We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town fun”
Review of Trail Riders Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trail Riders Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small town fun”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for a night on our first extended trip through the Colorado Rockies based on Trip Advisor reviews and were completely happy with the choice. My husband went out in the morning to take a photo of the classic neon sign which is eye-catching to say the least! You can see it on their website. The bed was comfortable and the whole property clean inside and out. The window fan helped bring in the cool night air and we could tell that it wasn't a location that requires a/c at all. The town and area were nice and laid back. We'd definitely recommend this little find.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salt_City_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
So glad you were happy staying with us at The Trail Riders. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others.
Since you are not to far away, we hope to see you again!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    62
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
79
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We picked this motel just from its appearance - newly painted, lots of hanging baskets, nice picket fence and nice motel sign. Inside we were not disappointed. The rooms were nice, if basic. It was a cold night when we there so we didn't feel the lack of a/c but it would be a point to consider at the height of summer. Plus point was a really nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
You've traveled a long way to stay at the Trail Riders Motel and we're glad you did!
Thank you for posting such a nice review. We love it when our customers are happy and share their thoughts with others.
The "Bed & Bagel" part of the motel will be a year old in December, but seems to have been a big hit.
Thank you again for choosing The Trail Riders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As others have said, this is an old-style motel that is clean and well maintained. It is a pleasant blast from the past if you remember the old motels. Staff was friendly and gave us a good recommendation for a good restaurant. Bed was comfortable. The water tasted bad, but this is probably just the way Granby city water is, and not the fault of the motel. The one complaint we had about the motel was that during warm weather the rooms are hot and have poor ventilation (windows in the front but none in the rear, so no air movement through the room), and there is no air conditioning. Room temperature was in the mid 80s, and room was stuffy, making sleep almost impossible. The small window fan was of little help, as we do not leave windows open at night when renting a ground floor room. I would strongly recommend the addition of A/C to the rooms of this motel. Even a small window unit would go a long way toward making the rooms more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you so much for chosing the Trail Riders Motel. It was nice of you to take the time to write a review.
I'm sorry you were not completely comfortable. Since we have such a short summer season we do not have air conditioning, but most of our guests are happy with the window fans. Granby, has about 28 frost free nights in a normal summer. This summer was really very hot and a little longer than usual.
Please come back again, maybe winter time would suit you better. We have great hot water heat, so it is very quiet and nice and warm!
Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

This is an old, but cute, clean, well maintained motel in the middle of Granby. Comfortable bed, friendly owners and patrons. I would stay here again.

I came here with my daughter and her fiance on a short tour of this part of Colorado over the Labor Day weekend. This a small, quiet, affordable motel with 12 units. It has small, but adequate, nice rooms of knotty pine equipped with refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was spotless. Flatscreen TV and a table make these rooms comfortable and usable. Internet is available and readily accessible. You can sit out on the little porch in front of your room and enjoy the vista to the west. They provide coffee and toast, bagels or pastry for breakfast, not gourmet, but appreciated and convenient.

The price was reasonable. They do not allow dogs.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MsAdventure58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Labor Day weekend is a great time of year to visit Granby! Cool nights, warm days. We are so glad the three of you enjoyed your stay. It's nice of you to take the time and share your experience at The Trail Riders. We hope to see you again if you are in the area. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Another cute, 50s-60s style place for those of us who value uniqueness over corporate sterility. This place has both neon and knotty pine. Billing itself as a "bed and bagel" it comes complete with bagels in the morning and cute little breakfast nooks in the rooms. They have Swedish tv! I kid you not. Didn't know there were Swedish cable channels. On the down side, no lotion or shampoo so you can't have everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCabDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
It's so nice when people appreciate the small mom and pop places. We want to thank you for staying with us at The Trail Riders. Please come see us again if you are ever in the area. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It was clean, well kept on the outside .I did have my own bedroom (snorer) which was great. TV in the main room was positioned opposite the bed on the side wall in the corner which made watching TV awkward. You had to lay at the foot of the bed at an angle. No AC ,it wasn't needed at night ,it was 37 the next morning, and quite brisk in the room that morning because the fan was still in the window and air came through. Breakfast was good ,several kinds of bagels, bananas, juice and coffee. Plates and trays to carry it back to your room and a table in the to eat on. That was nice. The room also had a desk for using your laptop. Walls were thin, and you could hear people talking but a small table fan masked the noise at night. Good location, within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Very good for an older motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We really enjoy hearing from our customers and want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you had a good stay. Please come see us again when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Motel chosen because of good reviews on Tripadvisor and at the end of a very long day of driving all we wanted was a comfortable bed. No complaints about the room at all and would stay here again. Breakfast was a bit sparse.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
So glad you had a comfortable stay after a long day of traveling. We try and make our guest happy while they are in town and offer only a very light breakfast. We advertise as "Bed & Bagel" so our guests don't think they will have a continental breakfast. Bagels, juice, sweet rolls, bananas, and coffee to get you down the road.
Again, thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again if you are in Granby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
0.7 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
62 reviews
12.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
515 reviews
13.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
8.7 mi away
The Canyon Motel
The Canyon Motel
#1 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
166 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ute Trail Motel
Ute Trail Motel
#2 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Riders Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Riders Motel

Property: Trail Riders Motel
Address: 215 E. Agate Ave., P.O. Box 1005, Granby, CO
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming motel located right in the heart of Grand County. Our classic knotty pine, non-smoking one and two-bedroom units accommodate 1-4 people. Every room has a 32" flat screen TV with cable, complimentary wireless internet service, refrigerator, microwave, dinette table, and daily room service. We are the only motel walking distance of several restaurants, two local parks, the new Granby library and the Amtrak station. Come see us at Trail Riders Motel. It's a great little place to get away! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trail Riders Hotel Granby
Trail Riders Motel Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing