We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to rest your head”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of West Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Gate Inn
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good place to rest your head”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Was recommended to us by a waitress at Old Chicago Pizza (great place also). Hotel is right off Interstate 70 and US 6 just outside of Grand Junction. Has a spectacular view of Colorado National Monument. A short distance from the airport, scenic locations and restaurants. Check in/out is fast and accept late night check ins. We've stayed here twice now and will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
20
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Its awesome. You don't realize that the interstate is right next to you or the trains or the truck stop. We have stayed there many times. We have never had any bad encounters there. I would recommend this hotel for all travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 723babygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We needed a place to crash just for the night, from a long trip. The front desk help us out very quick, wasnt a very nice hotel, was cheap for the night,room was clean and big, just good enough for the money we pay!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPioP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. They have a bar which was a big plus! The maintenance guy was kind enough to help me with my bags. I didn't even have to ask! I would stay here again just because of the warm smiles and kind staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stamped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
334 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I’ve stayed here a couple of times before, it’s away from the other motels, is next door to the truckstop and has plenty of truck parking. Clerk was helpful on the price, my CDL price would be the best deal. Room was warm, yes! I turned the heat on, and then realized that in addition to the heater I could control there was also a baseboard heater. Room was clean, bed was good. Bathroom was clean, no sign of mold, plenty of thick towels. Didn’t notice the trucks from the truckstop or the highway. What else do I need?

(Due to a breakdown, I ended coming back for a second night)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

I arrived in the very early hours of Sunday morning. The lady behind the counter was very pleasant and helpful and gave me a discount because I had arrived so late.. I asked for a quiet room (not near the vending machines). She said that she had "truckers out the back and they started firing up their engines around 4am. Or trains in the front". I said I could handle the trains. I parked and went to my room. I was exhausted from an 800 mile drive and went straight to bed. I had only been in bed a short while, when my legs started itching. I turned on the bedside light and pulled back the covers, but couldn't see anything. Twice more that night I experienced the same itching sensation. Next morning, I checked the bed linen in the daylight, but couldn't see anything. I put the "itching" down to possibly heat rash from the long drive. I had a shower and felt refreshed. I went to the restaurant, had breakfast, wrote a couple of postcards and then resumed my journey.
Since then I haven't stopped scratching. My doctor wrote me a prescription for an ointment to eradicate body lice/scabies? It hasn't worked and I have another appointment to see him next week. I can only assume that the sheets hadn't been changed and were full of lice.
And no, I haven't contacted the hotel - what would be the point?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shopper332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Junction hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Stayed here one night during the annual Wine Fest. Not many rooms available in Grand Junction due to popularity of the Wine Fest. Took what we could get, which was this standard motel on the side of the interstate.
It does appear that a renovation was completed recently. Walls appeared to be freshly painted, but furniture and decor was still cheap and outdated.
The property borders two highways, but is surprisingly quiet. Based on a full parking lot, I assumed it was fully booked.
Didn't use any facilities, just used the West Gate for a place to sleep.
It's easy to find, but possibly too far west of town for anyone with a need to be in town. Easy and direct access to nearly everything with Intersate 70 and Highway 6 & 50 right outside your front door.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airplanegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#2 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW
Candlewood Suites Grand Junction...
#19 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Grand Junction
WoodSpring Suites Grand Junction
#20 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Inn

Property: West Gate Inn
Address: 2210 Highway 6 and 50, Grand Junction, CO 81505-9406
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Hotel Class:2 star — West Gate Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Gate Inn 100 room full service motel, combining comfort and value while providing friendly professional customer service. Free continental breakfast. Otto's Restaurant is open daily at 4:30pm serving dinner. Otto's Lounge has five big screens to catch all the games. Patio seating available. Conveniently located at Exit 26 off I-70 or just two miles west of Mesa Mall on Hwy 6 and 50. Easy access with large parking area in addition to beautiful views of the Colorado National Monument. Independent and locally owned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your West Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing