We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new hotel, needs a bit of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Rooms were perfect; spacious and spotlessly clean with a separated lounge area. Mixed feelings about the doors to bathroom areas as I couldn't care less but my family felt as if they were on view. Not true in my opinion.

Pool was small and VERY cold but it was 95f outside so this was great and there is a hot tub as well.

It is all lovely and new but needs a little more character - this may come in time and it has to be said the whole town was very quiet during our stay.

Definitely would recommend though because as well as all the above it is in an ideal location for Main Street. Easy access to Colorado National Monument and key roads and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

Everything was great here. The hotel opened in June 2011. The staff and management were super. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

In this hotels defense, they had only been open a couple of weeks when we stayed there, but the staff needed more training before they were set free. The front desk guy was pretty clueless about customer service and didn't even know where the spare bedding was. After about 30 minutes, they got it all figured out. The rooms were ultra modern and very nice. Breakfast was disappointing with very few options compared to some Marriots we have stayed at. The location is nice if you want a downtown option, but it is off the highway quite a ways. If you like brand new hotels - this is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Really elegant and stylish hotel that is brand new. It seemed quiet and the bed was a little firmer than usual, which my spouse really liked. The room was large, as befits a suite. Everything was so new that it was also about as clean as you can get.

However, I probably wouldn't want to stay here again based on the weird bathrooms that other reviewers have already commented on. The frosted glass pocket doors leave you with virtually no visual or sound privacy. Sorry--I like my bathroom experience to be private!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights June 19 & 20...one week after their opening. Plenty of secure, free off street parking..especially for a city hotel.

First impression...it smelled brand spanking new, looked super clean, fresh, open and airy. Lobby is unique with glass, chrome and colorful graphic designs. High Style.

We never stayed in a property this new. The staff was still learning their new property. Ask them a question and they looked like deers in headlights..but they got the job done.

The design theme continued in the "suite" room. The room was okay for two of us...although appears designed for a single, well groomed business traveler. Nice sitting area with sofa bed. The desk area has plenty of outlets and great desk chair. Sliding window in room divider allowed me to look out the window from my laptop.

We had one very comfortable king sized bed and slept well. The window actually opened a little to let in the mountain air. The dresser/closet was dimly lit and awkward to use.

The separate shower room and vanity sink has a unique back lighted mirror that my wife liked. The separate toilet with small hand sink was nice but...the biggest problem...no hooks, no towel racks, no place to hang anything. In my opinion, functionality took a back seat to high style.

No problems. Everything worked. We would be happy to return here anytime. As a bonus...Grand Junction has a newly renovated downtown that is cool!

Room Tip: Views are nice all around.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadDogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here on our way to Denver from Las Vegas. After over 500 miles driving, we were ready to get some exercise and then relax. What a pleasant experience here. I'm sure some of the reason this is such a nice property is that it is brand new.

The decor is retro and nicely executed. It is very pretty and pleasant.

We stayed in a two queen suit with a small sitting room separated by a desk with a sliding frosted glass pass through to the beds. The couch was a fold out. The beds were fantastically comfortable with loads of pillows. You can see the TV from almost everywhere in the room. There are enough lighting fixtures to make it bright enough or dim enough for just about anyone. The beds each have reading lights attached to the headboards, sweet!

I love the walk in closet, the min-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, enough electric outlets (15amp), etc.

There are not enough towel racks. You'll be dropping your towels on the floor if you have a lot of people showering. To get to the thermostat, you need to get down on your knees and then lift the wooden window seat/rack (shoe rack? towel rack? Certainly not sturdy enough for an overly large person to sit on). The thermostat is under a little door on the window hvac system. Difficult to get to, maybe on purpose.

The pool is tiny but nice. It was easily overwhelmed by two young girls swimming in the evening. The hot tub was also crowded with four people. Needless to say, we waited until morning to swim. The pool appeared to be salt water. The spa was over cholorinated but that was necessary as it was also grungy. This hotel appears to service an very large number of families with small children. I suspect because you can easily fit 6 people in a room. We saw one group with 8 people staying in one room!

We used the work out room both evening and morning. Each cardio equipment has an iPod attachment and screen but the audio/TVs are not set up yet. There is one TV for the whole room that you can see from most of the equipment. There are free weights but nothing else. The room was small and hot, so we propped it open with a free weight.

Breakfast was satisfying. They had scrambled eggs, several nice cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, fruit.

The staff is efficient and pleasant. We didn't not need to test their problem solving capabilities.

My only concerns are that there are many cute and nice things in the rooms like the lamps and the odd rack/seat, that there may be large wear and tear issues in a few years, especially because these rooms are obviously set up for large groups of people and we've seen so many families with little children.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We traveled with our 3 kids, 17, 11 and 9 years old. We got a room with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. The beds were super comfortable and the bedding was good quality. The room was spacious and even had a walk-in closet. There was plenty of room for all of us to get ready for the wedding we were attending. The toilet and a sink was in one room and the shower and vanity were in another room which was very convenient. The only thing I would mention is that the doors to these rooms are frosted glass so you can hear people using the toilet. Not a big issue for family I guess but something you may want to know.

The front desk personnel were polite and friendly. The bar wasn't open due to the hotel not yet having received their liquor license but there were lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance so it wasn't an issue. The area around the hotel is lots of fun. Lots of shops and boutiques, restaurants, ice cream, etc. The historic district is in my opionion the nicest part of Grand Junction. The hotel pool is small but was fine for my little ones. My oldest thought the pool was too small and decided not to swim...it only goes to 5 feet. There was too much chlorine in the pool but I'm sure they'll get that worked out (we stayed just 4 days after they opened). The whirlpool was nice and regular sized. The hotel interior design reminds me of Europe...we really enjoyed it. We will definitely use this hotel any time we're in Grand Junction!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#4 of 28 in Grand Junction
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Grand Junction
Residence Inn Grand Junction
#9 of 28 in Grand Junction
243 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street

Address: 236 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501-7804
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range: £81 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, located in Historic Downtown Grand Junction, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. Located within walking distance to multiple locally owned restaurants, boutiques and salons. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing