ago with our children and decided to spend our 50th anniversary with our extended family. The grandchildren loved it and want to know when we can return. The food is excellent , great staff and accommodations, endless choices of activities. Highly recommended for an activity-filled vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roehrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The last time we visited DWR was 21 years ago. Our daughter was 18 years old.
This time we returned with our daughter, her husband and our 2 WONDERFUL grandchildren.
We were hoping they would love the ranch as much as our daughter did all those years ago.
It not only met our expectations it exceeded them. To our delight they were asking to come back again at the end of the 2nd day.
All they could talk about was how cool the wrangers were and how much they loved their very own horse they would have for the whole week.
The accomodations were rustic and clean.There was a lovely basket on our coffee table filled with goodies when we arrived. No card key here. We left our cabin unlocked for the entire stay. Our cabin was cleaned and restocked with fresh linens everyday. We had a small refrigerator in our cabin that we kept soda and adult refreshments.
The food was served family style and always delish.
The activities were varied and there was something to do everynight for adults and kids.
It was nice to know the adults could have their special activites and not worry about their kids. Trust me.... the kids were happy to be with their new found friends more than they wanted to be with their boring old parents. Most of the time we only saw the backs of our grandkids as they raced off to be their new best buds.
So lets talk horses. The Fosha's (in our opinion) have the best string of horses bar none. They have horses that can accomodate the beginner with no experience all the way to advanced. They have a assortment of animals on their ranch. Dogs, cats, a pig and chickens and their love and care for them is beyond reproach.
We love DWR and all it represents. This review is just the tip of the iceburg. It is somehow hard to write what the heart feels. Just as our daughter cried 21 years prior our grandchildren also cried they day they left the ranch and again on the plane as it departed for home.
We thank Ken and Randy Sue and their extended family for opening their home to us and treating us to a week of pure enjoyment.
We are looking forward to when we can return.
Sincerely,
Tom and Chris Counts

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
14.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
6.8 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
22.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
15.5 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drowsy Water Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drowsy Water Ranch

Address: County Road 219, PO Box 147, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our dude ranch is totally committed to bringing guests into the beautiful Colorado Mountains in a friendly, clean authentic western ranch environment for families, singles and couples. We take extreme pride in our programs and genuine hospitality!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drowsy Water Ranch Hotel Granby
Drowsy Water Hotel
Drowsy Water Resort All Inclusive
Drowsy Water Ranch Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing