We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute outside but pricey for what you get”
Review of Trail Riders Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trail Riders Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Everything the other reviewers have said is true: it's a quaint, cute place in a good location. Upon walking in, I thought a mistake had been made as I reserved 2 queens and only saw one. Then I saw the second room with queen bed in it! We also had a small table & chairs, microwave and refrigerator. Note: that second room did not have a TV which might be a problem for some families. The bathroom was clean but only had a shower which was VERY small, barely room to turn around and rinse your hair. Breakfast better than average for continental. My biggest complaint was the price: over $100 after tax. I suppose being outside RMNP they can command high prices, but if this motel was in a "regular" city, it would be WAY less.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bverbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you so much for all the nice things you said about us. We do try and provide all the necessary things to make your stay more comfortable. We really have tried to keep prices down but everything just keeps going up! Thanks again for your kind review. Please come see us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Granby is a great little western town halfway between the tourist bustle of winter park, and the great Rocky Mountain National Park. My pardner and I decided to take a break between those two stops and stay at TRM. Boy are we glad we did! Rooms were modest, but as others noted clean, and fresh smelling - no musty odors here. More importantly, the new cushion-top mattresses were quite comfortable. Breakfast was surprisingly good too! Advertised outside as a "Bed and Bagel" (!), breakfast in the shed consisted of good, strong coffee, and an assortment of pre-packaged buns, rolls, and pre-cut bagels. Better than your average bear, er, motel.

Two bonuses along the way: Sombrero Stables at YMCA of the Rockies, about 20 minutes south - a great day of horseback riding, and for dinner, Los Amigos - a family run Mexican Restaurant just a few 100 feet up the street (north) from TRM. I've eaten Mexican in The Mission district of San Francisco, Phoenix AZ, and NYC and I swear that the Chicken Mole Enchiladas and Carnitas plates were the best Mexican food I've ever eaten!

So saddle up, and get yourself to Trail Riders Motel - as a stay-at place for a destination in the Grand County area, or a great little road-stop along the way to the Rocky Mountains, and an unforgettable drive through the the park to Estes Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyDLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Howdy! Thank you so much for such a nice review! We really appreciate it!
Granby is a great location to go from. So many things to do and so close. It sounds as though the two of you had a great time. Please come back when you can stay a little longer. Again thank you so much for the nice things you said about The Trail Riders!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We got so very lucky booking TRM for last minute week, long jaunt to RMNP. Everything you could want in a home base. Cute 50's decor,great beds and hot power-showers.
We loved sitting on the porch evenings surrounded by a profusion of flower boxes and visiting with our wonderful hosts and strolling local residents. Loved it and will stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasBluebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Loved having you at The Trail Riders. It is so much fun when our guests have time to really explore the area. There is so much to do here! I'm sorry I didn't get to say good-bye, but please come back the next time you are in the area. Thank you so much for your great review we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Rooms are as promoted in pictures. A bit old fashioned but clean, beds are soft. Service is very nice and friendly. There are good restaurants around so you dont even need a car to get dinner. I think this is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drg313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We are glad you had a good stay at The Trail Riders. Thank you for taking the time as you travel to write such a good review. The Trail Riders is a bit old fashioned. It opened in 1951. We have tried to preserve the things we could, but have updated things such as plumbing and lighting. People appreciate stepping back in time, and we appreciate our guests! Please if ever in the area stop and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago as we were driving through on our way to Jackson Hole. We were lucky to get the last room for the night. The room was cozy and we were impress at how very clean it was! We enjoyed our stay and meeting the owners!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you so much for writing us such a nice review. We are glad you chose to stay at The Trail Riders, and hope if you are ever in the area you will come back and stay. Granby is a busy place in the summer so if you know you are coming, please call ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Trail Rider during a trip across Colorado in large part due to the excellent reviews here on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was simple but good. We chatted briefly with the owner and he was friendly and very helpful in recommending an excellent local place for dinner. We plan to stay with Trail Rider again when we're next in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

I'm so glad you weren't disappointed with The Trail Riders. I think it is so nice when people take the time and write a review for us. Thank you so much! The night time picture you posted was great! Please stop and see us again, only stay a little longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed the TRM quite a bit, and why not? We had a big, multi-room unit with plenty of outlets, kitchenette, wi-fi, and a comfortable bed. No, there's no air conditioning, but the night we were there it was plenty cool out and didn't matter. It's the kind of place where you can leave your door open and chit chat with the neighbors. If you're looking for modern, upscale, fancy or updated this isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for a comfortable stay with friendly service you found the right spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you so much for all your kind words. It is really nice of you to take the time to write us such a nice review. We stay in mom and pop places when we travel for all the same reasons you listed. It is nice to chat with the neighbors, park in front of your door, and leave it wide open if you want. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay so please come back if ever in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
2.3 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
12.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.7 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
515 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Eastin
Hotel Eastin
#1 of 3 in Kremmling
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Riders Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Riders Motel

Address: 215 E. Agate Ave, P.O. Box 1005, Granby, CO
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Price Range: £53 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming motel located right in the heart of Grand County. Our classic knotty pine, non-smoking one and two-bedroom units accommodate 1-4 people. Every room has a 32" flat screen TV with cable, complimentary wireless internet service, refrigerator, microwave, dinette table, and daily room service. We are the only motel walking distance of several restaurants, two local parks, the new Granby library and the Amtrak station. Come see us at Trail Riders Motel. It's a great little place to get away! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trail Riders Hotel Granby
Trail Riders Motel Colorado/Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing