We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, CO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flawed Stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our stay did not start well when all entrances were locked when we tried to check-in at 4pm, and after circling the hotel once we called the front desk to ask to be let in. Our king suite room was OK on the surface, but the bed sheets were worn, mattress pad was lumpy, couple of bugs sharing the room with us, the bathroom fixtures were not really clean, and there was a gap at the bottom of the hall door so light/noise evident. Then there were the other noises in the room - nearby train at 10pm, late upstairs heavy-footed guests, noisy pipes behind bathroom mirror, and nearby work trucks at 4:30am. One bright spot was the breakfast and breakfast area - very good as always, but still had the cheap/flimsy plastic ware as noted in a previous review. All this for a $131 room rate, which is on the expensive side for a HI Express.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmptj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gjhiexpressmanager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for the review. You have listed some things that are concerning to me. Our linen and mattress pads are all brand new, so for you to comment on them being worn is something we are already looking into. I apologize for that.

In response to the breakfast utensils being flimsy, this was a manufactures defect and it has not only been taken care of but you might be happy to know that we have made the decision to upgrade all utensils. So quality will no longer be an issue.

I hope that we have the luxury to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    76
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
63
65
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We love Holiday Inn Express hotels. They always have a clean room, good breakfast, and most important, comfortable beds. The staffs are always efficient and courteous. Grand Junction is all of these as well. But, one flaw, the utensils at breakfast were so cheap and inferior that we could not cut a pancake with either the knife or the fork without it breaking or bending. I understand that they will try to save money wherever they can, but really!! We had a great experience there, and will still go to Holiday Inn Express in our travels, but what we REMEMBER about Grand Junction is the cheap utensils. Furthermore, Grand Junction was $30 more that any other Holiday Inn Express we stayed in on this trip. For $30, can't they give me a decent knife and fork!! Petty, I know, but even more petty on their part.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gjhiexpressmanager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I hope that you will be happy to know that our utensils have been upgraded. They have not been an issue in the past but when our guests find reason to tell me about a flaw, we will address it.

Our first shipment will be in very soon and from that moment forward, we will have a more sturdy utensil for all of our guests.

I appreciate your feedback, as it sometimes takes our guests input to help us deliver the absolute that we can for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We reserved, on-line, a King Suite, non-smoking. Upon arrival, we were given a choice of a Queen room, or an "accessible" King room. The room had recently had a smoker in it, as the foul odor was apparent immediately upon entry. No-go for that room! The front desk person told us that, although it's a "non-smoking" hotel, people routinely smoke in the rooms, and that they are charged $500.00 for their transgression. She said people rarely protest. It seems obvious to me that the hotel is not spending that largesse on sanitizing the extremely offensive rooms. Tried another, of the same type, and it was smoke-free. However, lest you seem inclined to stay here, the handicap rooms are totally inadequate for fully-abled persons. No shelves in bathroom for toiletry bags, etc. The ice machines are located ONLY on the 2nd and 3rd floors, and in VERY inconvenient locations. Additionally, the front desk person was not overly concerned about my expectations, despite my having driven 9 hours to get here, and being a long-time Platinum Priory Club member. Very, very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolverine87144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gjhiexpressmanager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
I am very sorry about your experience. While we cannot control what guests do in the rooms (smoke) we can only contain the room and do our best to get it back to normal. Sometimes people are not considerate of the policies we put in place, for that we do have a cleaning fee. While it is not the $500 that you mention, we do need to recoup the loss. When a guest room is smoked in, we have to shut it down for at least 24 hours and sanitize it the best that we can.

I hope that you are able to give us another chance. Your 5 star review you left us in April 2012 referred to us as your new favorite hotel. Stating:

"The location is superb, the front lobby is immaculate and stylish, and the staff is fantastic. The room was spacious and current and the bed and pillows made it a snap to drift off into a luxurious dream. You MUST give this hotel a try!"

I hope that your one bad experience does not hinder the 5 star experience you also experience.

While we never like to hear that a guest had a bad experience, we do always appreciate our guests opinions and experiences. It only helps us be better at what we do. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Checkin was fast, the room was spacious and clean. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were fine. Breakfast was very good. We stayed here for 2 nights and the second day the toilet didn't flush anymore. We reported this to the front desk when we went out for Dinner and the employee (Ben) said he'll take care of that. When we came back one hour later the problem was fixed, we were very happy with that quick service!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linny-NL-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gjhiexpressmanager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I am so happy to hear that our excellent team delivered the service you expected and deserve. Our team has always been able to be reliable and take care of our guests needs in a timely fashion.

Thank you for letting us know of your experience. I will personally let Ben know of your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A very nice place to stay the front desk staff were very helpful and always smiling even Tom the maintenance man was happy. Very clean decent breakfast. But the nicest surprise was the hot cookies I found after my swim. I would recommend this place any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeikoAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska City NE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel was reasonably priced, nice rooms and a decent breakfast. This was overshadowed by an incident involving the hot tub. The timer for the tub does not seem to work and it constantly runs. I normally look in a hot tub before I turn it on and enter it. I got in it after a long day in the car. After soaking and relaxing for several minutes I saw something float by which I cupped in my hand. It was immediately apparent that someone had previously defecated in the hot tub. The hotel staff was informed and maintenance did shut down access to the hot tub. Disgusting and I wish the hotel had at least offered to comp my room for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Greg K,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is unfortunate the incident in the hot tub prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We assure you this is an isolated incident and wish you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My seventy-nine year old mother and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Grand Junction, Colorado for the night of Friday, June 7th, 2013. When making our reservations online, we requested a room on the top floor, away from any noise, and that is what we were given. I was recognized as a Priority Club member, but not as a Platinum member, and received two free bottles of water, a small bag of yummy trail mix, and a brownie.

The medium-sized non-smoking room included two queen-sized beds, each with four pillows on them, a clock radio, a desk with an office chair, a comfy chair with ottoman, a large HD television with remote that had a decent channel selection, free Wi-Fi and wired connections, a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a coffeemaker.

The small bathroom included three sets of towels, a hairdryer, bottles of shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and hand lotion, as well as two bars of soap. The shower had a handle, but it was in a location that made it difficult for my mother (and myself) to use, as we like to have the handle on the side so we can steady ourselves.

The hotel has many amenities, including a heated indoor pool and a fitness center, as well as a free breakfast bar. There are many restaurants and shops nearby, including the Mesa Mall, which is the area's largest shopping center.

I cashed in my Priority Club Rewards points and received Room 424 for free. Overall, the room was extremely clean and very comfortable and we would definitely stay here again. When my mother and I go on holidays, we like to stay at hotels that make us feel like we are at home, and our room certainly did just that. A side note, I had thought I left one of my luggage bags at the Holiday Inn we stayed at the previous night. The lady at the front desk was willing to call that hotel to see if it was there, but then realized that someone had turned it in, as I must have accidentally left it in the parking lot. What a relief!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#4 of 28 in Grand Junction
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
4.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
592 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#13 of 28 in Grand Junction
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Address: 625 Rae Lynn, US Highway 6 & 50 & 24 Road, Grand Junction, CO 81505-1268
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Junction
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is Grand Junction's choice in hotels offering complimentary hot breakfast, free local phone calls, indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, and high-speed Internet access. We are minutes away from downtown Grand Junction as well as many area attractions including the Colorado National Monument, Dinosaur Journey Museum, Mesa Mall and various wineries. With a full remodel being done late 2011 and scheduled completion of Spring 2012, we are proud to announce that our great service will now be able to offer a new guest room for you to unwind in. Visit Grand Junction, CO and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Express Grand Junction
Grand Junction Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing