We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not the best choice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK, but not the best choice for the price”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Let me start with the positive: the room was beautifully decorated, and the beds were comfortable. We had a room, however, that had a gap around the door to the hallway that let light and noise in all night. I kept thinking the door wasn't closed tightly, but it locked. Additional noise came from the lounge where a young man was performing for hours. I could clearly hear his performance even though I was on the third floor. Then, there was the $5 charge for parking which I found unusual since it wasn't in a parking garage or even removed from the hotel property. The worst thing was the breakfast. There were so many people in the very small breakfast area that many were taking breakfast back to their rooms or sitting in the lounge. The hotel uses glass dishes which means someone has to keep the tables cleaned off; the woman in charge of doing this seemed overwhelmed the day I was there. I moved dishes out of the way to find a place to sit. Food was not being replenished, and the offerings were very sparse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tornadolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha T, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our performance during your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. I wanted to follow up to your response about our breakfast. I sincerely apologize that we were understaffed that morning and the tables weren't bussed in order for you to have a seat. As we continue to grow it is with feedback from guests like yourself that help us realize the areas where we need to improve. We will definately follow up with the breakfast attendant and come up with a resolution. We hope that we are able to offer you a second chance in making your visit everything it should be.

Sincerely
Martha Thurston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    139
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
131
155
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The rooms were excellent, not like all the cookie-cutter rooms in hotels with similar ratings in the same price range. The rooms were larger, and the separate "commode" room with a second sink was much appreciated. The bed linens were better than average, and there were uncommon room conveniences such as the reading lamps over the bed.
The lobby and breakfast room were open and airy, and outdoor patio seating was available. The hot breakfast was also unusually good, with added selections such as sliced meat and cheese.
It's a great location, providing for an an easy walk to many restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaBravo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I asked for a late checkout and was told no. I asked if they would show consideration for even a loyal customer and the answer was still no because the following day was completely booked. I called Marriott to reserve another night at the hotel and was successful in getting another night booked...which means that they lied.

Beware!

Room Tip: Simply be aware that you get what you get and if you intend on changing while you are here, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScreamingAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel seems new, but our room was VERY smelly. As you will read, other guests have reported the same thing. As soon as we came into our room, we noticed the smell right away, and called down to the front desk to ask to switch ‎rooms. Their response was, "All of our rooms smell this way. Many other guests make the same complaint." Their only solution was to bring us a bottle of industrial lemon scent spray and let us spray it around the room to try and mask the bad smell. The women at the front desk said she thought the smell was either from the cleaning products used by the cleaning staff, or that "it could be mold" (yuck!). We arrived late at night, and our credit card had already been charged, otherwise we would have tried to find another hotel. We stayed in 11 hotels over a 2 week trip across the US, and this was by far the worst hotel experience of the trip. This hotel should be investigated by the local health board.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aqualoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha T, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve every guest's experience.

As you noted with the odd odors in the rooms, we are working with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to address these issues. I can assure you we deep clean our rooms monthly and do preventative maintenance on every room quarterly to ensure every room is at its best.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I would like to make this situation right with you, if you would contact me at your pleasure.

Sincerely,
Martha Thurston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this recently built (2011) hotel. Located on Grand Junction's Main Street every downtown bar and restaurant is a short walk away. Main Street is an attraction to itself and a credit to the city leaders. The front desk staff is friendly and willing to help. The lounge area features a bar and breakfast area with outdoor seating.

Rooms were very clean and quiet.

The interior design of the spacious rooms leans toward a modernist, European look which falls short on functionality. Separate shower and toilet rooms are a nice touch but the sliding doors, while elegant are tough and noisy to open because of their weight and don't offer the privacy a hinged door might. Facing these rooms toward the sleeping area in an otherwise spacious room compounds the "privacy problem."

The doors to these rooms are wood framed with frosted glass which looks great but the designers interrupt the sleek look by inserting between them a conventional metal door to the closet. With two plumbing stacks the whole arrangement was expensive to build and really doesn't come off as intended. The corner mounted sink in the toilet room was slanted enough to allow neither a glass or bar of soap a secure place to rest. I think the architect of this room needs to spend a night here with a friend or distant relative to experience the awkwardness of the whole bathroom arrangement.

The hotel charges a modest but irritating fee to park - which in my opinion there is no shortage of in G.J. This is on top of a paltry and worthwhile Downtown Development Fee.

Room design notwithstanding, this is an excellent place to stay. Walking distance to everything worth seeing in downtown Grand Junction, clean rooms, friendly staff make this a great value. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinedale, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Really comfortable, clean hotel! We stayed in a 2- queen suite, which was just fine for a night with our family of 4. Room is laid- out very thoughtfully. Beds super-comfortable. Excellent work-out room. I also liked the location- City Market with a Starbucks was a 90 second walk away. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

$155 for a room with lamps burned out, stained carpet and odd smells? I don't think so. Management needs to wake up and see to some maintenance.

I really like the hotel for room size, comfort and location, but the rooms are starting to need some attention NOW!

Cheue

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheue444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#4 of 28 in Grand Junction
621 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#13 of 28 in Grand Junction
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
3.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
592 reviews
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Grand Junction
Residence Inn Grand Junction
#9 of 28 in Grand Junction
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street

Property: SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Address: 236 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501-7804
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, located in Historic Downtown Grand Junction, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. Located within walking distance to multiple locally owned restaurants, boutiques and salons. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing