We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Home Sweet Candlewood"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Loma, Colorado
2 reviews
“'Home Sweet Candlewood"”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Due to a house fire, we have had the opportunity to enjoy the hospitality of Candlewood Suites in Grand Junction. The staff at Candlewood have been supportive and offer a friendly smile each and every time we come through the doors. The hotel has been hospitable from our arrival, through the chaos of my daughter’s wedding and throughout and still as we enjoy our stay here. Our ultimate stay will total about 4 months and we can wholeheartedly applaud the staff, the accommodations, the location and the peace of our room It has been pleasant and I would highly recommend the property for long or short stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redd1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    26
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
31
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night in between visiting the Colorado National Monument which it overlooks and Telluride. The location was very convenient just off I-70 and you can see the mesas of the national park in the distance

The Good: The room was very well appointed with granite countertops and a full kitchen with hard wood floors. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was surprisingly quiet considering how many rednecks and dogs were staying here. They have three washing machines and four dryers which were free. Either bring your own liquid detergent or you can buy 3 packs for $4 at the little store inside the hotel

The Bad: No ice machines - seriously? The nice girl at the front desk told me to put down the bar on the ice machine in the refrigerator in my room. She did give me two small cups of ice for drinks while we were waiting for the ice maker to work. Toiletries consisted of two bars of soap and one bottle of Pantene conditioning shampoo. No pool either - in Grand Junction which was 98 degrees the day we were there. Wow, just wow!

The Ugly: Rednecks and transient types everywhere. One lady had been there for six weeks! One drunk redneck asked the front desk girl for barbecue tools so they must have a grill. Another redneck stopped my washing machine cycle after dropping the f bomb when he discovered his laundry had been removed from the washer when he didn't come back to retrieve it. Housekeeping is only once a week. Oh yeah, did I mention opening the door to do laundry at 10:00 at night only to be stared down by both large and small black dogs? Creepy! Some woman also started to bring her dog into the business center earlier in the evening. Honestly!

Bottom line is the hotel would be great without the patrons they seem to attract. Ice machines and pools are much needed though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deton, tx
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Good stay. Clean property, good bed. Good place for longer stays. My first stay at this chain, so I was a little suprised that housekeeping only comes once a week if I understand the signs in the room. Nice to have the full size refrigerator if you stay for an extended time. I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tcs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Grand Junction and visit Colorado wine country. Hotel has a nice location near a big movie theater and places to eat. No traffic around except for the other guests made it nice and having a big frig, microwave, and little stove was nice. Front desk was helpful and informed and smiled which is a small thing but important. If you're playing in a soccer or softball tournaments, this would be the perfect place to stay as the fields are very close.

Room Tip: Get a fourth floor room as no one will make noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coloradoaztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesGJ0, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you very much for your response. It is our goal to have a great hotel guests love and strive for that each and everyday. We hope we will have the privilege of you accommodations with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This Candlewood Suites is a clean, 97 room, modern four story elevator building in the middle of a wide open space but near Mesa Mall. The lobby is pleasant and open with a flat screen TV and multiple seating areas. Candlewood Cupboard is a small store that is open 24 hours a day and sells beverages, snacks, sundries, breakfast items, easy to prepare meals and laundry supplies that can be charged to your room. There is a gazebo grill available to guests. The business center features a three computers / printers and is accessible 24 hours a day as is the fitness center. There is a small library of DVDs available from the front desk. The staff is pleasant and helpful. There is an ash tray right outside the front door which encourages smoking at the front entrance. I often had to walk through a screen of smoke to go in and out of the hotel. The only bed size choices are two doubles or two queens - no kings.

There is a free guest laundry which includes three washers and four dryers; however, there was a long line of people waiting to use the machines. I did the laundry while my hubby took a nap – he was tired from driving. This put our dinner on hold for 90 minutes and therefore delayed our ability to “hit the hay” for the night.

The mostly carpeted room is approximately 400-450 square feet and includes

• card key for room access
• two double beds
• triple sheets
• night table is in between the beds with a reading lamp for each bed
• leather like recliner chair and reading lamp in the carpeted area of the room
• 32 inch flat screen TV and DVD / CD player on a unit that includes three draws
• typical lock radio (not one that allowed recharging iElectronics)
• six foot closet with iron / ironing board and wooden hangers in the kitchenette area
• the bathroom has tub / shower with a granite sink counter and wood base cabinet
• The floor is tiled and there is a fan vent. The bathroom is adequately sized for one person
• kitchenette which includes a

o full size refrigerator / freezer
o sink
o two burner electric range top
o microwave
o dishwasher
o granite counter top
o top & base cabinets
o dishes / pots
o island like table top with a rolling chair
o one kitchen type chair
o wood floor

• hair dyer
• iron / ironing board
• in room safe
• pet rooms
• smoke free rooms
• free parking (not at your door)
• free WiFi

This property does NOT have a

• restaurant within walking distance and those around it are the usual chains
• pool / hot tub
• ice machines or a
• free breakfast

We would have preferred a king bed option, outdoor hot tub, and additional laundry facilities. Lack of these amenities will probably keep us from staying at Candlewood Suites again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear peachessmith,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative that you have mentioned our friendly staff. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced because of the lack of amenities. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. The issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We only stopped for one night and found the hotel conveniently located, just off the interstate and with several local shops and eating places nearby. However we had a view of scrubland rather than other buildings and I did not notice road noise. Generally the place is clean and modern with limited overall facilities. The room was well kitted out with regard to kitchen facilities, comfy bed. But lack of attention to detail with regard to housekeeping was disappointing. Some areas of the bathroom had not been properly cleaned since the last occupant. If it had not been for this I would have scored it slightly higher. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy but comfortable. Includes full kitchen. Room is not serviced everyday if you stay multiple nights. Cleanliness was acceptable but not outstanding. Several small issues included a garbage can that was left full from previous visit and a long hair folded into a new towel. Overall an aceptable stay. Hotel was a great value though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmkrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#7 of 28 in Grand Junction
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 28 in Grand Junction
206 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Grand Junction
WoodSpring Suites Grand Junction
#21 of 28 in Grand Junction
83 reviews
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW

Property: Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW
Address: 654 Market St, Grand Junction, CO 81505-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Grand Junction specializes in the extended stay with all the amenities of home. All of our 97 suites are equipped with a fully stocked kitchen including pots, pans, dinner ware, and glasses. Each suite is also equipped with a dishwasher and laundry basket for easy transportation of cloths to our free laundry facility. Why leave the comforts of home when traveling, Candlewood Suites provides them all. Our 37" flat screen HD TV's are Apple ready. Simply plug your Apple device into the television using an HDMI cable. Use the free internet to stream movies, videos, and pictures from your Apple device to the television and watch in quality HD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Grand Junction NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing