We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James M. Robb - Colorado River State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Camping”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The park is clean, some shady spots. Plao ce needs a better place to swim. Close to I-70 and the traffic noise is very noticeable

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dotysburg100 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grand junction
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Colorado River Trail Audubon Section for a biking/walking immersion in nature”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I am serving up one of the best kept local secrets for the benefit of travelers to Grand Junction: the Colorado River Trail (“CRT”). It’s a segmented paved bike-walk trail that covers more or less the valley from Fruita to Palisade. At this time it is so unevenly segmented that I will address the most popular section which is “Audubon”, from Albertsons parking lot in the Redlands up to and along the Connected Lakes (former gravel pits).
The Colorado River runs along this section, the shoreline of which comes close in near the Connected Lakes state park toll booth. Connected Lakes is part of the James M. Robb Colorado River State Park system. The CRT-Audubon section is free to bike or hike but if you want to wander around the Connected Lakes preserve your vehicle needs a state parks permit on the windshield. Frankly, it’s not well patrolled so you are basically on the honor system.
What’s good about this trail?
It is wooded and non-urbanized, meaning peaceful. The Audubon section is lined with behemoth old cottonwoods, and directly parallels the Redlands Canal. There is a spiritual energy in the Audubon that rejuvenates your very soul. After a rain the smell of nature is intoxicating. In the 100 degree heat of summer one can smell tree bark. Dogs are allowed but only on leash. In the early spring a Great Northern mama owl nests in a huge cottonwood right along the trail, near the Pump Station. The mate sits on a branch across the Redlands Canal, well camouflaged, and when a predator comes near he is off his branch like an F16. Mama owl keeps her babies in the nest until they are big enough to crawl out on the cottonwood branches. This is when the whole bunch leaves, usually on Mother’s Day. It’s a popular draw for all ages. Pick up the trail at Albertsons or at the end of Dike Rd where the Connected Lakes toll booth is located. Dike Rd is newly resurfaced and has a magnificent view of the Colorado National Monument but the unkempt properties along it are ‘tobacco road’ milieu. Note: where free parking is available, namely the Albertsons parking lot, there is a gasoline station, plus foods, beverages, and bathrooms in Albertsons chain grocery, and a Mexican restaurant in this shopping center. The Connected Lakes state park section has an outdoor restroom.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank toHellUride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Campers!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This park has four parts . . . We visited three. Two sections we saw while biking along the river on a tandem. Interesting and Attractive. Lots of Birds, so many views of the CO River, and Clean Facilities. After a bike tour in Grand Junction, we tent camped in Fruita. The rangers were kind, helpful, efficient. The entire space is clean and well-cared for in all aspects. Two Thumbs Up!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank KayPeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A LUCKY FIND”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Returning from our first RV adventure in the Southwest, we stopped at the visitor center in Fruita and saw on their webcams that the mountain passes were snowpacked and icy. We decided to wait for the next day and sunnier weather to continue our eastbound journey. Fortunately, the Fruita section of this Colorado State Park was just off the exit. Because of the cold weather, we had no water hookup but we did have electric so were quite cosy. Clean, comfortable and convenient; we spent the afternoon taking the Rimrock Drive through the Colorado National Monument which was just down the road. By the way, you can ignore the height limit on the sign outside that park as we were able to go through the tunnels easily (The park website has better information.) For us, finding this park with quick access to the interstate, nearby restaurants, and a national park was a stroke of luck.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatMaine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Island Acres”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I always loved this place, it used to be called Island Acres. There used to be 2 buffalo there, but one killed the other and then died himself. Now it is a Colorado state park with more trees and very well laid out. One night I saw a large grey fox leap running through the west side of the park near the ponds. I have seen deer in this park at dawn. I have also seen beaver and raccoons at this state park. It has very nice facilities. It is a combination of wild nature and modern convenience camping or picknicking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James M. Robb - Colorado River State Park also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to James M. Robb - Colorado River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing