We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't allow service dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't allow service dog”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We made reservations to stay at this motel. But when we arrived we had a service dog they wouldn't accept. We had just recently received a service dog for our disabled son and didn't have all the papers but had his training vest. They were very nice but did not allow us to stay since we didn't have the certificate yet.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IWONAK, Owner at Grand Junction Palomino Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
It is our general policy to not accept any pets at our property. We do allow service dogs, however do require the appropriate paperwork proving this. Unfortunately, without the paperwork we were unable to accept your stay. When you made a reservation, only one hour earlier, you did not indicate you had a service pet with you. If you had, we would have let you know that we require the paperwork and this unfortunate situation would not have happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    156
    19
    8
    11
See reviews for
85
193
37
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great place. So family friendly and clean! Loved coming into the retro looking motel. Loved the hospitality and the clean rooms. What a great place for a great price. I would stay there again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. It is an older vintage hotel but is in wonderful condition and very well maintained. Clean comfortable rooms and a great price. Owners were very nice and the breakfast was good. Will certainly stay here again when we come through Grand Junction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

...quiet, clean, comfortable bed, fridge, coffee for the AM, friendly and helpful owners...This was a one-night stop on a long road trip, and it's great -- I'd come back again if I'm ever traveling in this area again. I camp a lot, so for me, it's about meeting basic needs -- I don't need frills; AND, it's difficult to find a place that can meet even just the basics while simultaneously being economical. Thank you, Palomino.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked this hotel by taking recommendations from the reviewers from TripAdvisor. Boy, I was not disappointed. When I arrived, the area around this hotel have become a little rundown. A strip mall across the street and other businesses surrounding it. I arrived and was a little worried about the look. It is older fashioned. But, when I went into the office I was pleasantly surprised on its nice look. The lady who runs the hotel was very nice and took care of me. When I got to the room, wow! It was very up-to-date(I have been in better looking outside hotels that don't have as modern of rooms as this place). I used the pool. Water was a little cool and the deck had been repainted orange. The next morning the provided breakfast was like any four star hotel(fruit, cereal, waffles, pastries, etc.). I was very impressed with this hotel.
The hotel was booked up when I stayed.
I would say the only thing that is holding this hotel from becoming four star complete is: 1) A replacement of the front sign. 2) Sanding down the swimming pool deck and refinishing it(not with orange paint.
Those two things I believe will come as I believe these owners care about there hotel.
I even believe as this hotel becomes more successful that the surrounding area will again succeed. The skies the limit.
That is why I am giving this 3 star hotel a 4 star. And if I am ever in the same area again I will stay at this hotel.
P.S.: The price is right, also.

Room Tip: Make sure you call ahead for reservations. This hotel books up quite quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieselkmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roguedharma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Palamino is indeed a hidden gem. Among the corporate hotels that seem to dot every exit of our highways, the Palamino serves its guests with equal, if not higher service--at a fraction of the cost. The Palamino harkens to the days where the actual owners of the establishment greeted you and truly cared about your stay.
I cannot more highly recommend the Palamino for a comfortable stay, at a fraction of the cost of the "big box" hotels. I'd we ever make it through Grand Junxtion again, we will definitely stay at the Palamino

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roguedharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was excellent. The Polish lady who owns and runs it was so very helpful. The only thing we were disappointed with was it was advertised as having a BBQ but when we got there it did not. However, we ate our evening meals (which we cooked in the microwave) sitting around the pool which was lovely. Tables and chairs were provided under a light. The breakfast was also excellent and the coffee was gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackems2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#2 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#13 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Junction Palomino Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Junction Palomino Inn

Property: Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Address: 2400 North Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501-6435
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Junction Palomino Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Junction Palomino Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing