We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice, clean, reasonably priced motel”
Review of Homestead Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homestead Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice, clean, reasonably priced motel”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My family and I stayed at the Homestead Motel during Spring break,20ll. There was a total of nine persons in my party. My husband and I,my son, his wife, their teenaged son, our daughter and her three children. Cheryl was very accommodating, and friendly. I only met Vince,didn't have much interaction with him, but upon meeting him, he, too was very welcoming. The motel was very clean, clean floors, clean bath, windows and mirrors were very clean. We occupied three units, my husband and I had the unit that had the kitchen. All of us ate two meals each day we were there,there was adequate space in the kitchen to cook. Cheryl insisted on bringing in extra supplies. My seven year old grandson lost his show while playing in a snowbank on the back of the motel, Cheryl cheerfully furnished a shovel to help locate and dig out the shoe. I am quite fussy about cleanliness, this place was clean. I would stay there again. A good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fernecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We were a party of 15, 6 of whom stayed at the Homestead for two nights with 3 dogs. There are very few pet friendly accommodations in Granby, and the Homestead was the only one we found. We did not have a good experience. The owner was very inquisitive about the types of dogs and who was staying in the rooms. When one of our party came to visit, owner Cheryl asked where she was staying. During our stay, the plumbing backed up. They were fairly quick to offer us another room, but we preferred to see if it could be fixed to save us a move. Fortunately, the problem did clear up and we stayed in the same rooms. However, Cheryl informed us at least 3 times that we would have to move while we were waiting for the outcome. We are used to train noises, but the tracks are right across the street from the motel and the noise was pretty loud. The other owner, Vince, was very friendly and patient and we enjoyed his hospitality. The rooms with kitchen have a large kitchen with full size stove and refrigerator. The other rooms have small refrigerators and microwaves. Our recommendation would be to not take dogs to Granby unless you can find another place to stay. And, if you value privacy, avoid the Homestead as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedishSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granby1157, Owner at Homestead Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Guests were caught sneaking extra people and pets into their room to avoid extra charge. When a party checks in, they are asked how many people will be joining them and also asked if they have pets with them. We try to accomodate all situations to the best of our ability, however, when a guest is disshonest durring check in, (State statute: "Defrauding an inkeeper,") we feel that it entitles us to further questioning of the number of guests. Also, usually a guest that is caught defrauding is asked to leave without refund. We did not exercise our right to do so in this instance. Thanks for looking. Vince and Cheryl Brenner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granby hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

On our last four days holiday in USA, we motored to The Homestead Motel in Granby, CO. We had stayed there 3-4 years ago. We were lucky as Cheryl and Vince had just the one room left, with a kitchenette too. Cheryl and Vince Brenner are a great couple who own and run their motel with great pride and work very hard indeed. The Motel rooms are reasonably priced being much cheaper than the ones at Great Lake Resort.

Cheryl was just making up the room with freshly laundered bedding including the pillows, so it all smelled lovely and fresh. Cheryl made sure that there was everything we needed and told us to ask her if we needed anything else. The room was a good size and was absolutely spotless, with the kitchenette being well equiped, accommodating a full size cooker, fridge/freezer table and chairs Shopping for food was no problem as there is a large supermarket (City Market) 3 miles away. Bathroom had a full size bath, shower and toilet and adequate towels. Plenty of room outside to park vehicles, boats etc,.

There is much wild life to be seen and photograph so do ask Cheryl and Vince as they will point you in the right direction especially to view the wild moose! Windy Gap lake nearby is very interesting too with elk, pelicans etc.

Granby has shops and restaurants as has Grand Lake Resort not too far away along with the Rocky Mountain National Park, which is a must of course. The Homestead Motel is only 2 hours away from Denver Airport with beautiful scenery on route.

Ask Cheryl about her great pedicures and massage. She is fully qualified in this and we sure felt good afterwards. We will, without a doubt, stay at The Homestead Motel when we next visit USA.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Granby is a small town located approximately 20 - 30 minutes from all other towns and the many outdoor activities in Grand County. We always stay at the Homestead Motel, knowing Cheryl and Vince Brenner will have a clean and comfortable room waiting for us when we arrive, a pleasant welcome and competitive prices. One and a half hours from Denver, Grand County is a year around outdoor play ground we have enjoyed for many years. Downhill skiiing at the Winter Park and Mary Jane resorts, in Winter Park, and at Sol Vista Ski Area in Granby, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, snowmobiling and ice fishing are a few activities we enjoy in the winter. In summer hiking, biking, fishing, boating and camping are all available throughout the county. We try to spend as much of our free time as possible in Grand County, and if we are not camping (summer only), we always stay at the Homestead Motel, and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1AL2JEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Great affordable spot, centrally located for easy access to the hot springs, ski resorts, rocky mountain national park that allows pets! Family feel to it, great kitchen area that we were able to do nice breakfast and dinners for a group of 4.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliBColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is a small motel on the western edge of Granby. The "Welcome to Granby" is just across the street as a matter of fact. It is an excellent alternative to the over priced motels in Grand Lake and Winter Park and much more friendly! The owners go out of their way to make you feel at right at home, even though we were traveling with our Golden Retiever. The welcome package in our room was a nice surprise , and very handy with snacks, granola, chocolates, toothpaste, asperin, allergy medicine and many other useful things you sometimes forget to bring with you. The room and bath was very clean and comfortable. Ours had a full kitchen with full size fridge, range, table with 4 chairs, microwave, toaster and coffee pot with dishes in the cupboard was ours to use. They have cable TV, free long distance, and access to internet if you need it. It is an older motel, so the carpet was a little worn, but you could stay here for many days and be very comfortable. It is close to restaurants, shopping, fishing and hiking. Would recommend this motel if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

This is a small motel on the edge of granby. Good access to hiking and fishing. River fishing close by and grand lake and granby lake up the road a few miles. This motel is a good alternative to the overpriced and overrated motels in winter park and grand lake. The owners go out of their way to make us feel comforable. Clean room and bath. Ours had a fridge, micro-wave and coffee. We were close to a cafe or two for breakfast. Good, comforable beds. Would recommend this motel to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank challenger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
1.5 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
13.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
8.0 mi away
The Canyon Motel
The Canyon Motel
#1 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Motel

Property: Homestead Motel
Address: 851 W Agate Ave, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Homestead Motel Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing