We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trail Riders Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ute Trail Motel(Hot Sulphur Springs)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Canyon Motel(Hot Sulphur Springs)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
97
62
14
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
62
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsknotty pinecute placerooms are smallfree wificomfortable bedgreat place to stayhanging basketsowners are greatlocal adviceblast from the pastyou'll enjoynice breakfastrefrigerator and microwaveplenty of hot watergreat little placegrand lake
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a classic roadside motel,we are on a road trip and try to find Non- chain places to stay. Unfortunately so many are rundown and dirty. Not here , rooms are cute,clean and comfortable, staff friendly and nice little breakfast provided too. Would stay again if passing that way again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you so much! We have owned the Trail Riders for 21 years and work hard to keep it clean, comfortable, and simple! We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let others know what they have found. There is nothing better than word of mouth! Again thank you so much. Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a terrific motel.We had come up from Boulder through RMNP past Grand Lake to Granby and pulled in to the Trail Riders Motel where we had reservations.As soon as we saw Trail Riders we knew we were going to like it. It is exactly what a motel should be like. From the neon to the lay out, to the location, to the rooms, to the hostess Tracy! it was all what we had hoped for.The room we stayed in had two bedrooms, There was plenty of room and the rooms were immaculate. We loved the decor and the way the rooms were set up.It is within an easy walk to restaurants,shopping, a coffee shop etc.The atmosphere was genuinely friendly. Thank you Tracy! We will certainly be coming back again and telling our friends who pass through Granby to stay here :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you so much! We couldn't have asked for a better review! We really appreciate it when a guest takes time out and does this for us. I am so glad you had a good visit. You are right Tracy is very friendly and really tries hard to make our guests feel welcome. Pretty soon ( right around the corner) fall will be upon us. Please come back for the nicest time of year and see us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Needing to have a computer surgery done in Boulder, it was decided that it'd be a good idea to make the run over Trail Ridge Rd, through Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park, which was lovely, as always. But no ptarmigans this time.

I digress. My wife and I may not be your average travelers. Pretty much, our needs are.. a place to park the car, a place to sleep, a bathroom, AND WIFI!!! This place met all those needs. Maybe other places do offer wifi, but this is the only place we found, and it worked well.

It's a non-smoking establishment, which is great for most folks. We are smokers, and found the porch to be more than welcome to satisfy that vice. Come winter, maybe not so much, but we're used to it.

We were privileged to be witness to a spectacular lightning storm from said porch.. beware that. And when the power went out (in the whole town), the hostess kindly went from room to room offering candles to the guests.

Overall, a fine place to stay. Clean, comfortable, friendly. Smallish room, but fine. A tad pricier than we'd like, but the coffee and breakfast offerings made up for that. Watch out for the lightning... it can be closer than you think.

And if you see a ptarmigan in the park.. well, consider yourself lucky. We did not. Not this time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! The picture you posted was fantastic! That really was quite a show! You seem to have caught it at the perfect moment!
Sorry you didn't find the ptarmigan in the park, but you know they are there. I guess that will just give you an excuse to come back and see us again! We're glad you found our Bagel breakfast satisfactory. We try and give people enough to get them down the road with a little something before they have to stop for lunch. Please remember to stop and see us the next time you are in the town. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We felt lucky to have booked a room at this motel. It was clean, comfortable, and had a good location. We enjoyed the breakfast offered the next morning. We, also, enjoyed being in a location that offered us many more beautiful places nearby to see.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom room was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time out and do this for us. We are so happy you had a good stay. The Trail Riders is located in a great spot to do things. Fishing, hiking, boating, skiing, and just sitting on the porch enjoying the view. Again we would like to thank you and let you know we feel lucky to have you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have waited a few weeks to write this review because the people who run it are SO nice that I really don't want to say anything negative. However, I rely heavily on the Tripadvisor community to be honest so that I know what I am getting into when I book a property. This is one of those places that you really have to be ready for. It's like visiting your grandmother or great aunt's home. It's very cute and quaint - knotty pine paneling, original looking, 50's-era tile and sinks in the bathroom, etc. If you're into that sort of thing, by all means stay here. But if you're more used to a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express experience, this will be a big shock. We have two teenagers, and they thought it was kind of fun to stay here. Our "room" was actually two rooms - with one queen bed in each. The breakfast area is nice too - again, it's not a hot breakfast like chain motels, but there's a nice supply of muffins, bagels, bananas, coffee and juice. Bottom line: if you're looking for modern luxury, this is not it. If you want to go back in time for a night in a town that's a great gateway location to Rocky Mountain National Park, go for it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank travelm0m64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Owner at Trail Riders Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I think everything you said was right on! We are not a new modern motel and we really try and advertise it as not. It is a mom and pop place that we have owned for twenty one years and have made many people very happy here. It is quiet, clean, and the location is great for all the things to do in Grand county. We are glad you liked our hosts as our guests are very important to us. Our breakfast bar, or our Bed & Bagel as we advertise it, is just enough to get you down the road. I'm sorry you weren't completely satisfied, but if you are ever in the area please stop and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews