We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vineyard”

Whitewater Hill Vineyards
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please join us at our farm winery overlooking our vineyards and the Grand Valley of the Colorado River. We offer free wine tasting, gift and snack items and a picnic area. Our wines are Oaked and Unoaked Chardonnay, Merlot, Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Ethereal, Rosé, Riesling, Moscato, Gewurztraminer, Sweetheart Red, Zero Below Late Harvest Chardonnay, Icewine, and Ruby Classico Port. We look forward to meeting you soon!'Handgrown, handpicked, handcrafted'
Olathe, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great vineyard”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A large selection of wines. Nancy was very personable and we enjoyed visiting with her while we sampled the wines.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FancyNancyClewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best values in the area”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We visited a bunch of vineyards in the wine country here, and on the whole were impressed with the quality of the wines. However, I don't like to buy wine at vineyards that is not as good as the wine I can buy at the store for the same price. We did find a few vineyards in the area that had wines that we would buy, but most seemed a little pricy considering what you can find elsewhere. Whitewater Hill was an exception, because their wines were very well made, quite good, and priced in a range where they are a bargain compared to what you find on the shelf at your local wine shop. Add to this the fact that they are in a picturesque location and give a nice tasting, and this winery is a must-visit if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the wine”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I love wine and they have a good mix of wines. Take a tour of the facility and go do the wine tasting. It is awesome to support our local wineries

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrandiM273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We drove from Grand Junction toward Palisade and out to Whitewater Hill Vineyards. The tasting room was basic but large and did offer several nice tastings as well as wine accessories. There was a nice seating area outside. I would recommend giving this place a try. We noticed the farther away from I-70 the more wines the winery offers for tasting/person.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MG3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
323 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 714 helpful votes
“Pleasant tasting room and wines. Nice vineyard view. Tours only on Mondays.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Decided to get a glass of Whitewater Hill White Merlot while writing this review, so the writing process "tastes better" . . . :-)

We stopped by for an hour on a Saturday afternoon. Surprised to find no other visitors - but that only lasted for about 5-10 minutes (perfect, just enough time to get an individualized introduction, but afterward have a more social environment while we sampled several wines while others were also doing so).

This is a small tasting room facility, with a small bar where one stands while sampling the products of this winery. One may see what's available on their Website. There's an intro video with a virtual tour on Youtube, done by the local newspaper:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_NrqIDQUmk

The video notes that tours are available on Mondays. So we didn't get that opportunity.

Normally, I prefer relatively dry reds, roses and whites. But Rhine-level sweetness is also ok for me - and my wife prefers the latter. So, when we selected wines for a mixed case, we stayed slightly sweet on our selections.

BTW, there's no fee for the tasting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthlingOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitewater Hill Vineyards also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to Whitewater Hill Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing