We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WESTERN GEM!”
Review of Drowsy Water Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drowsy Water Ranch
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Granby
East Grand Forks, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A WESTERN GEM!”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Recently we heard Drowsy Water Ranch, our favorite family vacation out of many many trips, received a distinguished traveler award from this website. I can't believe we haven't used Tripadvisor before for our family ventures and plan to start searching out all our ideas here first. Thus we visited Tripadvisor and read many of the great reviews on our favorite Colorado spot. While almost all the reviews were in line with our family's views of the fantastic vacation provided at the Fosha's ranch we were appalled and frankly mad by the most recent review of such an unhappy guest. Having been to Drowsy Water Ranch with our family three times in the past five years we have met close to 150 other people from around the world who all seemed to have a fantastic vacation just like us.

A ranch vacation at Drowsy Water Ranch is like a romantic escape out west to the land of horses, mountains, an active or relaxing vacation depending on what you want, worry free vacationing and most of all a terrific place for our kids to enjoy amongst a fantastic host family and staff! The staff and Fosha family are ultimately what make the vacation personable and exciting.

We continue to tell our friends and even people we meet at random about the fantastic ranch called Drowsy Water. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton (which we have stayed at before and enjoy for its own reasons) amenities and spa the ranch might not be for you but if you are looking for some of the best service, hospitality, hearty yet tasteful meals, kids programs and a wonderful experience the Drowsy Water is for you.

We also recommend visiting Colorado even 1-3 days in addition to the ranch to visit Rocky Mountain National Park on the way to the ranch to see snow piled high and Pikes Peak (south of Denver). The weather was great the entire Vacation but if you do head up Pikes Peak remember to bring your coat! (we learned that the hard way) These were some of the other fun family spots and sights of Colorado we have found.

Hope you visit such a fun place out west like we enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
104
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We enthusiastically booked our week at Drowsy Water Ranch after reading so many glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. Although the scenery is pastoral and a nice break from daily city life, we could not have been more disappointed with our vacation. Perhaps this was because we had such high expectations for a resort that was rated the number one all-inclusive family vacation in the world on Trip Advisor. The sad reality is that the ranch is much less than what it promises on the website. If you are crazy for horseback riding, then you might have a decent time. But everything else was...plainly...awful. The accommodations were threadbare (dusty rooms, cheap linens, low-end bathrooms). The food was straight out of Swanson Hungry Man TV dinners from the 1970s. We're talking canned corn, shredded iceberg lettuce salads, over-cooked meat, and everything in between. The "kids program" was minimal and the kids counselors were disinterested compared to counselors at Family Club Meds or other types of family resorts. The website shows pictures of a swimming pool that our pool-crazy kids were loathe to enter. It was dirty, cold and literally a cement hole in the ground surrounded by a fence. Don't think about drowning your sorrows in a good Pinot or a nice Colorado microbrew. This awful vacation is essentially dry. Guests are entitled to bring their own alcoholic beverages, but they are expressly discouraged from bringing wine or beer to the dining room at night...or even from having a happy hour cocktail on the front porch of their cabin. In all fairness, the Ranch does contract with a good Colorado River rafting company for a daylong rafting trip. If you are unlucky enough to spend a week at DWR, make sure you take this rafting trip. For those brave souls who can soldier through the entire week, you will experience the pleasure of being hot-boxed by the Ranch proprietor on the final night of your stay. He will sit down with you personally to review your bill and to solicit as large a gratuity for the staff as you are able to make. You are guaranteed to feel uncomfortable leaving anything less than $700 ($100 per day) as a gratuity. I travel extensively for work and have vacationed in many corners of the globe. This particular "check-out" experience is unique and will leave you wishing you had shoved a check under the office door on the previous evening and driven back to Denver to spend your last night of vacation at the Airport Marriott. One final note: the DWR management literally implores guests to visit this particular website (Trip Advisor) to provide a positive review so that the Ranch can continue to thrive in the future. So here I am on Trip Advisor -- telling it like it really is.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
75 Thank UnhappyRancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrowsyWater, Owner at Drowsy Water Ranch, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
We are sorry to hear this guest's vacation was not what he/she expected. We try to provide our guests with a unique, genuine and personal vacation centered around a western setting and family atmosphere. We take extreme pride in our facilities, programs, meals, personal service and staff but do not overstate what our vacations are. Our facilities are set in 100 year old cabins and lodges but they are always well taken care of, cleaned daily and renovated when appropriate. We feel our 60-75% returning guest percentage clearly is a tribute to the vacations we provide and our programs (riding program, children's programs, evening entertainment etc).

We do welcome guests to provide a personal and honest critique of their vacation experience at our ranch and home and TripAdvisor provides a great medium for these reviews.

The Fosha Family
Drowsy Water Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I'll admit that I was skeptical at first, but my husband really wanted a dude ranch vacation and the reviews were good, so I decided to be a good sport and give it a go. This was easily the most enjoyable, relaxing fun family vacation we have taken so far. The accommodations are not luxurious but comfortable and clean; the food is not gourmet but well prepared, hearty and plentiful; the staff is friendly, warm, and welcoming; and the schedule of activities and options is well balanced to make sure that everyone can ride as much or as little as they like, with plenty of other activities for non-riders. I rode a bit (not as much as my husband and 9 year old) but kept busy with hikes, yoga, a trip to the hot springs, and even quiet time to read a book. The kids are busy from breakfast to dinner and after a day or so you slip into the "it takes a village" mentality, knowing that they are safe and happy even when you are not watching them yourself. The Foshas and their staff work incredibly hard to make every stay memorable, but make it look effortless. But they key to our stay was the other guests there at the time. They say like attracts like, and clearly DWR attracts a lot of great people from all over the world. The grownups and kids all got along swimmingly, and we left with a huge on line shared photo album, plently of new facebook friends, and promises to meet up whenever we are in San Diego, Portland, London, Philadelphia, Germany, Washington DC, or Denver. We already signed up to go back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSLMJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Village, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We have been to the ranch 6 times over the past 8 years and the experience is always great. The family who own the ranch treat you like family. Every year we learn more about riding. It's great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We have been dude ranching since 1984 and have been to quite a few. There are many out there with lots of great people but I can tell you Drowsy Water has our heart. We've been to this ranch 6 times with and without kids. It's great either way.This family is hands on so they are very attentive to everyones needs.We've had many memeorable moments that will never be forgotten. It feels like home. If you want an all around good ranch experience go to Drowsy Water and let the Fosha's take care of you.
Temple, Texas

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My research and love of Colorado pointed me toward Drowsy Water Ranch. My 6 year old daughter who had not been a rider - became a confident and proficient one. The combination of the pristine, beautiful scenery and the professional, yet, personal managing of the ranch made for an unforgettable vacation - a vacation I plan on repeating next year.

Every ride, nighttime activity, meal, explanation was presented with enthusiasm. Every wrangler was patient, funny, well informed, and skilled. The staff - from housekeeping, to dining, to maintenance couldn't have been nicer.

Not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lp20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I went ,never having ridden a horse and was taught to ride and lope, climbing mountains and awesome views. Everyone was as nice and encouraging, helpful and friendly. the food was great also with their own cook - definitely gained weight! We met a variety of people from all over and made lasting friendships. They had activities every night, offered yoga and massages. Have a hot tub, pool, horseshoes and volleyball. But hardly enough time if you love riding the horses. There is much to do in the Granby area and you do not have to horse back ride. There are hiking trails, the Rocky Mountain State Park is close, people went zip lining and rafting.
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bakereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
13.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.0 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
20.9 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
14.3 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drowsy Water Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drowsy Water Ranch

Property: Drowsy Water Ranch
Address: County Road 219, PO Box 147, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our dude ranch is totally committed to bringing guests into the beautiful Colorado Mountains in a friendly, clean authentic western ranch environment for families, singles and couples. We take extreme pride in our programs and genuine hospitality!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drowsy Water Ranch Hotel Granby
Drowsy Water Hotel
Drowsy Water Resort All Inclusive
Drowsy Water Ranch Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing