We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food, Friendly Service, Avoid Rush Hour though”
Review of Pearl Dragon

Pearl Dragon
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Excellent place for good Chinese food! On the outside, the place looks like nothing special, in fact, it looks closed. We decided to try it out, thanks to other YELP reviews. Our waitress even asked us where we'd heard about this place, so we told her, and she said I hope everything is great. She was fun, attentive, and gave great customer service. She was happy to explain the menu and any item we asked about. Truly enjoyed our meal! We tried the PINEAPPLE CHICKEN, and WOW, that was the freshest lightly fried chicken slices, in a light flavored pineapple sauce, with pineapple chunks. The Pot Stickers were the best we've ever had!! After going thru a few menus at the more pricey restaurants in this area, we chose this winner!! We were very impressed, and we will be back on our next visit to Granby/Grand Lake/Winter Park area.
Restaurant details
Description: Excellent place for good Chinese food! On the outside, the place looks like nothing special, in fact, it looks closed. We decided to try it out, thanks to other YELP reviews. Our waitress even asked us where we'd heard about this place, so we told her, and she said I hope everything is great. She was fun, attentive, and gave great customer service. She was happy to explain the menu and any item we asked about. Truly enjoyed our meal! We tried the PINEAPPLE CHICKEN, and WOW, that was the freshest lightly fried chicken slices, in a light flavored pineapple sauce, with pineapple chunks. The Pot Stickers were the best we've ever had!! After going thru a few menus at the more pricey restaurants in this area, we chose this winner!! We were very impressed, and we will be back on our next visit to Granby/Grand Lake/Winter Park area.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Friendly Service, Avoid Rush Hour though”
Reviewed 22 August 2013


We grabbed dinner here during an overnight stay in Granby.

My husband is trying to watch his waistline so we requested that they make a lower calorie version of General Tso's chicken (i.e. no batter). They were super nice and accommodated our request with delicious results! Also try their stir fried vegetables (we ordered stir-fried snow peas) - it will turn a veggie hater into a veggie lover.

We arrived around 5pm and had no problems with speed of service. We noticed that at 6pm (all of a sudden) it was PACKED (popular with the locals) ... so you might want to wait until after 7/7:30 when rush hour has presumably passed or eat a bit earlier at 5:30...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Drove past this restaurant for 9 years before trying - should have gone sooner.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We've owned a house in the area for almost 9 years and had never eaten at Pearl Dragon. After eating at virtually every other place in Granby (and Grand Lake for that matter), we finally decided to try it this summer as there are always cars out front and really, if it's still here after all these years, how bad can it be?

What a missed opportunity for 9 years. We have had some of the worst meals we've ever eaten in our lives in this area. (Columbine Cafe - now closed - and Pancho and Lefty's anyone?) But Pearl Dragon has come to be a favorite for our family. Why? Because in an area where service and food quality are not a guarantee on any given visit, Pearl Dragon is always the same. Great service, pretty good Chinese Food - it's American Chinese Food - very reasonable prices. And it's open close to year round, which is also a rarity. I understand why lots of establishments close for the off-season - it's just nice to know when we're coming through Granby from Denver and want to get something quick, we can always stop here to eat in or take out.

By the conversations I overhear with the owner and patrons picking up take out, this is something lots of residents (full time and part time) must already know.

I like the Wor Won Ton Soup, add extra shrimp and vegetables and it's a complete meal. The Shrimp Two Ways is also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigcitysmallfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I ordered the chicken lo mien; it was really delicious, the server was friendly and the food came out quickly! It is not a classy place, but for fast and good food, it is a comfortable place to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lou Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic everything!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 8:30 at night after an 18 hour drive... Exhausted! We came here and we're absolutely blown away. The staff is sooo friendly and accommodating. We ordered the salt and pepper calamariu. It was fantastic. We had twice cooked pork and couldn't believe the amount of flavors it packed. Every order is made fresh and it really shows! We also had the pineapple chicken... Delish!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pokavajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, TX
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, outstanding food”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had the Kung Pao Triple Delight, twice, because I just couldn't wait to go back.

Servers were fun and attentive, and the secong time around she remembered I didn't eat the bell peppers and offered a substitution of my choice. She even remembered the chopsticks.

The hot and sour soup was perfect, the egg roll (actually a meatless spring roll) was incredible and the triple delight was delightful. Tender, flavorful, lots of onions, very tasty shrimp (in an era of consistently tasteless restaurant shrimp). Fired rice was awesome and the portions were huge.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1twangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearl Dragon also viewed

 
Granby, Grand County
 

Been to Pearl Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing