We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Flora Vista, NM
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

‘Tis the season and went up to Grand Junction for some holiday shopping mainly at Cabala’s. The property is nice and well maintained and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Despite earlier reviews the check in area was fairly easy to find and there is clearly marked Hampton Inn check in only parking spaces on Main Street directly in front of the building. The location is very convenient for shopping downtown and it is close to the mall area. Bedding was ok but the pillows were not all that great. The room was a little small for the price range but not bad. The one big downside in the room was that it did not have a refrigerator.

The breakfast was really pretty good and included the now ubiquitous make it yourself waffles, cereal and various breads, oatmeal, and fruit. There was also a rotating selection of eggs, meat, and starch that consisted of omelets, ham, and potatoes the first morning and scrambled eggs, sausage, and French toast sticks the second.

A few words on the location…This Hampton Inn is in a revitalization area which Grand Junction did a very nice job on. That said there is an interesting mix of mid-range hotels and nice restraints that are within a couple of blocks of areas that are still fairly economically depressed. Because of this there is sometimes a mix of very diverse people that are trying to occupy a similar space and are from radically different backgrounds. For good or for bad there is a Greyhound terminal and an Amtrak station within a couple blocks. While some previous reviewers seamed to have had negative experiences as a result of this I did not have any problems nor did I see or hear of anyone who did. Just remember that this may be an area that calls for a little better awareness of what is going on around you.

All in all I would probably stay at this location again in the future if the room rate was right but there are other properties in the Grand Junction area that I like a lot better.

Room Tip: All the east facing rooms on the northern quarter of the building all look directly at the side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfshowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    233
    88
    25
    13
See reviews for
162
217
33
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Staff was great and the downtown location convenient. However, the hallways are really narrow and the towels paper thin. Also very little soundproofing - could hear conversations of guests in the next room. Good basic hotel - clean but could use upgrading.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoChick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is located in downtown Grand Junction. Everything was clean great check in. I've stayed at quite a few HI and I liked the breakfast here best so far I liked the lady who kept the breakfast area tidy and the food prepared she is so nice. I felt like I was in her home kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homebody0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Good hotel on walkable Main Street. Comfortable accomodations, good continental breakfast. The only thing I didn't like was the tiny elevator and the small hallway leading to it.

This was a good location because you can walk to lots of shopping, restaurants and coffee places. It would be a good place to stay before catching a flight (it's not super close to the airport but GJ is tiny so still not a big deal).

Parking lot was kind of hard to find but that's a hassle for about 10 minutes and then you forget all about it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Finally found the Hampton Inn and drove around the parking lot, but OK, where's the lobby? Does this hotel have a front door?
Well, you have to drive back out onto Main Street, park about a block away, and walk to the unmarked poorly lit lobby entrance. Must have been designed by a city planner to enhance the street scape, but annoyingly inconvenient for the traveller. Hey, how about at least a sign that says "Lobby Entrance"
And after that, they were full! The desk person referred me to the Main Street Suites next door.

Room Tip: Arrive before dark, so you can find your way in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was a well taken care of establishment. I was there for 2 nights on a business trip and the beds were heavenly, all areas of the hotel were clean: my room, the breakfast section, and the front desk. The front desk staff running the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more helpful! The public computer didn't have the most current Word installed and I was having trouble viewing and printing my document, and they let me use the computer in the back office to take care of a last minute tweek I needed to make before my meeting. This happened twice, and both times,. they were so friendly and accommodating -- real life savers! The bathroom amenities were terrific and they even had body wash, which was a nice plus! Bathroom lighting was bright and fantastic, perfect for putting makeup on (which I always appreciate). The breakfast selection was large and they even have 'to go' goodies in a bag if you don't have time to sit and eat. All around a great choice, I hope business brings me back to Grand Junction because it's a terrific little town and I will definitely stay at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofoula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The hotel is at one end of Main St, next to the convention center and across the street from a grocery store. You must drop off luggage in 10 minute parking before you search for the elusive parking lot behind the building. It was great exploring the city on foot and enjoying lots of beer at Rockslide brewery without worrying about driving. It is a safe area and has been cleaned up and cutesified.
Now the hotel is aged, with average upkeep and the basic amenities required by Hilton. I was underwhelmed by my stay. It was reasonably clean but someone needs to work on the shower. A plastic stall with a broken shower head dribbled water then I used the provided threadbare towel to dry off.
In toto it was not worth the AARP $107/n charge and I would only rec to those attending a convention or have a much lower rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
592 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 28 in Grand Junction
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Junction

Property: Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Address: 205 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501-7803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Junction
#8 Family Hotel in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Junction 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Junction Hotel Grand Junction
Grand Junction Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing